Circuit & Chime

Best Smart Home Hubs for Privacy

Privacy in a smart home is an architecture question, not a settings question. These three hubs run your automations on a box in your hallway instead of in somebody else's data centre — ranked on how much of your setup can work with the internet unplugged.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we test

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, storage and running cost. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We haven’t lab-tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forSubscriptionPrice
1
Home Assistant Green

Home Assistant Green

The most powerful and most private option, and the steepest: a ready-made box for the open-source Home Assistant platform. It'll integrate almost anything and run entirely on your network — if you enjoy tinkering.

Best for privacy, if you enjoy the workNo fee needed
$219.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Hubitat Elevation C-8 Pro

Hubitat Elevation C-8 Pro

The enthusiast's local-first hub: automations run on the box, not in someone's cloud, so they keep working when the internet doesn't. Steeper to learn, but nothing here phones home for permission.

Best local control without the hobbyNo fee needed
$194.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Homey Pro (2026)

Homey Pro (2026)

The hub that carries every radio worth having — Z-Wave, Zigbee, Thread, Matter, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi and infrared — and runs its automations on the box rather than in a cloud. It is the most expensive hub we list, and in the US one of those radios is switched off, so buy it for the breadth and the local control, not for the spec sheet's last line.

Best if you want every radio in one boxNo fee needed
$449.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best for privacy, if you enjoy the work

Home Assistant Green

The most powerful and most private option, and the steepest: a ready-made box for the open-source Home Assistant platform. It'll integrate almost anything and run entirely on your network — if you enjoy tinkering.

Strengths

  • Integrates nearly everything, including via community add-ons
  • Fully local, private, no required fees
  • Bridges Alexa, Google and Apple Home

Trade-offs

  • A real learning curve — this is a hobby
  • Needs a USB radio stick for Z-Wave/Zigbee
  • Support is community forums, not a call center
Key specOpen-source local hub
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageLocal (on-device)
ConnectivityEthernet; add-on radios for Z-Wave / Zigbee / Thread
PowerWired
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home, Matter

Worth knowing. The enthusiast's endgame. If 'it just works' matters more than control, an Echo or HomePod is the saner start.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best local control without the hobby

Hubitat Elevation C-8 Pro

The enthusiast's local-first hub: automations run on the box, not in someone's cloud, so they keep working when the internet doesn't. Steeper to learn, but nothing here phones home for permission.

Strengths

  • Fully local automation — works offline
  • Z-Wave 800, Zigbee 3.0 and Matter
  • No subscription, strong community

Trade-offs

  • Steeper learning curve
  • No native voice speaker (pairs with Alexa/Google)
  • Setup is hands-on
Key specLocal-control hub; Z-Wave + Zigbee + Matter
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable (hub)
ConnectivityEthernet / Wi-Fi; Z-Wave 800, Zigbee 3.0, Matter
PowerWired
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Matter

Worth knowing. If cloud dependence and fees are your objection to smart homes, this is the answer — see our ecosystems comparison.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best if you want every radio in one box

Homey Pro (2026)

The hub that carries every radio worth having — Z-Wave, Zigbee, Thread, Matter, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi and infrared — and runs its automations on the box rather than in a cloud. It is the most expensive hub we list, and in the US one of those radios is switched off, so buy it for the breadth and the local control, not for the spec sheet's last line.

Strengths

  • Z-Wave 700, Zigbee 3.0, Thread and Matter v1.5 all built in — no USB stick, no second hub
  • Automations run on the device, so they keep working when the internet doesn't
  • No subscription for control, automation or remote access; Homey commits to updates until at least June 2031

Trade-offs

  • The most expensive hub in our registry by a wide margin
  • 433 MHz transmission is turned off in the US, Canada and South Korea — a listed radio you can't use here
  • No Ethernet port on the hub itself; Homey sells an adapter separately
  • Apple Home support is a HomeKit 'experiment' and not every device feature crosses over
Key specEight-radio local hub; Z-Wave 700 + Zigbee 3.0 + Thread + Matter v1.5
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable (hub) — automations and device data stay on the box
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4/5GHz; Z-Wave 700, Zigbee 3.0, Thread border router, Matter v1.5, Bluetooth LE 5.0, infrared, 433MHz (off in the US)
PowerWired (USB-C); Ethernet adapter sold separately
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home, Matter

Worth knowing. 1.5 GHz quad-core ARMv8 with 4 GB RAM and 8 GB flash — double the memory of the Early 2023 model, which Homey says keeps receiving the same updates.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 22, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

What is the most private smart home hub?

Home Assistant Green. The platform and its integrations are open source, a local setup needs no account and no fee, and automations run entirely on the box — so you can verify rather than trust. It is also the most work: there is a real learning curve, you need a USB radio stick for Z-Wave and Zigbee, and support is community forums. If you want local control without the hobby, the Hubitat Elevation C-8 Pro is the pragmatic pick.

Do local smart home hubs work without the internet?

Yes, that is the point of them. All three hubs here evaluate their automations on the device, so a motion sensor turning on a light does not depend on anybody's servers. What you lose with the internet down is remote access from outside the house and any cloud voice assistant you have bridged in. Our guide to a smart home without internet covers exactly which features survive.

Does the Hubitat need a subscription?

Not for local use. Hubitat's Remote Admin is a paid monthly subscription, but Hubitat states plainly that it 'is not required to access your hub from a local network or use built-in remote features like cloud Dashboard access'. Hub Protect and Cloud Backup are also optional paid services. Control and automation on your own network cost nothing ongoing.

Is Hubitat or Homey better for privacy?

They are close, and the honest answer is that Hubitat is better value and Homey has more hardware. Both run automations on the box. Homey charges nothing for control, automation or remote access, where Hubitat charges for Remote Admin; Hubitat has better Z-Wave — 800 Series with Long Range — plus an Ethernet port and external antennas, where Homey needs an Ethernet adapter sold separately. Homey has Thread and Zigbee together; on Hubitat that is a choice between two models.

Does a private smart home hub mean my devices are private?

No, and this is the mistake that matters. A local-first hub full of cloud-only devices still sends your data out, because the device is phoning home regardless of what the hub does. Choosing devices with local integrations is the real work. Home Assistant publishes an IoT class per integration — Local Push, Cloud Polling and so on — which is the most useful way to check a specific device before buying it.

Does the Hubitat C-8 Pro have Thread?

Not the standard one. Hubitat's standard C-8 Pro carries Zigbee 3.0 and Matter but no Thread radio; Thread is only in a separate Thread Special Edition, which Hubitat states 'does not include built-in Zigbee'. So on Hubitat you choose between Zigbee and Thread. The Homey Pro (2026) has both built in, along with Z-Wave 700 and Matter v1.5.

Can I use Alexa or Google with a private hub?

Yes — all three bridge to Alexa and Google, and Home Assistant Green and Homey Pro also bridge to Apple Home. But the bridge is a cloud path you are deliberately adding, and your voice commands go through it. If voice is important and privacy is too, the usual compromise is to keep automations local and accept that the voice layer is not. Our ecosystems comparison covers what each assistant takes.

Sources

  • Home Assistant Green — Home Assistant (official) — Nabu Casa's product page: a published recommended MSRP sold through authorized distributors, with no promotion listed (accessed September 13, 2026)
  • Hubitat Elevation Model C-8 Pro US Version — Hubitat — Hubitat's own product listing for the C-8 Pro: Matter 1.5, Z-Wave 800 Long Range at the US 908.4 MHz frequency, Zigbee 3.0, Bluetooth, built-in Wi-Fi and Ethernet, an external antenna for each mesh radio, a 2.0 GHz processor with 2 GB of RAM, a US 120V power supply and Ethernet cable in the box, 1,000+ devices across 100+ brands, the statement that automations run locally inside your home rather than in the cloud, and the note that Hubitat does not require subscriptions for ongoing use while optional subscriptions add extended warranties, cloud backups and remote admin access (accessed September 29, 2026)
  • THREAD SPECIAL EDITION Hubitat Elevation Model C-8 Pro — Hubitat — Hubitat's separate Thread edition of the C-8 Pro, which adds an integrated Thread radio in place of the standard model's Zigbee radio — Hubitat states this model does not include built-in Zigbee (accessed September 29, 2026)
  • Remote Admin — Hubitat Documentation — Hubitat's documentation on Remote Admin: an optional monthly subscription for administering hubs away from home, with the note that it is not required to access your hub from a local network or to use built-in remote features like cloud Dashboard access (accessed September 29, 2026)
  • Hub Protect and Cloud Backup — Hubitat Documentation — Hubitat's documentation on its two optional paid services: Cloud Backup (10 cloud backups, no extended warranty) and Hub Protect (5 cloud backups plus an extended warranty), what a cloud backup includes that a local one does not (Z-Wave, Zigbee and File Manager, subject to a 100 MB limit), hub migration, and the note that hubs bought directly from Hubitat carry a 90-day standard warranty which Hub Protect extends for the duration of the subscription (accessed September 29, 2026)
  • Homey Pro — Homey (Athom) — Homey's published Homey Pro specification list (1.5 GHz quad-core ARMv8, 4 GB LPDDR4 RAM, 8 GB eMMC, Wi-Fi 2.4/5 GHz, Bluetooth LE 5.0, Matter v1.5, Thread Border Router, Zigbee 3.0, Z-Wave 700 Series, 433 MHz, infrared), the optional Ethernet adapter and Cloud Backups add-on, the software-support commitment to at least June 2031, and the note that 433 MHz transmission is turned off in the US, Canada and South Korea (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Introducing Homey Pro (2026) — Homey News — Homey's announcement of the 2026 model: 4 GB of RAM doubling the previous model, room for well over 100 Homey Apps, devices from over 1,000 brands, and the statement that both generations continue to receive the same features and updates (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Control Any Smart Home Device with Apple Home Using Homey — Homey — Homey's own description of its Apple Home support: an Apple HomeKit experiment that turns Homey into a HomeKit bridge, which models qualify, and the caveats that not all device features appear in Apple Home and that infrared or 433 MHz devices may not report their real-time state (accessed September 22, 2026)
  • Matter — Connectivity Standards Alliance — Official CSA overview of the Matter smart-home interoperability standard (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • What Is Thread? — Thread Group — Thread Group's definition of the low-power IPv6/802.15.4 mesh protocol (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • Securing the Internet of Things (IoT) — CISA — CISA consumer guidance on securing smart-home / IoT devices (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • NIST Cybersecurity for IoT Program — NIST — Federal IoT device-security program: manufacturer and consumer guidance (accessed July 20, 2026)

Keep reading