Circuit & Chime

Best Security Cameras for Home Assistant

Home Assistant publishes an IoT class for every integration it ships. That one field tells you whether a camera talks to your network or to somebody's cloud — and it is the only spec that decides this category.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we test

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, storage and running cost. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We haven’t lab-tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forSubscriptionPrice
1
Reolink Argus PT Ultra (4K, solar)

Reolink Argus PT Ultra (4K, solar)

A 4K pan-and-tilt camera that records to an SD card and can run on solar — a lot of hardware for the money, with no subscription anywhere in the plan.

Best overall — Local Push, full entity setNo fee needed
$104.99 · View on Amazon

$159.9934% off

Price as of October 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
TP-Link Tapo C120 (2K+)

TP-Link Tapo C120 (2K+)

A sub-$40 indoor/outdoor camera with a sharp 2K+ sensor and free local storage — the value pick for anyone who just wants a good camera without a plan.

Cheapest local stream, via ONVIFNo fee needed
$31.99 · View on Amazon

$39.9920% off

Price as of October 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Aqara Doorbell Camera Hub G410

Aqara Doorbell Camera Hub G410

The only no-fee doorbell here that an Apple household can actually use, and the only one that doubles as a smart home hub — Aqara publishes a Matter controller, a Thread border router and a Zigbee hub inside the indoor chime, which is also where the memory card lives.

Best doorbell, and a hub as wellNo fee needed
$99.99 · View on Amazon

$144.9931% off

Price as of October 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#2Cheapest local stream, via ONVIF

TP-Link Tapo C120 (2K+)

A sub-$40 indoor/outdoor camera with a sharp 2K+ sensor and free local storage — the value pick for anyone who just wants a good camera without a plan.

Strengths

  • Very cheap for a 2K+ sensor
  • Free local microSD recording
  • IP66-rated, so the same camera works indoors or out

Trade-offs

  • Wired power
  • A TP-Link cloud account is needed for setup
  • No battery option
Key spec2K+ QHD, wired
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storagemicroSD up to 512GB
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz (TP-Link lists 802.11b/g/n only)
PowerWired
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. A strong first camera; add a microSD card and you'll never face a subscription prompt you have to act on.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best doorbell, and a hub as well

Aqara Doorbell Camera Hub G410

The only no-fee doorbell here that an Apple household can actually use, and the only one that doubles as a smart home hub — Aqara publishes a Matter controller, a Thread border router and a Zigbee hub inside the indoor chime, which is also where the memory card lives.

Strengths

  • Full HomeKit Secure Video support, plus Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings and Home Assistant
  • The microSD slot is in the indoor chime, not in the doorbell a thief can unscrew
  • Doubles as a Matter controller, Thread border router and Zigbee hub

Trade-offs

  • 24/7 continuous recording only in wired mode
  • Aqara publishes a 1200p maximum resolution when you record through HomeKit Secure Video, below the camera's own 2K
  • No IP rating published for this model
Key spec2K, 175° view, Matter/Thread/Zigbee hub in the chime
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storagemicroSD up to 512GB — slot is inside the indoor chime
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4/5GHz; Thread border router; Zigbee hub; Matter controller
PowerReplaceable batteries (up to 5 months) or wired 12-24V AC/DC
Works withApple Home, Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, Home Assistant

Worth knowing. Aqara publishes a built-in mmWave radar presence sensor alongside the 175° 4:3 lens, and a 95dB speaker in the chime-hub. Continuous recording needs the 12-24V wired supply; on the replaceable batteries it is event-based.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 6, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best security camera for Home Assistant?

Reolink. Home Assistant documents its Reolink integration as Local Push, with camera streams at three quality levels, binary sensors for motion and AI person, vehicle and pet detection, PTZ buttons, siren and floodlight entities, battery and storage sensors, and a media browser for recorded playback — and it notes the devices work with their internet access blocked. No other camera brand we cover is documented with that depth of local integration.

What does 'Local Push' mean on a Home Assistant integration?

It means the device is on your own network and tells Home Assistant when something happens, rather than Home Assistant asking a manufacturer's cloud server on a timer. Local Push is faster, keeps working when your internet drops, and does not depend on a vendor's API or subscription staying available. The alternative, Cloud Polling, is how the official Ring and Blink integrations are documented. The IoT class is printed on every integration page Home Assistant ships.

Do Blink cameras work with Home Assistant?

Partly, and not for video. Home Assistant's Blink integration is documented as Cloud Polling and states plainly that it does not allow live viewing of your Blink camera within Home Assistant. You get an alarm control panel, a camera entity, temperature and Wi-Fi sensors and motion, armed and battery binary sensors — with the documented caveat that those sensors are only polled when new images are requested, so relying on them for timely data is not recommended. Blink Mini cameras support none of the sensors.

Do Ring cameras work with Home Assistant?

Yes, through an official Cloud Polling integration, but the subscription comes with it. You get live view and last-recording camera entities, event entities for doorbell rings and motion, plus sirens, lights and switches. Home Assistant's documentation states that downloading and playing video from the last-recording camera requires a Ring Protect plan, that two-way audio in live view is not currently supported, and that real-time events need outbound TCP access on port 5228.

Can I use a Tapo camera with Home Assistant?

Yes, over RTSP or ONVIF, with two documented catches. First, TP-Link states that RTSP streaming is generally not supported on battery- or solar-powered Tapo cameras — only the hardwired D235, D225 and TD25 doorbells are excepted, and only while continuously powered — so buy a wired Tapo. Second, TP-Link states that cloud storage, local card or hub storage and NAS/NVR/ONVIF recording cannot all be used at once because of limited stream resources, so adding Home Assistant may cost you the microSD recording.

Why does my ONVIF camera show no video in Home Assistant?

Almost always the video codec. Home Assistant's ONVIF integration documentation names this as a known issue: many newer cameras support H.265 (HEVC) by default while the integration looks for H.264 (AVC) streams. The fix is to configure the camera to output at least one video stream in H.264. The integration also requires the ffmpeg integration to be set up first, and expects an ONVIF Profile S conformant device.

Do Wyze or eufy cameras work with Home Assistant?

We could not find a Home Assistant path for either brand documented by Home Assistant or by the manufacturer, which is why neither is ranked on this page. Both have active community projects, and those are a reasonable choice if you enjoy maintaining that kind of setup — but we will not recommend an unofficial bridge to a buyer as though it were a product feature, because the vendor has not committed to it and a firmware update can end it.

Do I need a subscription for cameras in Home Assistant?

Not with the picks on this page. Reolink, Tapo and Aqara all record to local storage with no fee from the maker, and their Home Assistant paths are local. Where a subscription does follow you in is with cloud brands: Home Assistant's own Ring documentation states that playing video from the last-recording camera needs a Ring Protect plan. Choosing a local-first camera is what keeps Home Assistant free of a monthly bill.

Sources

  • Reolink integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant documents the Reolink integration's IoT class as Local Push, with camera streams at Fluent/Balanced/Clear, binary sensors for motion and AI person, vehicle and pet detection, doorbell-press sensors, PTZ buttons, siren, floodlight, battery and storage sensors and a media browser for recorded playback; it requires a camera user account with admin privileges and the HTTP/HTTPS port enabled, works with the internet blocked, and lists two-way audio/text-to-speech as not available and LTE-based Reolink models as incompatible (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • ONVIF integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant documents the ONVIF integration as Local Push for any ONVIF Profile S conformant device, requiring the ffmpeg integration, adding entities for compatible profiles whose video encoding is set to H.264, exposing motion/field/cell/human-shape, sound, tamper and image-quality events through ONVIF's pullpoint subscription API plus infrared-lamp, autofocus and wiper switches and a PTZ action, and warning that many newer cameras default to H.265 (HEVC) while the integration looks for H.264, so the camera must be configured to output at least one H.264 stream (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • Blink integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant documents the Blink integration's IoT class as Cloud Polling, providing an alarm control panel, a camera per device, temperature and Wi-Fi-strength sensors and motion/armed/battery binary sensors — and states plainly that "This integration does NOT allow for live viewing of your Blink camera within Home Assistant", that Blink Mini cameras support none of the sensors, and that relying on the sensors for timely, accurate data is not recommended because they are only polled when new images are requested (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • Ring integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant documents the Ring integration's IoT class as Cloud Polling, with live_view and last_recording camera entities, event entities for doorbell rings, motion alerts and intercom unlocking, plus sirens, lights, switches and volume controls — and states that "Downloading and playing Ring video from the last_recording camera will require a Ring Protect plan", that two-way audio in live view is not currently supported, and that real-time events need outbound TCP access to port 5228 (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • Argus PT Ultra — Reolink — Reolink's published specs: 4K at 15fps, two 6500K spotlights to 33 ft plus two 850nm IR LEDs, 355° pan / 140° tilt, 110° diagonal view, PIR detection, microSD up to 512GB, dual-band Wi-Fi, IP65, solar panel (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Tapo C120 Indoor/Outdoor Wi-Fi Home Security Camera — Specifications — TP-Link — TP-Link's published specs: 2K QHD 4MP, starlight sensor with full-color night vision, 850nm and 940nm IR LEDs to 30 ft, 120° diagonal view, microSD up to 512GB, 2.4GHz Wi-Fi, 96dB siren, IP66 (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • How to view Tapo camera on PC/NAS/NVR via RTSP/ONVIF — TP-Link Support — TP-Link's own RTSP/ONVIF instructions: a separate camera account (6-32 characters) distinct from the Tapo login, the rtsp://username:password@IP/stream1 and /stream2 URL format on port 554, a list of supported models, the statement that RTSP streaming is generally NOT supported on battery- or solar-powered cameras except the hardwired D235, D225 and TD25 when continuously powered, and the warning that Tapo Care cloud storage, local card/hub storage and NAS/NVR/ONVIF recording cannot all be used simultaneously because of limited stream resources (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • Doorbell Camera Hub G410 — Aqara — Aqara's published specs: 2K on a 175° wide-angle 4:3 lens, infrared night vision, a built-in mmWave radar presence sensor, microSD up to 512GB bought separately with the slot in the indoor chime-hub, 24/7 continuous recording in wired mode only, full HomeKit Secure Video support with a stated 1200p maximum resolution over HSV, HomeGuardian cloud backup as a paid subscription, replaceable batteries rated up to 5 months or a 12-24V AC/DC supply for uninterrupted power, 2.4/5GHz dual-band Wi-Fi, a built-in Matter controller plus Aqara Zigbee hub and Thread border router, a 95dB chime speaker, and support for Apple Home, Google Home, Alexa, SmartThings and Home Assistant (RTSP and Matter bridging) (accessed October 6, 2026)

Keep reading