Circuit & Chime

eufy vs Arlo: Which Camera System Wins?

Both sell a base station. Only one of them lets that base station replace the subscription — Arlo says in its own documentation that local storage cannot be used on its own as a substitute for cloud recording. That sentence decides this comparison.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we test

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, storage and running cost. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We haven’t lab-tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forSubscriptionPrice
1
eufy eufyCam S330 (eufyCam 3) 4-Cam Kit

eufy eufyCam S330 (eufyCam 3) 4-Cam Kit

4K, solar-charged so you rarely touch it, and footage that lives on the HomeBase with no monthly fee — the clearest expression of the buy-once, pay-nothing approach. The kit isn't cheap up front, but over five years it's the one that never sends you a bill.

Best no-fee system, and the overall pickNo fee needed
$499.99 · View on Amazon

$699.9929% off

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Arlo Pro Security Camera 2K (6th Gen)

Arlo Pro Security Camera 2K (6th Gen)

The most complete wire-free camera spec sheet at this price — 2K HDR, a 160-degree view, spotlight, siren, dual-band Wi-Fi and every major ecosystem including Apple Home. The catch is the one this site exists to flag: without an Arlo Secure plan it is a live-view camera, and Arlo's own documentation says local storage on a SmartHub is a backup to the cloud, not a substitute for it.

Best specs if you accept the planPlan for full features
$94.99 · View on Amazon

$124.9924% off

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Arlo Pro SmartHub (VMB4540)

Arlo Pro SmartHub (VMB4540)

The box that gives an Arlo camera somewhere local to save motion clips: a USB drive up to 2TB, recording that continues if the internet drops, and a private link to the cameras that Arlo says may improve battery life. Arlo is explicit that it is a second copy alongside the cloud rather than a replacement for a plan, so buy it for resilience, not to escape the subscription.

Only if you are buying into ArloNot published
$99.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best no-fee system, and the overall pick

eufy eufyCam S330 (eufyCam 3) 4-Cam Kit

4K, solar-charged so you rarely touch it, and footage that lives on the HomeBase with no monthly fee — the clearest expression of the buy-once, pay-nothing approach. The kit isn't cheap up front, but over five years it's the one that never sends you a bill.

Strengths

  • 4K plus integrated solar means effectively set-and-forget power
  • Records to the HomeBase, expandable local storage, no cloud fee
  • Face-recognition AI runs on the HomeBase, not behind a paywall

Trade-offs

  • High upfront price for the four-camera kit
  • Needs the HomeBase plugged into your router — not standalone cameras
  • Apple Home support is limited next to Alexa and Google
Key spec4K, solar, HomeBase local storage
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageHomeBase 3, expandable local storage
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz (via HomeBase)
PowerRechargeable battery + integrated solar
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. eufy had a 2022 disclosure about cloud thumbnail handling; the local-storage design is part of why we still rate the no-fee approach, but read our eufyCam review for the full history.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best specs if you accept the plan

Arlo Pro Security Camera 2K (6th Gen)

The most complete wire-free camera spec sheet at this price — 2K HDR, a 160-degree view, spotlight, siren, dual-band Wi-Fi and every major ecosystem including Apple Home. The catch is the one this site exists to flag: without an Arlo Secure plan it is a live-view camera, and Arlo's own documentation says local storage on a SmartHub is a backup to the cloud, not a substitute for it.

Strengths

  • 2K HDR with a 160-degree diagonal field of view and 12x digital zoom
  • Integrated spotlight, siren, color night vision and two-way audio
  • Works with Apple Home as well as Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings

Trade-offs

  • Without an Arlo Secure plan you get live streaming and two-way audio — recorded history needs the subscription
  • Local storage requires a separate SmartHub and Arlo says it cannot replace cloud recording
  • Person, vehicle, animal and package detection are plan features, not camera features
Key spec2K HDR, 160° view, spotlight
SubscriptionYes — plan required for core features
Local storageBackup only, via a separate SmartHub (USB or microSD)
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz and 5GHz, or via an optional Arlo SmartHub
PowerRemovable rechargeable battery (USB-C); solar panel sold separately
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home, SmartThings, IFTTT

Worth knowing. Arlo's spec sheet (VMC4070) lists up to 2K (2560 x 1440) with HDR, 160° diagonal FOV, night vision to 25 ft with dual 850nm IR LEDs plus color night vision, -4°F to 113°F operating range, 300 ft line-of-sight Wi-Fi range and 2 Mbps upload per camera. Battery life is stated only as up to 15% longer than the previous generation.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Only if you are buying into Arlo

Arlo Pro SmartHub (VMB4540)

The box that gives an Arlo camera somewhere local to save motion clips: a USB drive up to 2TB, recording that continues if the internet drops, and a private link to the cameras that Arlo says may improve battery life. Arlo is explicit that it is a second copy alongside the cloud rather than a replacement for a plan, so buy it for resilience, not to escape the subscription.

Strengths

  • Saves automatically triggered recordings to a USB drive (up to 2TB)
  • Keeps recording locally if your internet connection goes down
  • Arlo lists the Pro 6th Gen, Essential 3rd Gen and Ultra lines as compatible

Trade-offs

  • Arlo states local storage cannot be used on its own as a substitute for cloud recording
  • Needs a spare Ethernet port on your router and a USB drive you supply
  • Manual recordings save only to the cloud, not to the drive
Key specUSB local storage, up to 2TB
SubscriptionNot published
Local storageUSB Type-A 2.0, flash drive or hard drive up to 2TB (16GB free minimum)
ConnectivityEthernet to your router; wireless to Arlo cameras
PowerWired (plug-in)
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home, SmartThings

Worth knowing. Arlo's VMB4540 spec sheet lists it as a current, actively supported product with a compatibility list of 27 cameras and doorbells including the Pro Security Camera 2K (6th Gen) and Pro XL (6th Gen). Only automatically triggered recordings are saved locally.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

Is eufy or Arlo better?

eufy, for most buyers. The eufyCam S330 records 4K to a HomeBase you own with no monthly fee, publishes radar plus PIR detection and builds the solar panel in. Arlo's Pro 2K (6th Gen) has a wider 160-degree lens and the most complete published night-vision specification of any camera we cover, but Arlo records nothing without an Arlo Secure plan — its own documentation says local storage cannot be used on its own as a substitute for cloud recording.

Can you use Arlo without a subscription?

Only as a live-view camera. Arlo's plan page states that without a service plan you keep live streaming and two-way audio. Recorded clips are a plan feature, and adding a SmartHub with a USB drive does not change that: Arlo's support article says local storage is a second location for recordings and cannot be used on its own as a substitute for cloud recording, and that only automatically triggered recordings save locally.

Does eufy require a subscription?

No. eufy publishes 16GB of storage built into the HomeBase, expandable to 16TB, with the face-recognition AI running on the base rather than behind a paywall. There is an optional eufy cloud plan, but nothing the system does stops working without it — which is the reason it ranks first here.

What is the difference between a eufy HomeBase and an Arlo SmartHub?

What they are for. The HomeBase is where eufy footage lives: cameras record to it and you own the storage. The Arlo SmartHub adds a second copy of recordings on a USB drive up to 2TB and an Ethernet link to your router, but Arlo documents that it is a second location rather than a replacement for cloud recording. Same shape of product, entirely different deal.

Which has better night vision, eufy or Arlo?

Arlo publishes more. Arlo lists two 850nm infrared LEDs rated to 25 feet, color night vision and an integrated spotlight on the Pro 2K (6th Gen). eufy states infrared and color night vision with a motion-activated spotlight on the S330 but does not publish an infrared range, so we cannot rank them on it. We have not tested either camera after dark and do not claim to.

Do eufy or Arlo cameras record 24/7?

Neither, because both are battery cameras. eufy says so about its own hardware: a battery-operated camera will not record continuously even when connected to HomeBase. Arlo's cameras work the same way, waking on a motion sensor to save power. If you need continuous footage, you need a wired camera with a memory card — the Wyze Cam v4 and Tapo C120 both publish that capability.

Is eufy cheaper than Arlo in the long run?

Yes, in the way that matters: a eufy kit is a larger single purchase and then nothing, where Arlo is a smaller purchase and then a recurring plan for as long as you want recordings. The crossover point depends on the plan tier you would pick, so the honest advice is to price the plan you would actually buy over five years before deciding the cheaper camera is cheaper.

Sources

Keep reading