Circuit & Chime

Best Video Doorbells for Home Assistant

Home Assistant publishes an IoT class for every integration it ships, and for doorbells that single line decides everything: whether the press reaches your server in real time, over your own network, with the internet unplugged.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we test

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, storage and running cost. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We haven’t lab-tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forSubscriptionPrice
1
Reolink Battery Video Doorbell (2nd Gen)

Reolink Battery Video Doorbell (2nd Gen)

The one doorbell here with somewhere to put the footage other than the doorbell: a card, a Reolink Home Hub, an NVR or your own FTP server, all of which Reolink states carry no monthly fee. It is also the only pick on dual-band Wi-Fi.

Best overall: the only Local Push doorbell hereNo fee needed
$134.99 · View on Amazon

$149.9910% off

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Aqara Doorbell Camera Hub G410

Aqara Doorbell Camera Hub G410

The only no-fee doorbell here that an Apple household can actually use, and the only one that doubles as a smart home hub — Aqara publishes a Matter controller, a Thread border router and a Zigbee hub inside the indoor chime, which is also where the memory card lives.

Best for Apple Home and Home Assistant togetherNo fee needed
$133.99 · View on Amazon

$144.998% off

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Tapo Video Doorbell D225 (2K+)

Tapo Video Doorbell D225 (2K+)

The cheapest doorbell here that gives you the whole no-fee package in writing: a 512GB card slot, 24/7 continuous recording when it is hardwired, and person, pet, vehicle and package detection that TP-Link lists as free rather than as a plan feature.

Cheapest route in, but only if you hardwire itNo fee needed
$99.99 · View on Amazon

$109.999% off

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#2Best for Apple Home and Home Assistant together

Aqara Doorbell Camera Hub G410

The only no-fee doorbell here that an Apple household can actually use, and the only one that doubles as a smart home hub — Aqara publishes a Matter controller, a Thread border router and a Zigbee hub inside the indoor chime, which is also where the memory card lives.

Strengths

  • Full HomeKit Secure Video support, plus Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings and Home Assistant
  • The microSD slot is in the indoor chime, not in the doorbell a thief can unscrew
  • Doubles as a Matter controller, Thread border router and Zigbee hub

Trade-offs

  • 24/7 continuous recording only in wired mode
  • Aqara publishes a 1200p maximum resolution when you record through HomeKit Secure Video, below the camera's own 2K
  • No IP rating published for this model
Key spec2K, 175° view, Matter/Thread/Zigbee hub in the chime
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storagemicroSD up to 512GB — slot is inside the indoor chime
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4/5GHz; Thread border router; Zigbee hub; Matter controller
PowerReplaceable batteries (up to 5 months) or wired 12-24V AC/DC
Works withApple Home, Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, Home Assistant

Worth knowing. Aqara publishes a built-in mmWave radar presence sensor alongside the 175° 4:3 lens, and a 95dB speaker in the chime-hub. Continuous recording needs the 12-24V wired supply; on the replaceable batteries it is event-based.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 6, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Cheapest route in, but only if you hardwire it

Tapo Video Doorbell D225 (2K+)

The cheapest doorbell here that gives you the whole no-fee package in writing: a 512GB card slot, 24/7 continuous recording when it is hardwired, and person, pet, vehicle and package detection that TP-Link lists as free rather than as a plan feature.

Strengths

  • Free person, pet, vehicle and package detection — no plan
  • microSD up to 512GB, and 24/7 continuous recording when hardwired
  • 10000 mAh battery rated up to 8 months, or hardwire it

Trade-offs

  • Continuous recording needs the wired install; on battery it is event-only
  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only
  • No Apple Home
Key spec2K 4MP, 170.6° view, microSD to 512GB
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storagemicroSD up to 512GB (card sold separately)
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz (802.11b/g/n)
Power10000 mAh rechargeable battery (up to 8 months) or hardwired
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. The D225 is one of only three Tapo battery-capable models TP-Link lists as supporting RTSP/ONVIF, and only while continuously powered — which is what makes it the rare battery doorbell that can also feed a local recorder or Home Assistant. TP-Link also warns that cloud storage, card storage and ONVIF recording cannot all run at once.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 6, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best video doorbell for Home Assistant?

The Reolink Battery Video Doorbell (2nd Gen). Home Assistant's own Reolink integration page lists its IoT class as Local Push and documents doorbell-press sensors, motion and AI person, vehicle and pet binary sensors, camera streams, battery and storage sensors and a media browser for playback — and states that it works with the internet blocked. It needs a camera user account with admin privileges and the HTTP/HTTPS port enabled. The one thing it will not do inside Home Assistant is two-way audio, which the integration lists as not available.

Does the Aqara G410 work with Home Assistant?

Aqara documents Home Assistant support for the G410 over RTSP and Matter bridging, and Home Assistant lists the Aqara brand with an IoT class of Local Push as a Works with Home Assistant partner for its Matter products. The caveat is that Home Assistant's certified device list for Aqara names hubs, locks, sensors, bulbs and switches — no Aqara camera or doorbell is on it. So the claim here comes from the maker rather than from a Home Assistant certification.

Can a Tapo doorbell stream to Home Assistant on battery?

No. TP-Link's own RTSP/ONVIF article states that RTSP streaming is generally not supported on battery- or solar-powered cameras, naming the hardwired D235, D225 and TD25 as exceptions only when they are continuously powered. The D225 can feed Home Assistant, but you have to wire it. TP-Link also warns that Tapo Care cloud storage, local card storage and ONVIF/NVR recording cannot all be used at the same time.

Does Home Assistant support eufy doorbells?

Not through any first-party integration we could find. Home Assistant's EufyHome integration has an IoT class of Local Polling and documents support for Light and Switch devices in the EufyHome product line only — no camera, doorbell or alarm entities. Community add-ons for eufy security hardware exist, but we do not rank products on add-ons. Buy a eufy doorbell for the eufy app and its on-device storage instead.

Why is Ring not a pick for Home Assistant?

Because of two lines on Home Assistant's own Ring integration page: the IoT class is Cloud Polling, and 'downloading and playing Ring video from the last_recording camera will require a Ring Protect plan'. The page also states that two-way audio in live view is not currently supported and that real-time events need outbound TCP port 5228. A doorbell that needs a subscription to replay footage inside your own server is not doing the job people run Home Assistant for.

Do I need Matter for a Home Assistant doorbell?

No, and today the best option on this page is not a Matter doorbell. Matter is attractive because Home Assistant classes it as Local Push and states that Matter products 'run locally and always allow local control, with device control done without the need for any internet connection or cloud services'. But the native Reolink integration already delivers local push with a richer entity list. Matter is the better bet for the next doorbell you buy, not a reason to skip this one.

What does Local Push mean for a doorbell?

It means the doorbell tells your Home Assistant server the moment something happens, over your own network, rather than waiting to be asked. For a doorbell that is the difference between an automation that fires as the visitor presses the button and one that fires on the next poll. Local Polling is still private and still local but timed; Cloud Polling routes the question through the manufacturer's servers, which is the worst of the three for an event you want instantly.

Will a Home Assistant doorbell work if my internet goes down?

On the Reolink, yes — Home Assistant states the integration works with the internet blocked, and the footage is going to a card, Home Hub, NVR or FTP target on your own network anyway. Matter devices are local by design per Home Assistant's Matter page. The Tapo is the exception worth knowing about: it is local, but Home Assistant documents that all Tapo devices require your TP-Link cloud username and password to authenticate for local access, so the first connection is not as cloud-free as the label suggests.

Sources

  • Reolink integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant documents the Reolink integration's IoT class as Local Push, with camera streams at Fluent/Balanced/Clear, binary sensors for motion and AI person, vehicle and pet detection, doorbell-press sensors, PTZ buttons, siren, floodlight, battery and storage sensors and a media browser for recorded playback; it requires a camera user account with admin privileges and the HTTP/HTTPS port enabled, works with the internet blocked, and lists two-way audio/text-to-speech as not available and LTE-based Reolink models as incompatible (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • Aqara — Home Assistant — Home Assistant lists Aqara with an IoT class of Local Push and states that "Aqara is a member of the Works with Home Assistant partner program for their Matter products", that "Aqara Matter devices work locally and integrate seamlessly with the Matter integration in Home Assistant" and that "as all connectivity is happening locally, status updates and controlling your devices happen instantly in Home Assistant". The brand was introduced in Home Assistant 2024.10 and the integration is community maintained, with categories listed as Lock, Sensor, Binary sensor and Light. The certified device list read on this date names the Aqara Hub M3, Valve Controller T1, LED Bulb T2, Smart Lock U200/U300/U400, Motion and Light Sensor P2, Door and Window Sensor P2, Presence Sensor FP1E, Climate Sensor, Light Switch H2 and Presence Sensor FP300 — no Aqara camera or doorbell appears on it (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • Matter integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant documents the Matter integration's IoT class as Local Push and states that "Matter products run locally and always allow local control, with device control done without the need for any internet connection or cloud services", while noting that "some vendors may require you to set up an account before you can enable Matter support for some products". Home Assistant acts as a Matter controller and runs its own Matter Server app; Matter devices communicate over IPv6 on the existing LAN (Wi-Fi or Ethernet) or over Thread (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • TP-Link Smart Home integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant documents ONE integration covering both TP-Link brands — "your TP-Link Kasa Smart Home Devices and TP-Link Tapo Devices such as cameras, doorbells, chimes, lights, plugs, wall switches, robot vacuums, hubs, and hub-attached devices" — with an IoT class of Local Polling. It states that it "connects locally to the devices without going via the TP-Link cloud. This is different from the native Tapo and Kasa apps which will connect to the devices via the TP-Link cloud if the device has access to the internet", and that devices are polled every 5 seconds with Home Assistant-initiated changes reflected immediately. Supported Kasa plugs include EP10, EP25, HS100, HS103, HS105, HS110, KP100, KP105, KP115, KP125, KP125M and KP401; EP40 and EP40M are listed under Power Strips. Supported Tapo plugs are P100, P105, P110, P110M, P115, P125M, P135 and TP15. Newer Kasa and all Tapo devices "require your TP-Link cloud username and password to authenticate for local access". Energy-monitoring devices create sensors that can feed the Home Assistant energy dashboard; Kasa power-strip child plugs update their energy state only every 60 seconds. Some firmware requires Third-Party Compatibility to be switched on in the vendor app first, and devices on a different subnet to Home Assistant are not auto-discovered (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • ONVIF integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant documents the ONVIF integration as Local Push for any ONVIF Profile S conformant device, requiring the ffmpeg integration, adding entities for compatible profiles whose video encoding is set to H.264, exposing motion/field/cell/human-shape, sound, tamper and image-quality events through ONVIF's pullpoint subscription API plus infrared-lamp, autofocus and wiper switches and a PTZ action, and warning that many newer cameras default to H.265 (HEVC) while the integration looks for H.264, so the camera must be configured to output at least one H.264 stream (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • Ring integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant documents the Ring integration's IoT class as Cloud Polling, with live_view and last_recording camera entities, event entities for doorbell rings, motion alerts and intercom unlocking, plus sirens, lights, switches and volume controls — and states that "Downloading and playing Ring video from the last_recording camera will require a Ring Protect plan", that two-way audio in live view is not currently supported, and that real-time events need outbound TCP access to port 5228 (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • Blink integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant documents the Blink integration's IoT class as Cloud Polling, providing an alarm control panel, a camera per device, temperature and Wi-Fi-strength sensors and motion/armed/battery binary sensors — and states plainly that "This integration does NOT allow for live viewing of your Blink camera within Home Assistant", that Blink Mini cameras support none of the sensors, and that relying on the sensors for timely, accurate data is not recommended because they are only polled when new images are requested (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • EufyHome integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant's only first-party eufy integration, with an IoT class of Local Polling. The page describes it as "the main integration to integrate eufy devices sold under the EufyHome product line" and names the supported device types as Light and Switch only — no camera, doorbell or alarm entity is documented. It is configured by hand in configuration.yaml with the EufyHome account username and password (or per-device IP, access token and model type), and the documented way to obtain a device access token is a curl call against eufy's own cloud API at home-api.eufylife.com. Checked on this date for camera support: none is documented on this page (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • Integrations index — Home Assistant — Checked on 2026-10-13 for a first-party Wyze integration: no Wyze entry appears on the integrations index, and https://www.home-assistant.io/integrations/wyze/ returns HTTP 404. This is evidence of absence from the project's own documentation, not a claim that no community add-on exists (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • Reolink Video Doorbell (2nd Gen) — Reolink — Reolink's published specs: 2048 x 2048 (4MP) at 15fps in a 1:1 head-to-toe view, 180° diagonal / 150° horizontal / 150° vertical field of view, infrared night vision, storage to microSD up to 512GB plus Reolink Home Hub, NVR and FTP with the explicit statement "No Monthly Fees for Local Storage", up to 300 days of battery life based on 5 minutes of recording per day, hardwiring at 8-24V AC / 24V DC in battery mode and 16-24V AC / 24V DC in wired mode, 2.4/5GHz dual-band Wi-Fi, IP65, person/vehicle/animal/package detection, and Alexa support listed as "Coming Soon" (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • Doorbell Camera Hub G410 — Aqara — Aqara's published specs: 2K on a 175° wide-angle 4:3 lens, infrared night vision, a built-in mmWave radar presence sensor, microSD up to 512GB bought separately with the slot in the indoor chime-hub, 24/7 continuous recording in wired mode only, full HomeKit Secure Video support with a stated 1200p maximum resolution over HSV, HomeGuardian cloud backup as a paid subscription, replaceable batteries rated up to 5 months or a 12-24V AC/DC supply for uninterrupted power, 2.4/5GHz dual-band Wi-Fi, a built-in Matter controller plus Aqara Zigbee hub and Thread border router, a 95dB chime speaker, and support for Apple Home, Google Home, Alexa, SmartThings and Home Assistant (RTSP and Matter bridging) (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • Tapo D225 Video Doorbell — TP-Link — TP-Link's published specs for the D225: 2K 4MP QHD on a 1/2.7" progressive-scan CMOS, 170.6° horizontal and 140.1° vertical field of view, 850nm IR to 33ft plus full-color night vision from built-in spotlights, microSD up to 512GB (sold separately), 24/7 continuous recording when hardwired, a 10000 mAh built-in battery rated up to 8 months, 802.11b/g/n 2.4GHz only, IP66, an indoor chime in the box, and motion, person, pet, vehicle and package detection listed as free AI detection with Tapo Care cloud storage as the paid extra (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • How to view Tapo camera on PC/NAS/NVR via RTSP/ONVIF — TP-Link Support — TP-Link's own RTSP/ONVIF instructions: a separate camera account (6-32 characters) distinct from the Tapo login, the rtsp://username:password@IP/stream1 and /stream2 URL format on port 554, a list of supported models, the statement that RTSP streaming is generally NOT supported on battery- or solar-powered cameras except the hardwired D235, D225 and TD25 when continuously powered, and the warning that Tapo Care cloud storage, local card/hub storage and NAS/NVR/ONVIF recording cannot all be used simultaneously because of limited stream resources (accessed October 6, 2026)

Keep reading