Circuit & Chime

Best Smart Plugs for Home Assistant

Ranked on the two routes Home Assistant actually publishes into a plug — the Matter integration, which it classes as Local Push, and the TP-Link Smart Home integration, which it classes as Local Polling — and on which plugs are named on each supported-device list.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we test

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, storage and running cost. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We haven’t lab-tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forSubscriptionPrice
1
TP-Link Tapo P110M (4-pack)

TP-Link Tapo P110M (4-pack)

The plug that stops the ecosystem question mattering: it's Matter-certified, so it joins Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings without a brand bridge, and TP-Link publishes real-time and historical energy tracking on top. In a four-pack it's the quickest way to put a whole room's worth of appliances on a schedule.

Best overall: two local routes, plus energy meteringNo fee needed
$31.99 · View on Amazon

$35.9911% off

Price as of October 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Kasa Smart Plug Mini (EP25, 4-pack)

Kasa Smart Plug Mini (EP25, 4-pack)

The smart plug we'd hand a beginner: cheap in a four-pack, no hub needed, and — unusually at this price — it works with Apple Home as well as Alexa and Google.

Best cheap multipack, one route onlyNo fee needed
$41.99 · View on Amazon

$44.997% off

Price as of October 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Kasa Matter Smart Outdoor Plug (EP40M)

Kasa Matter Smart Outdoor Plug (EP40M)

The one plug here that can live outside: IP64-rated, rated by TP-Link from -4°F to 122°F, with two outlets you schedule independently — so the holiday lights and the porch lamp can run on different timers from the same box. Matter-certified, so it isn't locked to the Kasa app.

Best outdoor plug, and it lands as a power stripNo fee needed
$29.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall: two local routes, plus energy metering

TP-Link Tapo P110M (4-pack)

The plug that stops the ecosystem question mattering: it's Matter-certified, so it joins Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings without a brand bridge, and TP-Link publishes real-time and historical energy tracking on top. In a four-pack it's the quickest way to put a whole room's worth of appliances on a schedule.

Strengths

  • Matter-certified — one plug that works in all four major ecosystems
  • Real-time and historical energy tracking published per plug
  • 66 x 38 x 40mm body designed not to cover the second socket

Trade-offs

  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only — it won't join a 5GHz network
  • A Tapo account is needed for setup and for the energy history
  • 15A / 1800W per plug — check the rating of anything that heats or has a motor first
Key specMatter plug, energy monitoring, 4-pack
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz; Matter
PowerWall outlet
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home, SmartThings, Matter

Worth knowing. TP-Link publishes a 15A / 1800W resistive maximum (1/6 HP motor) and a flame-retardant UL94-V0 housing. The energy figures are presented in the Tapo app.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best cheap multipack, one route only

Kasa Smart Plug Mini (EP25, 4-pack)

The smart plug we'd hand a beginner: cheap in a four-pack, no hub needed, and — unusually at this price — it works with Apple Home as well as Alexa and Google.

Strengths

  • Works with Apple Home, Alexa and Google
  • No hub required
  • Cheap in multipacks

Trade-offs

  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only
  • Fills the whole outlet on some models
  • A Kasa app account is required
Key specWi-Fi smart plug, HomeKit, 4-pack
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz; HomeKit
PowerWall outlet
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home

Worth knowing. A four-pack of these is the single best first upgrade for making 'dumb' lamps and appliances smart.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best outdoor plug, and it lands as a power strip

Kasa Matter Smart Outdoor Plug (EP40M)

The one plug here that can live outside: IP64-rated, rated by TP-Link from -4°F to 122°F, with two outlets you schedule independently — so the holiday lights and the porch lamp can run on different timers from the same box. Matter-certified, so it isn't locked to the Kasa app.

Strengths

  • IP64 weather resistance, rated -4°F to 122°F by TP-Link
  • Two outlets with independent schedules from one plug
  • Matter-certified — joins Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings

Trade-offs

  • No energy monitoring in TP-Link's published specs
  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only, and it has to hold that signal outdoors
  • TP-Link says not to immerse it or aim water pressure at it — weather-resistant, not waterproof
Key specMatter outdoor plug, 2 independent outlets, IP64
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz; Matter
PowerOutdoor wall outlet
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home, SmartThings, Matter

Worth knowing. TP-Link publishes 15A / 1875W resistive (1/2 HP motor) and an operating range of -20°C to 50°C. Matter devices keep working on the local network if the internet drops.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best smart plug for Home Assistant?

The TP-Link Tapo P110M. It is the only plug in our registry with two documented routes into Home Assistant: it is Matter-certified, so it joins through the Matter integration, which Home Assistant classes as Local Push, and the model number P110M also appears on the supported-device list for the TP-Link Smart Home integration, which is Local Polling. It meters power in real time and historically, and those sensors can feed the Home Assistant energy dashboard.

Does Home Assistant control Kasa and Tapo plugs locally?

Yes. Home Assistant documents that its TP-Link Smart Home integration 'connects locally to the devices without going via the TP-Link cloud', and notes that this is different from the native Tapo and Kasa apps, which route through TP-Link's cloud when the device has internet access. The integration polls devices every five seconds, and a change you make from Home Assistant is reflected immediately rather than at the next poll.

Why do I need a TP-Link account if the connection is local?

Because TP-Link issues the credential from its cloud even though the traffic stays on your network. Home Assistant states that newer Kasa devices and all Tapo devices 'require your TP-Link cloud username and password to authenticate for local access'. Once it is running, nothing leaves the house — but you cannot get there without an account. If you want no account at all, the Matter route is the better one, though Home Assistant notes some vendors require an account to enable Matter too.

Is Matter better than the TP-Link integration for Home Assistant?

On paper, yes. Home Assistant classes Matter as Local Push, meaning devices report changes as they happen with no polling and, in the project's words, 'device control done without the need for any internet connection or cloud services'. The TP-Link integration is Local Polling on a five-second cycle. In daily use the difference is a few seconds of lag when someone presses the button on the plug itself. The real argument for Matter is redundancy: a plug with both routes has a fallback.

Does the Kasa EP25 work with Matter?

TP-Link claims no Matter certification for the EP25 anywhere on its product page, so we do not credit it with one. It is on Home Assistant's supported Kasa plug list, so the TP-Link integration reaches it, and TP-Link lists Siri, Alexa, Google Assistant and Samsung SmartThings for voice control — the Siri entry being Apple Home support. If you specifically want Matter from a Kasa-branded plug, the EP40M outdoor plug is the Matter-certified one in this group.

Can I use a smart plug outdoors with Home Assistant?

Yes, with the Kasa EP40M, which TP-Link rates IP64 and from -4 °F to 122 °F. Home Assistant lists it under Power Strips rather than Plugs because it has two independently controllable outlets, so you get two child switches to automate separately. TP-Link requires it to be plugged into a GFCI receptacle outdoors or in wet locations, says to keep it at least 8 inches off the ground, and publishes no energy monitoring for it.

Why isn't a Wyze plug on this list?

Because the Home Assistant project publishes no Wyze integration. We checked the integrations index on the date at the top of this page: there is no Wyze entry, and the expected integration URL returns a 404. Community add-ons for Wyze devices do exist, and we are not pretending otherwise — we just do not rank a product on an add-on neither the maker nor the platform has committed to supporting.

Do any of these plugs need a subscription?

No. All three work fully without a plan, including schedules, away mode, voice control and — on the two indoor plugs — energy history. Home Assistant itself has no required fee either; its optional cloud subscription buys easy remote access and voice, not device control. Our guide to whether smart locks require a subscription explains why switches and plugs are structurally different from cameras on this question.

My plug won't authenticate with Home Assistant. What's the usual cause?

Two documented ones. First, some firmware versions require Third-Party Compatibility to be switched on in the vendor app before they accept a connection — it is under Tapo Lab > Third-Party Compatibility in the Tapo app, or Settings > Third-Party Compatibility in the Kasa app. Second, your TP-Link username is a case-sensitive email address, and Home Assistant lists capitalization as a reported fix. If the plug sits on a different subnet, discovery will not find it at all and you need to add it by static IP.

Sources

  • TP-Link Smart Home integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant documents ONE integration covering both TP-Link brands — "your TP-Link Kasa Smart Home Devices and TP-Link Tapo Devices such as cameras, doorbells, chimes, lights, plugs, wall switches, robot vacuums, hubs, and hub-attached devices" — with an IoT class of Local Polling. It states that it "connects locally to the devices without going via the TP-Link cloud. This is different from the native Tapo and Kasa apps which will connect to the devices via the TP-Link cloud if the device has access to the internet", and that devices are polled every 5 seconds with Home Assistant-initiated changes reflected immediately. Supported Kasa plugs include EP10, EP25, HS100, HS103, HS105, HS110, KP100, KP105, KP115, KP125, KP125M and KP401; EP40 and EP40M are listed under Power Strips. Supported Tapo plugs are P100, P105, P110, P110M, P115, P125M, P135 and TP15. Newer Kasa and all Tapo devices "require your TP-Link cloud username and password to authenticate for local access". Energy-monitoring devices create sensors that can feed the Home Assistant energy dashboard; Kasa power-strip child plugs update their energy state only every 60 seconds. Some firmware requires Third-Party Compatibility to be switched on in the vendor app first, and devices on a different subnet to Home Assistant are not auto-discovered (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • Matter integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant documents the Matter integration's IoT class as Local Push and states that "Matter products run locally and always allow local control, with device control done without the need for any internet connection or cloud services", while noting that "some vendors may require you to set up an account before you can enable Matter support for some products". Home Assistant acts as a Matter controller and runs its own Matter Server app; Matter devices communicate over IPv6 on the existing LAN (Wi-Fi or Ethernet) or over Thread (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • Integrations index — Home Assistant — Checked on 2026-10-13 for a first-party Wyze integration: no Wyze entry appears on the integrations index, and https://www.home-assistant.io/integrations/wyze/ returns HTTP 404. This is evidence of absence from the project's own documentation, not a claim that no community add-on exists (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • Tapo P110M — Mini Smart Wi-Fi Plug, Energy Monitoring — TP-Link — TP-Link's US product page: Matter Certified, protocol IEEE 802.11b/g/n with Bluetooth for setup only, "2.4 GHz WiFi Only", 66 x 38 x 40 mm, UL94-V0 flame-retardant PC, rated 100-125V~ 50/60Hz with a maximum load of "15A, 1800W (General Use/Resistive Load), 1/6 HP Motor", third-party platforms listed as Matter-Certified, Apple Home, Alexa, Google Assistant and Samsung SmartThings, operating temperature 0-40 degrees C. The page documents real-time and historical energy statistics with bill estimation, a Smart Charge Guard that cuts power at a set low-power threshold, a Power Protection threshold cut-off, and Local Control: "Your connected devices in your local area network (LAN) remain accessible via the Tapo app, even when the household goes offline" (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Slim with Energy Monitoring (EP25) — TP-Link — TP-Link's US product page for the EP25, titled "Kasa Smart WiFi Plug Slim with Energy Monitoring | Homekit": voice control listed for "Siri, Alexa, Google Assistant, or Samsung SmartThings", real-time and historical energy monitoring in the Kasa Smart app, protocol IEEE 802.11b/g/n on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only, input 100-120 VAC 15 A with a maximum load of "15 A, 1.8 KW for 120 V, 1/6 HP Motor", 66.5 x 38 x 40 mm, UL94-V0 flame-retardant PC, RoHS/FCC/UL certified, operating temperature 0-40 degrees C, 2-year warranty. No Matter certification is claimed anywhere on the page (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug (EP40M) — TP-Link — TP-Link's US product page for the EP40M: Matter Certified ("Matter devices work with any certified platform such as Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home & SmartThings" and "Even without an internet connection, Matter devices seamlessly operate within your local network"), two individually schedulable outlets, IP64 weatherproof rating, operating temperature -4 to 122 degrees F (-20 to 50 degrees C), input 125V~ 60Hz 15A with 15A total and maximum power "1,875 W, 1/2 HP Motor", dual antennas quoted at up to 300 ft, 110 x 39 x 81 mm, RoHS/FCC/IC/ETL certified, 2-year warranty. Requirements listed include a 2.4 GHz-only 802.11b/g/n network, "The Free Kasa Smart App And Account", and "Must Plug Into GFCI Receptacles If Used Outdoor Or In Wet Locations". Footnote: "Avoid water streams. Do not fully immerge. Place at least 8 inches from the ground" (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • Matter — Connectivity Standards Alliance — Official CSA overview of the Matter smart-home interoperability standard (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • Home Assistant Green — Home Assistant (official) — Nabu Casa's product page: a published recommended MSRP sold through authorized distributors, with no promotion listed (accessed September 13, 2026)

Keep reading