Circuit & Chime

Kasa vs Tapo: TP-Link's Two Smart Home Brands Compared

TP-Link owns both brands, and since Tapo app 3.0 one app runs both — so the app question most comparisons are built on has largely been answered by TP-Link itself. What is left is which brand's hardware does what, and the four things that still do not carry across.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we test

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, storage and running cost. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We haven’t lab-tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forSubscriptionPrice
1
TP-Link Tapo P110M (4-pack)

TP-Link Tapo P110M (4-pack)

The plug that stops the ecosystem question mattering: it's Matter-certified, so it joins Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings without a brand bridge, and TP-Link publishes real-time and historical energy tracking on top. In a four-pack it's the quickest way to put a whole room's worth of appliances on a schedule.

Best Tapo buy: Matter plus energy meteringNo fee needed
$31.99 · View on Amazon

$35.9911% off

Price as of October 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Kasa Matter Smart Outdoor Plug (EP40M)

Kasa Matter Smart Outdoor Plug (EP40M)

The one plug here that can live outside: IP64-rated, rated by TP-Link from -4°F to 122°F, with two outlets you schedule independently — so the holiday lights and the porch lamp can run on different timers from the same box. Matter-certified, so it isn't locked to the Kasa app.

Best Kasa buy: the Matter outdoor plugNo fee needed
$29.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
TP-Link Tapo C120 (2K+)

TP-Link Tapo C120 (2K+)

A sub-$40 indoor/outdoor camera with a sharp 2K+ sensor and free local storage — the value pick for anyone who just wants a good camera without a plan.

Best camera: a category Kasa does not contestNo fee needed
$39.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 15, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best Tapo buy: Matter plus energy metering

TP-Link Tapo P110M (4-pack)

The plug that stops the ecosystem question mattering: it's Matter-certified, so it joins Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings without a brand bridge, and TP-Link publishes real-time and historical energy tracking on top. In a four-pack it's the quickest way to put a whole room's worth of appliances on a schedule.

Strengths

  • Matter-certified — one plug that works in all four major ecosystems
  • Real-time and historical energy tracking published per plug
  • 66 x 38 x 40mm body designed not to cover the second socket

Trade-offs

  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only — it won't join a 5GHz network
  • A Tapo account is needed for setup and for the energy history
  • 15A / 1800W per plug — check the rating of anything that heats or has a motor first
Key specMatter plug, energy monitoring, 4-pack
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz; Matter
PowerWall outlet
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home, SmartThings, Matter

Worth knowing. TP-Link publishes a 15A / 1800W resistive maximum (1/6 HP motor) and a flame-retardant UL94-V0 housing. The energy figures are presented in the Tapo app.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best Kasa buy: the Matter outdoor plug

Kasa Matter Smart Outdoor Plug (EP40M)

The one plug here that can live outside: IP64-rated, rated by TP-Link from -4°F to 122°F, with two outlets you schedule independently — so the holiday lights and the porch lamp can run on different timers from the same box. Matter-certified, so it isn't locked to the Kasa app.

Strengths

  • IP64 weather resistance, rated -4°F to 122°F by TP-Link
  • Two outlets with independent schedules from one plug
  • Matter-certified — joins Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings

Trade-offs

  • No energy monitoring in TP-Link's published specs
  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only, and it has to hold that signal outdoors
  • TP-Link says not to immerse it or aim water pressure at it — weather-resistant, not waterproof
Key specMatter outdoor plug, 2 independent outlets, IP64
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz; Matter
PowerOutdoor wall outlet
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home, SmartThings, Matter

Worth knowing. TP-Link publishes 15A / 1875W resistive (1/2 HP motor) and an operating range of -20°C to 50°C. Matter devices keep working on the local network if the internet drops.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best camera: a category Kasa does not contest

TP-Link Tapo C120 (2K+)

A sub-$40 indoor/outdoor camera with a sharp 2K+ sensor and free local storage — the value pick for anyone who just wants a good camera without a plan.

Strengths

  • Very cheap for a 2K+ sensor
  • Free local microSD recording
  • IP66-rated, so the same camera works indoors or out

Trade-offs

  • Wired power
  • A TP-Link cloud account is needed for setup
  • No battery option
Key spec2K+ QHD, wired
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storagemicroSD up to 512GB
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz (TP-Link lists 802.11b/g/n only)
PowerWired
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. A strong first camera; add a microSD card and you'll never face a subscription prompt you have to act on.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

Are Kasa and Tapo the same company?

Yes. TP-Link's own support page states that 'Tapo and Kasa are both TP-Link smart home brands'. They remain separate brands with separate product lines and separate cloud plans, but they share one owner, one account system (your TP-Link ID) and — since Tapo app 3.0 — largely one app.

Can I control Kasa devices in the Tapo app?

Yes, for most of them. TP-Link says most Kasa devices can be managed directly from the Tapo app with no reconfiguration, and names the Kasa KE100 and KE110 as the exceptions. You link them from the Tapo app under Me > Link Tapo with Kasa, and both apps must be signed in to the same TP-Link ID or the authorization will not work.

What does not transfer when I link Kasa to the Tapo app?

Four things, all documented by TP-Link. Subscriptions are independent, so a remaining Kasa Care plan does not carry over. Kasa cloud video history cannot be viewed in the Tapo app at all — export anything you need first. Room assignments are lost: linked Kasa devices land in the All Devices tab and must be re-assigned by hand. And the merge runs one way: TP-Link documents Kasa devices being managed from the Tapo app, not Tapo devices appearing in the Kasa app.

Is Tapo better than Kasa?

For a new buyer, generally yes, on two checkable grounds: TP-Link's Matter certification on the plug side sits on the Tapo P110M and not on the Kasa EP25, and TP-Link's camera line is Tapo-branded — Home Assistant's shared integration states that only Tapo cameras, doorbells and chimes are supported. Kasa still wins outdoors with the Matter-certified EP40M and on price for a basic color bulb.

Which is cheaper, Kasa or Tapo?

It moves week to week, which is exactly why we do not print a number in prose — every price on this page comes from a live, dated lookup in the buy rows above. Both brands sit at the budget end of their categories, and in multipacks the per-socket and per-bulb cost of each is usually within a few dollars of the other. Check the live figures rather than trusting any roundup's remembered price.

Do Kasa and Tapo work with Apple Home?

Some devices from both, by different routes. The Kasa EP25's product page lists Siri among its voice assistants, which is TP-Link's own HomeKit support. The Tapo P110M and the Kasa EP40M get there through Matter certification instead, which also covers Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings from the same commissioning code. Matter is the more durable route because it is a standard rather than a per-product integration.

Does Home Assistant treat Kasa and Tapo differently?

Barely. One integration — TP-Link Smart Home — covers both brands, with an IoT class of Local Polling, and Home Assistant documents that it connects locally without going via the TP-Link cloud. Both brands' newer devices require TP-Link cloud credentials to authenticate that local access. The one real difference is cameras: Home Assistant supports Tapo cameras, doorbells and chimes and lists no Kasa camera.

Should I replace my Kasa devices with Tapo?

No. There is no functional reason to, and TP-Link states it 'continues to expand our Kasa ecosystem'. Link the Kasa devices to the Tapo app if you want a single app, and buy Tapo for new purchases where Matter or a camera is involved. Replacing working hardware to chase a brand name is the one thing this comparison should talk you out of.

Sources

  • Linking Kasa Devices to the Tapo App: Your Most Common Questions Answered — TP-Link — TP-Link's own FAQ, last updated June 10, 2026: "Tapo and Kasa are both TP-Link smart home brands, and most Kasa devices can be managed directly from the Tapo app without any reconfiguration." The exceptions named are the Kasa KE100 and KE110. Linking is done from the Tapo app under Me > Link Tapo with Kasa and requires the same TP-Link ID on both apps. Kasa devices, groups, smart actions, scenes, timers, away mode and schedules carry across; subscriptions do not — "Kasa Care and Tapo Care subscriptions are independent services" and "Kasa history cloud videos cannot be viewed in the Tapo App". Room assignments do not carry across either: linked Kasa devices "appear in the All Devices tab" and must be assigned to rooms by hand. The page's own feature table puts live view, instant notifications, two-way audio, activity zones, local storage, motion detection and person detection in the no-subscription column for a Kasa camera (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • Tapo P110M — Mini Smart Wi-Fi Plug, Energy Monitoring — TP-Link — TP-Link's US product page: Matter Certified, protocol IEEE 802.11b/g/n with Bluetooth for setup only, "2.4 GHz WiFi Only", 66 x 38 x 40 mm, UL94-V0 flame-retardant PC, rated 100-125V~ 50/60Hz with a maximum load of "15A, 1800W (General Use/Resistive Load), 1/6 HP Motor", third-party platforms listed as Matter-Certified, Apple Home, Alexa, Google Assistant and Samsung SmartThings, operating temperature 0-40 degrees C. The page documents real-time and historical energy statistics with bill estimation, a Smart Charge Guard that cuts power at a set low-power threshold, a Power Protection threshold cut-off, and Local Control: "Your connected devices in your local area network (LAN) remain accessible via the Tapo app, even when the household goes offline" (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Slim with Energy Monitoring (EP25) — TP-Link — TP-Link's US product page for the EP25, titled "Kasa Smart WiFi Plug Slim with Energy Monitoring | Homekit": voice control listed for "Siri, Alexa, Google Assistant, or Samsung SmartThings", real-time and historical energy monitoring in the Kasa Smart app, protocol IEEE 802.11b/g/n on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only, input 100-120 VAC 15 A with a maximum load of "15 A, 1.8 KW for 120 V, 1/6 HP Motor", 66.5 x 38 x 40 mm, UL94-V0 flame-retardant PC, RoHS/FCC/UL certified, operating temperature 0-40 degrees C, 2-year warranty. No Matter certification is claimed anywhere on the page (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug (EP40M) — TP-Link — TP-Link's US product page for the EP40M: Matter Certified ("Matter devices work with any certified platform such as Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home & SmartThings" and "Even without an internet connection, Matter devices seamlessly operate within your local network"), two individually schedulable outlets, IP64 weatherproof rating, operating temperature -4 to 122 degrees F (-20 to 50 degrees C), input 125V~ 60Hz 15A with 15A total and maximum power "1,875 W, 1/2 HP Motor", dual antennas quoted at up to 300 ft, 110 x 39 x 81 mm, RoHS/FCC/IC/ETL certified, 2-year warranty. Requirements listed include a 2.4 GHz-only 802.11b/g/n network, "The Free Kasa Smart App And Account", and "Must Plug Into GFCI Receptacles If Used Outdoor Or In Wet Locations". Footnote: "Avoid water streams. Do not fully immerge. Place at least 8 inches from the ground" (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • TP-Link Smart Home integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant documents ONE integration covering both TP-Link brands — "your TP-Link Kasa Smart Home Devices and TP-Link Tapo Devices such as cameras, doorbells, chimes, lights, plugs, wall switches, robot vacuums, hubs, and hub-attached devices" — with an IoT class of Local Polling. It states that it "connects locally to the devices without going via the TP-Link cloud. This is different from the native Tapo and Kasa apps which will connect to the devices via the TP-Link cloud if the device has access to the internet", and that devices are polled every 5 seconds with Home Assistant-initiated changes reflected immediately. Supported Kasa plugs include EP10, EP25, HS100, HS103, HS105, HS110, KP100, KP105, KP115, KP125, KP125M and KP401; EP40 and EP40M are listed under Power Strips. Supported Tapo plugs are P100, P105, P110, P110M, P115, P125M, P135 and TP15. Newer Kasa and all Tapo devices "require your TP-Link cloud username and password to authenticate for local access". Energy-monitoring devices create sensors that can feed the Home Assistant energy dashboard; Kasa power-strip child plugs update their energy state only every 60 seconds. Some firmware requires Third-Party Compatibility to be switched on in the vendor app first, and devices on a different subnet to Home Assistant are not auto-discovered (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • Tapo C120 Indoor/Outdoor Wi-Fi Home Security Camera — Specifications — TP-Link — TP-Link's published specs: 2K QHD 4MP, starlight sensor with full-color night vision, 850nm and 940nm IR LEDs to 30 ft, 120° diagonal view, microSD up to 512GB, 2.4GHz Wi-Fi, 96dB siren, IP66 (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • How to view Tapo camera on PC/NAS/NVR via RTSP/ONVIF — TP-Link Support — TP-Link's own RTSP/ONVIF instructions: a separate camera account (6-32 characters) distinct from the Tapo login, the rtsp://username:password@IP/stream1 and /stream2 URL format on port 554, a list of supported models, the statement that RTSP streaming is generally NOT supported on battery- or solar-powered cameras except the hardwired D235, D225 and TD25 when continuously powered, and the warning that Tapo Care cloud storage, local card/hub storage and NAS/NVR/ONVIF recording cannot all be used simultaneously because of limited stream resources (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • Matter — Connectivity Standards Alliance — Official CSA overview of the Matter smart-home interoperability standard (accessed July 20, 2026)

Keep reading