Circuit & Chime

Best Security Cameras for a Driveway

A driveway is the hardest easy job in home security: it is far from the router, far from an outlet, and the thing you want to see is moving. We ranked on reach, power and what each maker actually publishes about detecting a vehicle.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we test

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, storage and running cost. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We haven’t lab-tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forSubscriptionPrice
1
Reolink Argus PT Ultra (4K, solar)

Reolink Argus PT Ultra (4K, solar)

A 4K pan-and-tilt camera that records to an SD card and can run on solar — a lot of hardware for the money, with no subscription anywhere in the plan.

Best overall: dual-band Wi-Fi, a published PIR range, and 355° of panNo fee needed
$134.99 · View on Amazon

$159.9916% off

Price as of October 28, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
eufy eufyCam S330 (eufyCam 3) 6-Cam Kit

eufy eufyCam S330 (eufyCam 3) 6-Cam Kit

4K, solar-charged so you rarely touch it, and footage that lives on the HomeBase with no monthly fee — the clearest expression of the buy-once, pay-nothing approach. The kit isn't cheap up front, but over five years it's the one that never sends you a bill.

Best if you want a system: 4K, IP67 and footage on a HomeBase you ownNo fee needed
$763.77 · View on Amazon

$1,139.9733% off

Price as of October 28, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
eufy 4G LTE Cam S330

eufy 4G LTE Cam S330

The only camera we list that does not need your Wi-Fi at all: a 3-in-1 SIM that eufy publishes as working on AT&T, T-Mobile and Verizon, a 9,400mAh battery with a solar panel, and a card slot so the footage is yours. For a vehicle, a gate or a lot with no router, it is the answer — provided you accept a second data bill.

Best for a driveway out of Wi-Fi range: cellular, solar, and the only plate claim publishedNo fee needed
$249.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 28, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Blink Outdoor 4 (5-Cam System)

Blink Outdoor 4 (5-Cam System)

Cheap, wire-free and Amazon-native, with a genuinely long battery life. The catch is storage: the bundled Sync Module Core won't save clips on its own, so budget for either a subscription or a Sync Module 2.

Cheapest wire-free start — if you budget for the storage modulePlan for full features
$118.99 · View on Amazon

$299.9960% off

Price as of October 28, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#2Best if you want a system: 4K, IP67 and footage on a HomeBase you own

eufy eufyCam S330 (eufyCam 3) 6-Cam Kit

4K, solar-charged so you rarely touch it, and footage that lives on the HomeBase with no monthly fee — the clearest expression of the buy-once, pay-nothing approach. The kit isn't cheap up front, but over five years it's the one that never sends you a bill.

Strengths

  • 4K plus integrated solar means effectively set-and-forget power
  • Records to the HomeBase, expandable local storage, no cloud fee
  • Face-recognition AI runs on the HomeBase, not behind a paywall

Trade-offs

  • High upfront price — the live Amazon kit is the six-camera one
  • Needs the HomeBase plugged into your router — not standalone cameras
  • Apple Home support is limited next to Alexa and Google
Key spec4K, solar, HomeBase local storage
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageHomeBase 3, expandable local storage
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz (via HomeBase)
PowerRechargeable battery + integrated solar
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. Amazon's 4-camera S330 kit is currently unavailable, so the kit we link is the 6-camera one — same cameras, same HomeBase 3, a higher outlay. eufy still sells the 4-camera kit direct if six is more than you need. Separately, eufy had a 2022 disclosure about cloud thumbnail handling; the local-storage design is part of why we still rate the no-fee approach, but read our eufyCam review for the full history.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 8, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best for a driveway out of Wi-Fi range: cellular, solar, and the only plate claim published

eufy 4G LTE Cam S330

The only camera we list that does not need your Wi-Fi at all: a 3-in-1 SIM that eufy publishes as working on AT&T, T-Mobile and Verizon, a 9,400mAh battery with a solar panel, and a card slot so the footage is yours. For a vehicle, a gate or a lot with no router, it is the answer — provided you accept a second data bill.

Strengths

  • Works on cellular with the included 3-in-1 SIM, and falls back to 4G automatically if Wi-Fi drops
  • 9,400mAh battery plus solar — eufy publishes two hours of daily sun as enough to keep it powered
  • 4K with a 100-lumen spotlight for color night vision, and a microSD slot so no plan is needed to record

Trade-offs

  • Cellular means a data plan on top of the camera — eufy estimates around 700MB a month, which is its usage pattern, not yours
  • eufy publishes no IP weather rating, no pan/tilt degrees and no maximum card size for this model
  • 5G SIMs work but are limited to 4G, and HomeBase S380 support only applies when it is on Wi-Fi
Key spec4K cellular (4G LTE) + solar, microSD
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storagemicroSD card slot (maximum capacity not published)
Connectivity4G LTE (nano SIM, US bands B2/B4/B5/B12/B13/B14/B66/B71) or Wi-Fi
Power9,400mAh rechargeable battery + solar panel
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. eufy publishes the cellular detail unusually fully — the 3-in-1 SIM covering AT&T, T-Mobile and Verizon, the eight US LTE bands, and the fact that a 5G SIM works but runs at 4G — and publishes unusually little of the hardware detail: no IP rating, no pan/tilt degrees, no numeric field of view, no maximum microSD capacity and no statement about whether a card is in the box. Operating range is published as -4°F to 122°F. NAS storage is explicitly not supported.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best security camera for a driveway?

The Reolink Argus PT Ultra for most driveways. It is the only camera we carry that publishes both a dual-band 2.4GHz/5GHz radio and a numeric PIR detection range (adjustable up to 10m / 33 ft over a 120-degree horizontal angle), it pans 355 degrees and tilts 140 so one unit can cover the drive and the front door, it runs on solar or a 5V 2A USB charger, and it records to a microSD card with, in Reolink's own words, 'No internet or cloud subscription required'. If the driveway is out of Wi-Fi range entirely, the eufy 4G LTE Cam S330 is the pick instead.

Can a security camera read a license plate on a driveway?

Usually not, and only one camera we carry claims it. eufy publishes for the 4G LTE Cam S330 that 'The color 4K camera gives you the clarity to identify a license plate 30 feet (10 meters) away' — in color, so in daylight or within the 26-foot reach eufy publishes for its spotlight. Neither Reolink nor Blink nor the eufyCam S330 makes a plate claim. Two physics problems work against you: a retroreflective plate bounces infrared straight back and blows out to white at night, and a wide lens spends its pixels on the whole yard, so a plate 40 feet away is a few pixels regardless of the sensor rating.

Do driveway cameras detect vehicles, or just motion?

It depends on the maker, and only some publish it. Reolink lists 'PIR Detection/Human Detection/Vehicle Detection/Pet Detection' for the Argus PT Ultra. eufy publishes an AI list of Face/Human/Vehicle/Pet for the eufyCam S330 and says the 4G LTE model 'detects and tracks people, and vehicles'. Blink publishes no vehicle class for the Outdoor 4, so we record it as not published rather than assume one exists. Vehicle detection matters on a driveway mostly because it cuts false alerts from the street.

How far can a driveway camera detect motion?

Far less than people expect, and only two of our four picks publish a figure at all. Reolink publishes PIR detection 'Adjustable up to 10m (33 ft)' across a 120-degree horizontal angle. eufy's FAQ for the eufyCam S330 says 'The motion sensor can detect objects moving 25-30 ft (8-10 m) away'. Those are motion-sensor ranges, not viewing ranges — the camera sees much further than it reliably triggers. On a long driveway, mount the camera where the car stops rather than at the house looking down the drive.

What camera works on a driveway with no Wi-Fi?

The eufy 4G LTE Cam S330, which is the only camera we carry that does not need your network. eufy publishes an included 3-in-1 SIM compatible with AT&T, T-Mobile and Verizon, US 4G bands B2/B4/B5/B12/B13/B14/B66/B71, and auto-switching to mobile data if Wi-Fi is lost. It records to its own microSD card, so no plan is needed for recording — but cellular means a data plan on top, and eufy estimates around 700MB a month under its own usage pattern, which is not a promise about yours. eufy publishes no IP weather rating for this model, which is a genuine reason to choose differently if the camera will be fully exposed.

Do I need a subscription for a driveway camera?

No, if you choose carefully. The Reolink records to a card in the camera with no fee, the eufyCam S330 records to a HomeBase you own, and the 4G LTE model takes a microSD card. Blink is the exception worth reading twice: Blink states that 'Sync Module Core does not support Local Storage or Clip Backup', and the Core is the module bundled in most kits, so recording without a plan means adding a Sync Module 2 (USB drive) or a Sync Module XR (microSD) with 1GB to 256GB of ExFAT-formatted storage.

Will a solar camera stay charged over winter on a driveway?

Only if the panel sees real sun. eufy publishes 'two hours of daily sunlight' as the requirement for both of its solar models, and Reolink sells a panel while noting the camera can also be charged from a 5V 2A USB charger. Those figures assume direct sun, which a north-facing wall or a spot under a tree will not deliver in December at most US latitudes. If your driveway is shaded, the Blink Outdoor 4's two AA lithium cells — rated up to two years — are a more honest fit than any panel, provided you have budgeted for the storage module.

Where should I mount a driveway camera?

At the end of the drive the car stops at, 8 to 10 feet up, angled down so faces are in the frame, and pointed across the direction of travel rather than straight down the driveway — PIR sensors react far better to movement crossing the frame than to a vehicle coming head-on. Keep the public street out of the frame where you can: it cuts false alerts and avoids filming neighbors. Then set the detection zone to the parking area only.

Sources

  • Argus PT Ultra — Reolink — Reolink's published specs: "3840 x 2160 (8.0 Megapixels)@15fps", two 2.4W 6500K spotlights plus 850nm IR LEDs, "Pan: 355°, Tilt: 140°", a fixed lens at "Horizontal: 90°, Vertical: 47°, Diagonal: 110°", operating frequency "2.4GHz/5GHz", IP65 and a solar panel option (the FAQ notes it can be charged instead "via a 5V 2A USB charger"). Re-read on 2026-10-27 for the driveway guide, which added the detection detail: the spec list reads "PIR Detection/Human Detection/Vehicle Detection/Pet Detection", the PIR range is published as "Adjustable up to 10m (33 ft)" over a "120° Horizontal" detecting angle, pet detection is labeled beta and limited to cats and dogs, and the page heads its local-recording section "Smart Detection, No Monthly Fees" with microSD recording needing "No internet or cloud subscription required". The page CONTRADICTS ITSELF on card capacity — the spec table says "Supports up to 128GB microSD card" while the highlights and FAQ say up to 512GB — and publishes no distance for the spotlight (a "Up to 10m (33ft)" figure sits beside the IR LEDs, with the layout leaving it unclear which mode it describes). No license-plate claim appears anywhere on the page (accessed October 27, 2026)
  • eufyCam S330 (eufyCam 3) 4-Cam Kit — eufy — eufy's published specs: 4K (3840x2160), infrared and color night vision with built-in motion-activated spotlights and a Starlight sensor, an F1.4 135° lens, IP67 "weatherproof protection", an integrated solar panel "only needing 2 hours of daily sunlight", 802.11 b/g/n 2.4GHz Wi-Fi, 16GB on the HomeBase 3 expandable "up to 16TB of expandable storage on a portable hard drive" (the FAQ limits that to a 5V 2.5-inch SATA HDD or SSD and states 12V drives are not supported), and the note that a battery camera is designed for event capture rather than continuous recording. Re-read on 2026-10-27 for the driveway guide, which added three facts: the AI list is published as "Face/Human/Vehicle/Pet" with vehicle detection named explicitly; the FAQ gives the only detection distance eufy publishes for it — "The motion sensor can detect objects moving 25-30 ft (8-10 m) away", a general motion figure rather than a radar one; and the page is internally inconsistent on sensing, with the S330 copy describing "Radar and PIR motion sensing" while the comparison table lists eufyCam 3 motion detection as PIR only. No license-plate claim appears anywhere on the page (accessed October 27, 2026)
  • eufy 4G LTE Cam S330 — eufy — eufy's own product page for the 4G LTE Cam S330. Cellular is the point of the product and eufy publishes the details: "The included 3-in-1 SIM card is compitable with AT&T, T-Mobile, and Verizon" [sic], "Supports Nano SIM cards and 4G bands in the U.S., including B2/B4/B5/B12/B13/B14/B66/B71", and "It is compatible with 5G SIM cards but will be limited to 4G." Wi-Fi is the alternative path rather than a requirement: "If Wi-Fi signal is lost, the auto-switching 4G feature swaps to mobile data", and the camera works with HomeBase S380 "when connected via Wi-Fi". eufy estimates data use at "around 700 MB per month" under its own stated usage pattern. Power: "a powerful 9,400 mAh battery" plus an "upgraded solar panel", with "Two hours of solar charging daily under optimal conditons can keep the camera powered indefinitely" [sic] and roughly a month of runtime without any solar input. Imaging: 4K, "The color 4K camera gives you the clarity to identify a license plate 30 feet (10 meters) away", 4K Color Night Vision with a 100-lumen spotlight showing color detail "up to 26 feet (8 meters) away", pan and tilt marketed as "360° Viewing", and AI that "detects and tracks people, and vehicles" with Activity Zones. Storage is a "microSD card slot for expandable local storage", and eufy states NAS storage is not supported. Operating temperature is published as "-4°F to 122°F (-20°C to 50°C)". A eufy Plus Membership ($15.00/month or $135/year on this date) adds cloud backup history; the page does not make it a requirement for the camera to work. NOT published anywhere on the page, checked on this date: an IP weather rating, pan and tilt degrees, a numeric field of view, the solar panel wattage, the Wi-Fi standard, the maximum microSD capacity, and whether a card is in the box (accessed October 20, 2026)
  • Blink Outdoor 4 Technical Specifications — Blink Support — Blink's published specs: 1080p HD, 143° diagonal view, two AA lithium batteries rated up to two years, -4°F to 113°F, 2.4GHz Wi-Fi (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • How to Configure Night Vision — Blink Support — Blink's description of 850nm infrared night vision producing black-and-white video, the Low / Med / High IR settings, and the glare warning for reflective surfaces (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Local Storage with Sync Module — Blink Support — Blink's own support article on recording without a plan. It states plainly that "Sync Module Core does not support Local Storage or Clip Backup", so the module bundled with many kits stores nothing. Local Storage is described as "an optional feature" with no subscription stated as a requirement: the Sync Module 2 takes "a Type-A USB drive in a supported format (ExFAT recommended)" and the Sync Module XR takes "A microSD card in a supported format (ExFAT recommended)" with a "Minimum read/write speed of 10 Mbps"; both need "Storage capacity between 1 GB and 256 GB" and "At least 375 MB of free space", and the app may prompt a reformat on first insertion. Clip Backup — "a daily backup of your Cloud Storage clips once every 24 hours" — is the subscription half: "For users with a Blink Subscription Plan or Trial, Clip Backup is automatically enabled", and it is "Available for Mini, Mini 2, Outdoor 4, Wired Floodlight, Video Doorbell, Indoor and Outdoor (3rd Gen)". Legacy XT, XT2 and Indoor (1st Gen) cameras support neither feature (accessed October 27, 2026)
  • Wyze Cam v4 — Wyze — Wyze's published specs: 2.5K QHD, starlight sensor with color night vision, four 850nm IR LEDs plus two spotlight LEDs, 115.8° diagonal view, 24/7 local recording to microSD up to 256GB, 99dB siren, IP65, 2.4GHz only (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Tapo C120 Indoor/Outdoor Wi-Fi Home Security Camera — Specifications — TP-Link — TP-Link's published specs: 2K QHD 4MP, starlight sensor with full-color night vision, 850nm and 940nm IR LEDs to 30 ft, 120° diagonal view, microSD up to 512GB, 2.4GHz Wi-Fi, 96dB siren, IP66 (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • How To Secure Your Home Security Cameras — FTC Consumer Advice — FTC consumer guidance on home security-camera privacy and account security (accessed July 20, 2026)

Keep reading