Circuit & Chime

Best Home Security Systems for Seniors

For an older household the questions change: can it be armed without a phone, does help arrive if nobody calls, what happens in a power cut, and is there a contract to get trapped in. The DIY systems ranked on exactly those.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we test

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, storage and running cost. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We haven’t lab-tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forSubscriptionPrice
1
SimpliSafe 8-Piece Wireless System

SimpliSafe 8-Piece Wireless System

The system that made DIY security mainstream: peel-and-stick sensors, no contract, and genuinely useful free self-monitoring. Add professional monitoring only if you want a dispatch service.

Best for seniors overallNo fee needed
$209.00 · View on Amazon

$239.9913% off

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Ring Alarm 8-Piece Kit

Ring Alarm 8-Piece Kit

Cheap, reliable alarm hardware that self-monitors for free and slots into the wider Ring and Alexa camera ecosystem — as long as you're comfortable living in Amazon's world.

Best with Alexa voice armingNo fee needed
$249.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Abode Smart Security Kit (4-piece)

Abode Smart Security Kit (4-piece)

The enthusiast's DIY system: the Smart Security Hub speaks Z-Wave, Zigbee and HomeKit, so the same box that arms the house doubles as a smart-home hub. Flexible, if a little more involved to set up.

Best with a key fob and on-demand monitoringNo fee needed
$219.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
eufy 5-Piece Home Alarm Kit

eufy 5-Piece Home Alarm Kit

The purest no-fee alarm here: it links to the eufy HomeBase and cameras, runs entirely self-monitored, and never asks for a subscription. The trade-off is there's no professional dispatch option at all.

Cheapest, if family is watchingNo fee needed
$159.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best for seniors overall

SimpliSafe 8-Piece Wireless System

The system that made DIY security mainstream: peel-and-stick sensors, no contract, and genuinely useful free self-monitoring. Add professional monitoring only if you want a dispatch service.

Strengths

  • No contract, month-to-month monitoring
  • Free self-monitoring from the app
  • Easy DIY install, expandable à la carte

Trade-offs

  • Camera recording needs a paid plan
  • Older generations weren't end-to-end encrypted (newer gen improved this)
  • Proprietary sensors — no Z-Wave or Zigbee
Key spec8-piece DIY alarm, no contract
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable (alarm sensors)
ConnectivityCellular + Wi-Fi (base station)
PowerBase plug-in with battery backup; wireless sensors
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. The 8-piece kit suits an apartment or small home; larger homes add sensors individually.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best with Alexa voice arming

Ring Alarm 8-Piece Kit

Cheap, reliable alarm hardware that self-monitors for free and slots into the wider Ring and Alexa camera ecosystem — as long as you're comfortable living in Amazon's world.

Strengths

  • Inexpensive hardware with free self-monitoring
  • Z-Wave sensor support for expansion
  • Ties into Ring cameras and Alexa

Trade-offs

  • Best features assume you buy Ring cameras (and their subscriptions)
  • Alexa-centric ecosystem
  • Cellular backup is gated behind Ring Protect Pro
Key spec8-piece DIY alarm, Z-Wave sensors
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable (alarm sensors)
ConnectivityWi-Fi + Z-Wave sensors; cellular backup with plan
PowerBase plug-in with battery backup; wireless sensors
Works withAlexa

Worth knowing. Amazon-owned; if you already run Alexa and Ring cameras, this is the path of least resistance.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best with a key fob and on-demand monitoring

Abode Smart Security Kit (4-piece)

The enthusiast's DIY system: the Smart Security Hub speaks Z-Wave, Zigbee and HomeKit, so the same box that arms the house doubles as a smart-home hub. Flexible, if a little more involved to set up.

Strengths

  • Works with HomeKit, plus Z-Wave and Zigbee
  • Optional monitoring, including short-term on-demand plans
  • Doubles as a smart-home hub

Trade-offs

  • Some automations want a paid plan
  • Smaller support community than Ring or SimpliSafe
  • No camera in the kit — that's a separate purchase
Key spec4-piece kit, hub with Z-Wave + Zigbee + HomeKit
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable (alarm system)
ConnectivityEthernet or Wi-Fi + Z-Wave + Zigbee; cellular backup with plan
PowerHub plug-in with battery backup; wireless sensors
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home

Worth knowing. One of the few DIY systems with genuine Apple Home support — see the compatibility matrix. In the box: the Smart Security Hub (93dB siren and battery backup built in), a motion sensor, a mini door/window sensor and a key fob.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Cheapest, if family is watching

eufy 5-Piece Home Alarm Kit

The purest no-fee alarm here: it links to the eufy HomeBase and cameras, runs entirely self-monitored, and never asks for a subscription. The trade-off is there's no professional dispatch option at all.

Strengths

  • Genuinely zero recurring cost
  • Integrates with eufy's local-storage cameras
  • Simple, cheap DIY kit

Trade-offs

  • No professional monitoring available at all
  • Smaller ecosystem than Ring or SimpliSafe
  • Ties you to eufy's HomeBase
Key spec5-piece DIY alarm, self-monitored
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageLocal (via eufy HomeBase)
ConnectivityWi-Fi via HomeBase
PowerBase plug-in with battery backup; wireless sensors
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. Best if you want self-monitoring and already lean toward eufy cameras for the same no-fee reason.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best home security system for seniors?

The SimpliSafe 8-piece kit, for four published reasons: it includes a wall keypad so it can be armed without a phone; SimpliSafe's monitoring agents are 'ready 24/7 to request dispatch in the event of a break-in, fire, or medical emergency'; it sells a panic button that, with monitoring, summons police and medical dispatch; and its base station has 'up to 24-hour battery that takes over if power goes out.' Monitoring is month-to-month with no cancellation fees.

Does a senior need professional monitoring?

If they live alone, we think yes — it is the feature that turns a siren into a person arriving. A self-monitored system sends a phone alert and sounds an alarm; if the person at home cannot respond and nobody else is watching the app, nothing further happens. SimpliSafe, Ring (on its Ring Pro plan) and Abode all offer 24/7 professional monitoring as an optional plan. The eufy kit has no professional monitoring option at all, which is why we only recommend it when a family member is actively watching.

Can a home security system be used without a smartphone?

Yes. All four systems here include a physical control — a keypad on the SimpliSafe, Ring and eufy kits, a key fob on the Abode kit — so arming and disarming needs no phone. Ring Alarm can also be armed by voice through an Echo speaker, though Ring's kit page marks that as a subscription feature. A phone is needed for the initial setup and for remote alerts, which is where a family member can help.

Is there a security system with a panic button for seniors?

SimpliSafe sells a Panic Button accessory and states that with monitoring, agents request police and medical dispatch 24/7 when it is pressed. We have not found a published panic-button statement for the Ring, Abode or eufy kits. These are burglar-alarm panic buttons, not medical alert devices; if a personal emergency response service has been recommended, treat these as a supplement, not a replacement.

What happens to the alarm in a power cut?

Every base station here has a battery backup; SimpliSafe and Ring both publish up to 24 hours. Reaching the monitoring center when the internet is also down needs a cellular connection, and on every system here that is part of the paid plan — SimpliSafe describes built-in network backup on its base station, Ring includes cellular backup with Ring Pro, and Abode adds it with a plan. eufy does not publish cellular backup for its kit.

Are these systems on a contract?

Not for the hardware, which works with no plan on every system here. For monitoring, SimpliSafe states its subscribers are not tied up in long-term contracts and there are no cancellation fees; Abode offers short-term on-demand plans; Ring does not state a contract term on the pages we read. The eufy kit has no plan to sign up for at all. This is the main reason we rank DIY systems over professionally installed ones for an older household: nothing here locks anyone into a multi-year commitment.

Sources

  • Monitoring Plans — SimpliSafeSimpliSafe's monitoring page: agents ready 24/7 to request dispatch for break-ins, fire or medical emergencies, no long-term contract and no cancellation fees, panic button with monitoring, network backup and up to 24-hour battery on the base station (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • 8-Piece Alarm Security Kit — RingRing's kit contents (base station, keypad, four contact sensors, motion detector, range extender), the up-to-24-hour backup battery, and the notes that cellular backup, professional monitoring and hands-free Alexa arming require a subscription (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Ring Subscription Plans — RingRing's plan tiers (Solo, Multi, Pro, Virtual Security Guard) and what each adds: up to 180 days of video playback, person/package/vehicle alerts, 24/7 professional monitoring on Ring Pro (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • 5-Piece Home Alarm Kit — eufyeufy's kit contents (HomeBase 2, keypad, motion sensor, two entry sensors) and its one-time-purchase, no-monthly-fee positioning; no professional monitoring is offered (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Central Station Service Certification — UL SolutionsUL on monitoring stations meeting the UL 827 standard for alarm monitoring (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • Victimization During Household Burglary — Bureau of Justice StatisticsFederal (BJS/NCVS) household-burglary victimization statistics (accessed July 20, 2026)

Keep reading