Circuit & Chime

Tapo vs Reolink

Two brands that both let you keep your footage and skip the monthly plan. The difference is architecture: Tapo is the cheapest way to get a sharp camera onto a wall with power, Reolink is the one that will still be recording when nothing else in your house is.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we test

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, storage and running cost. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We haven’t lab-tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forSubscriptionPrice
1
Reolink Argus PT Ultra (4K, solar)

Reolink Argus PT Ultra (4K, solar)

A 4K pan-and-tilt camera that records to an SD card and can run on solar — a lot of hardware for the money, with no subscription anywhere in the plan.

Best overall: no outlet needed, footage you ownNo fee needed
$166.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
TP-Link Tapo C120 (2K+)

TP-Link Tapo C120 (2K+)

A sub-$40 indoor/outdoor camera with a sharp 2K+ sensor and free local storage — the value pick for anyone who just wants a good camera without a plan.

Best value, and the only one awake 24/7No fee needed
$39.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Tapo Video Doorbell D225 (2K+)

Tapo Video Doorbell D225 (2K+)

The cheapest doorbell here that gives you the whole no-fee package in writing: a 512GB card slot, 24/7 continuous recording when it is hardwired, and person, pet, vehicle and package detection that TP-Link lists as free rather than as a plan feature.

Best Tapo for the front doorNo fee needed
$99.99 · View on Amazon

$109.999% off

Price as of October 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Reolink Battery Video Doorbell (2nd Gen)

Reolink Battery Video Doorbell (2nd Gen)

The one doorbell here with somewhere to put the footage other than the doorbell: a card, a Reolink Home Hub, an NVR or your own FTP server, all of which Reolink states carry no monthly fee. It is also the only pick on dual-band Wi-Fi.

Best Reolink for the front doorNo fee needed
$134.99 · View on Amazon

$149.9910% off

Price as of October 14, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#2Best value, and the only one awake 24/7

TP-Link Tapo C120 (2K+)

A sub-$40 indoor/outdoor camera with a sharp 2K+ sensor and free local storage — the value pick for anyone who just wants a good camera without a plan.

Strengths

  • Very cheap for a 2K+ sensor
  • Free local microSD recording
  • IP66-rated, so the same camera works indoors or out

Trade-offs

  • Wired power
  • A TP-Link cloud account is needed for setup
  • No battery option
Key spec2K+ QHD, wired
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storagemicroSD up to 512GB
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz (TP-Link lists 802.11b/g/n only)
PowerWired
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. A strong first camera; add a microSD card and you'll never face a subscription prompt you have to act on.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best Tapo for the front door

Tapo Video Doorbell D225 (2K+)

The cheapest doorbell here that gives you the whole no-fee package in writing: a 512GB card slot, 24/7 continuous recording when it is hardwired, and person, pet, vehicle and package detection that TP-Link lists as free rather than as a plan feature.

Strengths

  • Free person, pet, vehicle and package detection — no plan
  • microSD up to 512GB, and 24/7 continuous recording when hardwired
  • 10000 mAh battery rated up to 8 months, or hardwire it

Trade-offs

  • Continuous recording needs the wired install; on battery it is event-only
  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only
  • No Apple Home
Key spec2K 4MP, 170.6° view, microSD to 512GB
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storagemicroSD up to 512GB (card sold separately)
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz (802.11b/g/n)
Power10000 mAh rechargeable battery (up to 8 months) or hardwired
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. The D225 is one of only three Tapo battery-capable models TP-Link lists as supporting RTSP/ONVIF, and only while continuously powered — which is what makes it the rare battery doorbell that can also feed a local recorder or Home Assistant. TP-Link also warns that cloud storage, card storage and ONVIF recording cannot all run at once.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 6, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

Is Tapo or Reolink better?

Reolink if the camera has to go where there is no outlet, or if you want the footage stored somewhere other than inside the camera — Reolink publishes microSD, Home Hub, NVR and FTP as storage paths with no monthly fee. Tapo if there is power at the spot: the C120 is a 2K+ camera with a 512GB card slot for well under forty dollars, and because it is wired it can record continuously, which no battery camera can.

Do Tapo and Reolink cameras need a subscription?

No, neither does. TP-Link describes Tapo Care cloud storage as optional and records to your own microSD card; Reolink states 'No Monthly Fees for Local Storage' and lists microSD, a Reolink Home Hub, an NVR and FTP as the storage paths. Both brands exist largely because the big names charge monthly for recording, which is covered in our no-subscription camera ranking.

Which has better Wi-Fi, Tapo or Reolink?

Reolink gives you the choice. It publishes dual-band Wi-Fi on the Argus PT Ultra and 2.4/5GHz dual-band on its Battery Video Doorbell. TP-Link publishes 2.4GHz only on both the C120 and the D225, listing IEEE 802.11b/g/n. That is not automatically worse — 2.4GHz travels further through walls — but in a dense apartment block where everyone is on 2.4GHz, the 5GHz option is worth having.

Can Tapo and Reolink cameras record 24/7?

Wired ones can. TP-Link states the capability for wired Tapo cameras and says plainly that its battery-powered models do not support continuous recording; on the D225 doorbell it specifies 24/7 continuous recording when hardwired and event-only on battery. The Reolink Argus PT Ultra is a battery camera, so it wakes on motion. If 'what happened at 3am' is the question you need answered, buy wired.

Which works better with Home Assistant, Tapo or Reolink?

Reolink, on the project's own documentation. Home Assistant publishes the Reolink integration as Local Push, with camera streams, motion and AI detection sensors, doorbell-press events, PTZ, siren and floodlight control and recorded playback — and states it works with the internet blocked. Tapo arrives through the generic ONVIF integration, also Local Push, which works well but needs the camera configured to output an H.264 stream because many default to H.265.

Does the Reolink doorbell work with Alexa?

Not today. Reolink lists Alexa support for the Battery Video Doorbell (2nd Gen) as 'Coming Soon', which is not the same as available, so do not buy it for Alexa. Our registry records Google Home as the ecosystem Reolink lists for that model. Reolink also publishes no included indoor chime for it, which is worth knowing before you order.

Are Tapo cameras good enough for outdoors?

The C120 is, on TP-Link's own specification: it publishes IP66 weather sealing, which is why the same unit is sold as an indoor/outdoor camera. The limitation is not weather but power — it is wired only, with no battery option, so the spot you choose has to have an outlet. Weather sealing is also about water rather than cold; where a maker does not publish an operating temperature we do not invent one.

Sources

  • Argus PT Ultra — Reolink — Reolink's published specs: 4K at 15fps, two 6500K spotlights to 33 ft plus two 850nm IR LEDs, 355° pan / 140° tilt, 110° diagonal view, PIR detection, microSD up to 512GB, dual-band Wi-Fi, IP65, solar panel (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Tapo C120 Indoor/Outdoor Wi-Fi Home Security Camera — Specifications — TP-Link — TP-Link's published specs: 2K QHD 4MP, starlight sensor with full-color night vision, 850nm and 940nm IR LEDs to 30 ft, 120° diagonal view, microSD up to 512GB, 2.4GHz Wi-Fi, 96dB siren, IP66 (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • View Continuous Recordings from Your Tapo Camera/Doorbell on the Tapo App — TP-Link Support — TP-Link's statements that continuous recording needs a microSD card or Tapo Hub, that battery-powered cameras and doorbells do not support it, and how Continuous Recording differs from Detection Recording (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Reolink Video Doorbell (2nd Gen) — Reolink — Reolink's published specs: 2048 x 2048 (4MP) at 15fps in a 1:1 head-to-toe view, 180° diagonal / 150° horizontal / 150° vertical field of view, infrared night vision, storage to microSD up to 512GB plus Reolink Home Hub, NVR and FTP with the explicit statement "No Monthly Fees for Local Storage", up to 300 days of battery life based on 5 minutes of recording per day, hardwiring at 8-24V AC / 24V DC in battery mode and 16-24V AC / 24V DC in wired mode, 2.4/5GHz dual-band Wi-Fi, IP65, person/vehicle/animal/package detection, and Alexa support listed as "Coming Soon" (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • Tapo D225 Video Doorbell — TP-Link — TP-Link's published specs for the D225: 2K 4MP QHD on a 1/2.7" progressive-scan CMOS, 170.6° horizontal and 140.1° vertical field of view, 850nm IR to 33ft plus full-color night vision from built-in spotlights, microSD up to 512GB (sold separately), 24/7 continuous recording when hardwired, a 10000 mAh built-in battery rated up to 8 months, 802.11b/g/n 2.4GHz only, IP66, an indoor chime in the box, and motion, person, pet, vehicle and package detection listed as free AI detection with Tapo Care cloud storage as the paid extra (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • How to view Tapo camera on PC/NAS/NVR via RTSP/ONVIF — TP-Link Support — TP-Link's own RTSP/ONVIF instructions: a separate camera account (6-32 characters) distinct from the Tapo login, the rtsp://username:password@IP/stream1 and /stream2 URL format on port 554, a list of supported models, the statement that RTSP streaming is generally NOT supported on battery- or solar-powered cameras except the hardwired D235, D225 and TD25 when continuously powered, and the warning that Tapo Care cloud storage, local card/hub storage and NAS/NVR/ONVIF recording cannot all be used simultaneously because of limited stream resources (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • Reolink integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant documents the Reolink integration's IoT class as Local Push, with camera streams at Fluent/Balanced/Clear, binary sensors for motion and AI person, vehicle and pet detection, doorbell-press sensors, PTZ buttons, siren, floodlight, battery and storage sensors and a media browser for recorded playback; it requires a camera user account with admin privileges and the HTTP/HTTPS port enabled, works with the internet blocked, and lists two-way audio/text-to-speech as not available and LTE-based Reolink models as incompatible (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • ONVIF integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant documents the ONVIF integration as Local Push for any ONVIF Profile S conformant device, requiring the ffmpeg integration, adding entities for compatible profiles whose video encoding is set to H.264, exposing motion/field/cell/human-shape, sound, tamper and image-quality events through ONVIF's pullpoint subscription API plus infrared-lamp, autofocus and wiper switches and a PTZ action, and warning that many newer cameras default to H.265 (HEVC) while the integration looks for H.264, so the camera must be configured to output at least one H.264 stream (accessed October 6, 2026)

Keep reading