Circuit & Chime

Wyze vs eufy: Which No-Fee Camera Should You Buy?

Both brands let you keep your footage without a monthly bill, so the subscription argument is a tie. What splits them is continuous recording, and eufy's own support pages say its battery cameras do not do it.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we test

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, storage and running cost. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We haven’t lab-tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forSubscriptionPrice
1
Wyze Cam v4 (2.5K)

Wyze Cam v4 (2.5K)

A camera that records continuously to a microSD card for free and looks far better than its price suggests. It's the honest starting point for anyone who resents monthly camera fees.

Best for free recording, cheapestNo fee needed
$69.98 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
eufy eufyCam S330 (eufyCam 3) 4-Cam Kit

eufy eufyCam S330 (eufyCam 3) 4-Cam Kit

4K, solar-charged so you rarely touch it, and footage that lives on the HomeBase with no monthly fee — the clearest expression of the buy-once, pay-nothing approach. The kit isn't cheap up front, but over five years it's the one that never sends you a bill.

Best if you never want to touch itNo fee needed
$399.99 · View on Amazon

$699.9943% off

Price as of October 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Reolink Argus PT Ultra (4K, solar)

Reolink Argus PT Ultra (4K, solar)

A 4K pan-and-tilt camera that records to an SD card and can run on solar — a lot of hardware for the money, with no subscription anywhere in the plan.

The middle ground: solar and a cardNo fee needed
$104.99 · View on Amazon

$159.9934% off

Price as of October 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best for free recording, cheapest

Wyze Cam v4 (2.5K)

A camera that records continuously to a microSD card for free and looks far better than its price suggests. It's the honest starting point for anyone who resents monthly camera fees.

Strengths

  • Records to a microSD card with no subscription
  • 2.5K is genuinely sharp for the money
  • Small and easy to place indoors or under an eave

Trade-offs

  • Wired USB power only — you'll be near an outlet
  • Cloud AI (person/package) nudges you toward paid Cam Plus
  • Wyze's track record on security incidents is mixed
Key spec2.5K, microSD recording
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storagemicroSD up to 256GB
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz
PowerWired (USB)
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. The v4 needs USB power, so it isn't a wire-free outdoor camera. For fully wireless, look at the battery picks.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best if you never want to touch it

eufy eufyCam S330 (eufyCam 3) 4-Cam Kit

4K, solar-charged so you rarely touch it, and footage that lives on the HomeBase with no monthly fee — the clearest expression of the buy-once, pay-nothing approach. The kit isn't cheap up front, but over five years it's the one that never sends you a bill.

Strengths

  • 4K plus integrated solar means effectively set-and-forget power
  • Records to the HomeBase, expandable local storage, no cloud fee
  • Face-recognition AI runs on the HomeBase, not behind a paywall

Trade-offs

  • High upfront price for the four-camera kit
  • Needs the HomeBase plugged into your router — not standalone cameras
  • Apple Home support is limited next to Alexa and Google
Key spec4K, solar, HomeBase local storage
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageHomeBase 3, expandable local storage
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz (via HomeBase)
PowerRechargeable battery + integrated solar
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. eufy had a 2022 disclosure about cloud thumbnail handling; the local-storage design is part of why we still rate the no-fee approach, but read our eufyCam review for the full history.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

Is Wyze or eufy better?

They are better at different jobs. Wyze is better indoors, on a budget, and whenever you want a continuous record — it records 24/7 to a microSD card and Wyze states local storage is free. eufy is better outdoors: 4K, integrated solar so you rarely touch the camera, and footage on a HomeBase with no fee. The decisive difference is not resolution, it is that eufy's support pages state a battery camera will not record continuously even on a HomeBase 3.

Do eufy cameras record 24/7?

Not the battery ones. eufy's own support answer is that a battery-operated camera will not record continuously, even when connected to a HomeBase 3 — the radar and PIR sensors exist to wake the camera for an event and let it sleep the rest of the time, which is how it lasts on a battery and a solar panel. If you need a rolling record rather than clips of events, a wired camera with a card in it is the right product.

Does Wyze or eufy need a subscription?

Neither does for recording. Wyze publishes a microSD slot on every Wyze Cam, Continuous and Events Only modes, and states local storage is free; eufy records to the HomeBase and runs its AI detection there rather than behind a paywall. Both sell an optional cloud plan on top. Wyze's paid Cam Plus is the one you will feel pressure to buy, because the smarter person and package detection sits there.

Is eufy's 4K worth it over Wyze's 2.5K?

Only if the camera is awake when it matters. On published specifications the eufyCam S330 is 4K against the Wyze Cam v4's 2.5K (2560 x 1440), so yes, it is the sharper sensor. But a sleeping battery camera records nothing at any resolution, so the resolution gap is worth less than it looks if your real requirement is a continuous record. Resolution is the right thing to pay for when you need to read a license plate at the end of a driveway, and the wrong thing to pay for when you need to know what happened in a room overnight.

Can a Wyze Cam v4 run on battery like a eufyCam?

No. Wyze lists the Cam v4 as wired USB, so it needs an outlet — that is the single biggest limitation on where you can put it. The eufyCam S330 runs on a rechargeable battery with integrated solar. If wire-free outdoors is the requirement, the Wyze is out of the conversation and you are choosing between the eufy kit and a cheaper battery camera such as the Reolink Argus PT Ultra.

Do you need a HomeBase for eufy cameras?

For the eufyCam S330 kit, yes — the HomeBase 3 plugs into your router and is where the recordings and the face-recognition AI live. That is the trade: one box to power and maintain instead of a power problem at every camera, and no monthly fee because the storage is yours. It is also a single point of failure, which a card-in-the-camera design like Wyze's or Reolink's does not have.

Which is better for a renter, Wyze or eufy?

Usually Wyze. It is cheap, it needs no drilling if there is a shelf and a socket, it keeps footage on a card rather than on hardware you have to mount, and if you move you unplug it. The eufy kit's advantages — solar power and exterior mounting — are mostly things a renter cannot use, and mounting four cameras to a building you do not own is a conversation with a landlord. Our smart home for renters guide covers the no-drill options across every category.

Is eufy safe to use after the 2022 privacy reports?

It is a judgment call and we will not make it for you. eufy had a 2022 disclosure about how cloud thumbnails were handled, which lands harder for a brand whose pitch is that footage stays home. The local-storage architecture is still the reason we rate the no-fee approach, and our eufyCam review sets out the history in full rather than footnoting it. If any brand's cloud handling is a dealbreaker, a card-based camera with the cloud switched off is the stricter answer.

Sources

  • Wyze Cam v4 — Wyze — Wyze's published specs: 2.5K QHD, starlight sensor with color night vision, four 850nm IR LEDs plus two spotlight LEDs, 115.8° diagonal view, 24/7 local recording to microSD up to 256GB, 99dB siren, IP65, 2.4GHz only (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • How to Save Wyze Videos to Local Storage With a microSD — Wyze — Wyze's statement that every Wyze Cam has a microSD slot, that you can choose Continuous or Events Only recording, and that local storage is free (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Night Vision — Wyze Support — Wyze's support article on night vision: the Night Vision IR Lights toggle in the Wyze app, and the note that visibility with IR disabled depends on ambient light (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • eufyCam S330 (eufyCam 3) 4-Cam Kit — eufy — eufy's published specs: 4K, infrared and color night vision with a motion-activated spotlight, 135° lens, radar + PIR detection, IP67, solar panel, 16GB HomeBase storage expandable to 16TB, and the note that a battery camera is designed for event capture rather than continuous recording (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Can eufy S220 SoloCam record 24/7? — eufy Support — eufy's statement that a battery-operated camera will not record continuously even when connected to HomeBase 3 (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Argus PT Ultra — Reolink — Reolink's published specs: 4K at 15fps, two 6500K spotlights to 33 ft plus two 850nm IR LEDs, 355° pan / 140° tilt, 110° diagonal view, PIR detection, microSD up to 512GB, dual-band Wi-Fi, IP65, solar panel (accessed September 18, 2026)

Keep reading