Circuit & Chime

Best Security Cameras for Alexa

“Works with Alexa” means four separate things for a camera, and most brands only do two of them. Ranked on which feeds an Echo Show will actually put on screen, which features sit behind a plan, and the ten-minute limit two makers document themselves.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we test

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, storage and running cost. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We haven’t lab-tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forSubscriptionPrice
1
eufy eufyCam S330 (eufyCam 3) 6-Cam Kit

eufy eufyCam S330 (eufyCam 3) 6-Cam Kit

4K, solar-charged so you rarely touch it, and footage that lives on the HomeBase with no monthly fee — the clearest expression of the buy-once, pay-nothing approach. The kit isn't cheap up front, but over five years it's the one that never sends you a bill.

Best overall: Alexa live view with nothing on the billNo fee needed
$763.77 · View on Amazon

$1,139.9733% off

Price as of October 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Blink Outdoor 4 (5-Cam System)

Blink Outdoor 4 (5-Cam System)

Cheap, wire-free and Amazon-native, with a genuinely long battery life. The catch is storage: the bundled Sync Module Core won't save clips on its own, so budget for either a subscription or a Sync Module 2.

Deepest Alexa integration, including voice armingPlan for full features
$299.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Wyze Cam v4 (2.5K)

Wyze Cam v4 (2.5K)

A camera that records continuously to a microSD card for free and looks far better than its price suggests. It's the honest starting point for anyone who resents monthly camera fees.

Cheapest camera on Wyze's own Alexa listNo fee needed
$87.98 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
TP-Link Tapo C120 (2K+)

TP-Link Tapo C120 (2K+)

A sub-$40 indoor/outdoor camera with a sharp 2K+ sensor and free local storage — the value pick for anyone who just wants a good camera without a plan.

Best wired pick, with a documented ten-minute limitNo fee needed
$39.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall: Alexa live view with nothing on the bill

eufy eufyCam S330 (eufyCam 3) 6-Cam Kit

4K, solar-charged so you rarely touch it, and footage that lives on the HomeBase with no monthly fee — the clearest expression of the buy-once, pay-nothing approach. The kit isn't cheap up front, but over five years it's the one that never sends you a bill.

Strengths

  • 4K plus integrated solar means effectively set-and-forget power
  • Records to the HomeBase, expandable local storage, no cloud fee
  • Face-recognition AI runs on the HomeBase, not behind a paywall

Trade-offs

  • High upfront price — the live Amazon kit is the six-camera one
  • Needs the HomeBase plugged into your router — not standalone cameras
  • Apple Home support is limited next to Alexa and Google
Key spec4K, solar, HomeBase local storage
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageHomeBase 3, expandable local storage
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz (via HomeBase)
PowerRechargeable battery + integrated solar
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. Amazon's 4-camera S330 kit is currently unavailable, so the kit we link is the 6-camera one — same cameras, same HomeBase 3, a higher outlay. eufy still sells the 4-camera kit direct if six is more than you need. Separately, eufy had a 2022 disclosure about cloud thumbnail handling; the local-storage design is part of why we still rate the no-fee approach, but read our eufyCam review for the full history.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 8, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Cheapest camera on Wyze's own Alexa list

Wyze Cam v4 (2.5K)

A camera that records continuously to a microSD card for free and looks far better than its price suggests. It's the honest starting point for anyone who resents monthly camera fees.

Strengths

  • Records to a microSD card with no subscription
  • 2.5K is genuinely sharp for the money
  • Small and easy to place indoors or under an eave

Trade-offs

  • Wired USB power only — you'll be near an outlet
  • Cloud AI (person/package) nudges you toward paid Cam Plus
  • Wyze's track record on security incidents is mixed
Key spec2.5K, microSD recording
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storagemicroSD up to 256GB
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz
PowerWired (USB)
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. The v4 needs USB power, so it isn't a wire-free outdoor camera. For fully wireless, look at the battery picks.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best wired pick, with a documented ten-minute limit

TP-Link Tapo C120 (2K+)

A sub-$40 indoor/outdoor camera with a sharp 2K+ sensor and free local storage — the value pick for anyone who just wants a good camera without a plan.

Strengths

  • Very cheap for a 2K+ sensor
  • Free local microSD recording
  • IP66-rated, so the same camera works indoors or out

Trade-offs

  • Wired power
  • A TP-Link cloud account is needed for setup
  • No battery option
Key spec2K+ QHD, wired
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storagemicroSD up to 512GB
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz (TP-Link lists 802.11b/g/n only)
PowerWired
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. A strong first camera; add a microSD card and you'll never face a subscription prompt you have to act on.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best security camera for Alexa?

For most households, the eufyCam S330. eufy documents live view on an Echo Show through its eufySecurity skill, and answers the fee question directly on its own Alexa page: 'No. Alexa itself does not require a monthly fee for basic use, and neither do eufy Alexa security cameras.' Footage lives on a HomeBase in your house, so there is no cloud bill to avoid in the first place. If you specifically want the deepest Alexa integration rather than the cheapest running cost, buy Blink.

Can I see my camera on an Echo Show?

Yes, on all four picks here, as long as the Echo has a screen. Wyze states that camera commands only work on an Echo with a display — an Echo Show or Echo Spot — or on a Fire TV. You enable the brand's skill in the Alexa app, then say 'Alexa, show me the front door camera' and 'Alexa, stop' to end it. Name your cameras after doorways in the manufacturer's app, because that name becomes the voice command.

Why does my camera feed stop after ten minutes on Alexa?

Because the maker designed it that way, and two of them say so. TP-Link documents that a Tapo feed on an Echo Show or Fire TV 'will stop automatically after 10 minutes' in consideration of internet traffic and performance, and Wyze documents the same ten-minute cutoff. The fix is simply to repeat the voice command. If you want a permanently-on monitor, an Alexa screen is the wrong tool and a dedicated viewer or NVR is the right one.

Does Alexa live view work without the internet?

No. TP-Link is the most explicit about why: watching a Tapo camera on an Echo Show 'uses internet traffic as a Cloud-to-Cloud service'. The camera's feed goes out to the maker's cloud, across to Amazon's, and back to the screen in your kitchen. This is true even for cameras that record locally to a microSD card — local recording and local viewing are different things. If you need viewing to stay inside the house, use Home Assistant rather than Alexa.

Which security cameras can Alexa arm and disarm by voice?

Of the four picks here, only Blink documents it — arm and disarm appears on Blink's own list of supported Alexa features, with no plan attached. Ring also documents voice arming, but its support page states that a compatible Ring subscription is required for digital arming and disarming. eufy, Wyze and TP-Link publish live view and alerts for Alexa but not voice arming, so we score those rows as not published rather than guessing.

Do I need a subscription for a camera to work with Alexa?

Not for the Alexa features themselves on any pick here. Where subscriptions bite is storage and smart alerts: Blink's clip history needs a plan or a Sync Module 2 with a USB drive bought separately, and Ring requires a Ring Protect plan for person and package announcements as well as for digital arming. eufy, Wyze and Tapo all record without a plan — to a HomeBase or a microSD card respectively.

Can Alexa announce when my camera sees motion?

Yes, on all four picks, though the depth varies. Blink lists motion announcements and doorbell press notifications as separate supported features. TP-Link publishes an Alexa Announcement feature for its cameras and doorbells. eufy documents alerts, and Wyze documents announcements. Ring is the brand where the line is clearest: basic doorbell press and motion announcements work without a plan, while person and package announcements require Ring Protect.

Can a camera event trigger an Alexa Routine?

On Blink, yes — Routines appear on Blink's published list of supported Alexa features, so camera events can switch on a lamp or run a scene. For eufy, Wyze and Tapo we found no first-party statement that camera events are exposed to Routines, so we record that as not published. If driving the rest of your house from camera motion is the goal, that single row is the strongest argument for Blink on this page.

Will an Echo Dot show me my camera?

No. Wyze states plainly that camera commands need an Echo with a screen or a Fire TV, and the same is true across the category — there is nothing for a speaker to display. An Echo Dot can still announce motion, run Routines and, on Blink, arm or disarm the system by voice. If the camera feed is what you want, budget for an Echo Show, a Fire TV stick, or a wall-mounted controller.

Sources

  • Alexa Security Cameras — eufy — eufy's own Alexa landing page: "Ask Alexa to show live footage on your Echo Show, check front-door activity, or review alerts quickly and easily", with setup described as searching for the eufySecurity skill in the Alexa app and signing in with a eufy account, after which "Alexa, show me the front door camera" streams live video on an Echo Show or hub and "Alexa, stop" ends it. On fees the page answers directly: "No. Alexa itself does not require a monthly fee for basic use, and neither do eufy Alexa security cameras" (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • Alexa Supported Features — Blink Support — Blink's own list of what Alexa can do with its cameras: multi-camera live view and two-way audio ("You can access live views from your Blink cameras on Alexa-enabled devices such as Amazon Echo, Fire TV, and Fire Tablet devices"), arm and disarm by voice, doorbell press notifications, motion announcements, Alexa Routines triggered by Blink events, smart lighting control, a Fire TV SmartHome Dashboard, and low-battery notifications. Blink's companion live-view article documents the commands ("Alexa, show [camera name]" / "Alexa, stop") and states that Echo Show 8, 10 and 15 devices with two or more cameras show a split-screen view of all of them at once (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • Which Wyze devices are compatible with Alexa? — Wyze Support — Wyze's own compatibility list names the Wyze Cam v4 among the cameras that work with Alexa, alongside the Cam v2, v3, v3 Pro, OG, Pan v2/v3/v4, Cam Outdoor, Battery Cam Pro, the floodlight cameras and the video doorbells; the original Wyze Cam v1 is excluded. Wyze's how-to article states that camera commands only work on an Echo with a screen (Echo Show or Echo Spot) or a Fire TV, and that the live stream stops automatically after 10 minutes unless you repeat the command (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • How to Connect Tapo and Kasa Devices to Amazon Alexa — TP-Link — TP-Link's own FAQ for linking Tapo and Kasa devices to Alexa, either from the app under Me > Third-Party Services > Amazon Alexa or by enabling the Tapo or Kasa skill in the Alexa app. Live view is started with "Alexa, show me the [Camera Name]" and stopped with "Alexa, Hide the [Camera Name]". TP-Link documents the limitation plainly: watching a Tapo camera feed on an Echo Show or Fire TV "uses internet traffic as a Cloud-to-Cloud service", and "in consideration of internet traffic and performance, the live feed will stop automatically after 10 minutes" (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • Control Your Ring Doorbell or Security Camera with Alexa — Ring — Ring's own support article: "Watch Live View from your Ring doorbell or camera on devices with screens", "Arm and disarm your Ring Alarm, doorbells, and cameras", "Talk to visitors at your door" and "Access Ring device features using voice commands with compatible Alexa devices" — with the caveat printed on the same page that a "Compatible Ring subscription required for digital arming/disarming and certain other in-app features". Ring's separate Alexa Announcements article documents that doorbell press and motion announcements can be enabled without a plan, while person and package announcements require a Ring Protect plan (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • eufyCam S330 (eufyCam 3) 4-Cam Kit — eufy — eufy's published specs: 4K, infrared and color night vision with a motion-activated spotlight, 135° lens, radar + PIR detection, IP67, solar panel, 16GB HomeBase storage expandable to 16TB, and the note that a battery camera is designed for event capture rather than continuous recording (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Blink Outdoor 4 Technical Specifications — Blink Support — Blink's published specs: 1080p HD, 143° diagonal view, two AA lithium batteries rated up to two years, -4°F to 113°F, 2.4GHz Wi-Fi (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Wyze Cam v4 — Wyze — Wyze's published specs: 2.5K QHD, starlight sensor with color night vision, four 850nm IR LEDs plus two spotlight LEDs, 115.8° diagonal view, 24/7 local recording to microSD up to 256GB, 99dB siren, IP65, 2.4GHz only (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Tapo C120 Indoor/Outdoor Wi-Fi Home Security Camera — Specifications — TP-Link — TP-Link's published specs: 2K QHD 4MP, starlight sensor with full-color night vision, 850nm and 940nm IR LEDs to 30 ft, 120° diagonal view, microSD up to 512GB, 2.4GHz Wi-Fi, 96dB siren, IP66 (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Tapo C120 — audio and privacy specifications — TP-Link — TP-Link's product page, re-read on 2026-10-11 for audio: the specification lists "Audio Input & Output: Built-in Microphone and Speaker" and "Audio Communication: Two-Way Audio with Noise Cancellation", with sound-based AI detection for BabyCry, Meow, Bark and Glass-Breaking events and a 98 dB siren. Custom Privacy Zones "Completely block sensitive areas from recording and monitoring", but the page documents no privacy mode, no microphone mute and no physical off switch for either the camera or the microphone (accessed October 11, 2026)
  • Ring Subscription Plans — Ring — Ring's plan tiers (Solo, Multi, Pro, Virtual Security Guard) and what each adds: up to 180 days of video playback, person/package/vehicle alerts, 24/7 professional monitoring on Ring Pro (accessed September 18, 2026)

Keep reading