Circuit & Chime

Best Video Doorbells Without a Subscription

Four doorbells whose makers put the no-fee recording in writing. Where the clip lands, which detection is genuinely free, and which ones only record around the clock once they are wired.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we test

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, storage and running cost. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We haven’t lab-tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forSubscriptionPrice
1
eufy Video Doorbell E340 (dual camera)

eufy Video Doorbell E340 (dual camera)

A dual-camera doorbell — one lens on the visitor, one on the doorstep for packages — that records locally with no monthly fee. The clearest no-subscription doorbell here.

Best overall — no card to buyNo fee needed
$99.99 · View on Amazon

$149.9933% off

Price as of October 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Tapo Video Doorbell D225 (2K+)

Tapo Video Doorbell D225 (2K+)

The cheapest doorbell here that gives you the whole no-fee package in writing: a 512GB card slot, 24/7 continuous recording when it is hardwired, and person, pet, vehicle and package detection that TP-Link lists as free rather than as a plan feature.

Cheapest, with free AI detection in writingNo fee needed
$89.99 · View on Amazon

$109.9918% off

Price as of October 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Reolink Battery Video Doorbell (2nd Gen)

Reolink Battery Video Doorbell (2nd Gen)

The one doorbell here with somewhere to put the footage other than the doorbell: a card, a Reolink Home Hub, an NVR or your own FTP server, all of which Reolink states carry no monthly fee. It is also the only pick on dual-band Wi-Fi.

Most places to put the footageNo fee needed
$119.99 · View on Amazon

$149.9920% off

Price as of October 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Aqara Doorbell Camera Hub G410

Aqara Doorbell Camera Hub G410

The only no-fee doorbell here that an Apple household can actually use, and the only one that doubles as a smart home hub — Aqara publishes a Matter controller, a Thread border router and a Zigbee hub inside the indoor chime, which is also where the memory card lives.

Best for Apple HomeNo fee needed
$99.99 · View on Amazon

$144.9931% off

Price as of October 7, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall — no card to buy

eufy Video Doorbell E340 (dual camera)

A dual-camera doorbell — one lens on the visitor, one on the doorstep for packages — that records locally with no monthly fee. The clearest no-subscription doorbell here.

Strengths

  • Genuinely no-fee local recording
  • A second camera watches packages on the ground
  • Wired or rechargeable battery

Trade-offs

  • eufy's past cloud-privacy disclosures (see our review)
  • No Apple Home
  • Setup is fiddlier than Ring's
Key spec2K dual-camera, local, no fee
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageBuilt-in 8GB; expandable with HomeBase
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz
PowerWired or rechargeable battery
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. The dual-camera package view is unusual at this price; add a eufy HomeBase to expand storage.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Cheapest, with free AI detection in writing

Tapo Video Doorbell D225 (2K+)

The cheapest doorbell here that gives you the whole no-fee package in writing: a 512GB card slot, 24/7 continuous recording when it is hardwired, and person, pet, vehicle and package detection that TP-Link lists as free rather than as a plan feature.

Strengths

  • Free person, pet, vehicle and package detection — no plan
  • microSD up to 512GB, and 24/7 continuous recording when hardwired
  • 10000 mAh battery rated up to 8 months, or hardwire it

Trade-offs

  • Continuous recording needs the wired install; on battery it is event-only
  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only
  • No Apple Home
Key spec2K 4MP, 170.6° view, microSD to 512GB
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storagemicroSD up to 512GB (card sold separately)
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz (802.11b/g/n)
Power10000 mAh rechargeable battery (up to 8 months) or hardwired
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. The D225 is one of only three Tapo battery-capable models TP-Link lists as supporting RTSP/ONVIF, and only while continuously powered — which is what makes it the rare battery doorbell that can also feed a local recorder or Home Assistant. TP-Link also warns that cloud storage, card storage and ONVIF recording cannot all run at once.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 6, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best for Apple Home

Aqara Doorbell Camera Hub G410

The only no-fee doorbell here that an Apple household can actually use, and the only one that doubles as a smart home hub — Aqara publishes a Matter controller, a Thread border router and a Zigbee hub inside the indoor chime, which is also where the memory card lives.

Strengths

  • Full HomeKit Secure Video support, plus Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings and Home Assistant
  • The microSD slot is in the indoor chime, not in the doorbell a thief can unscrew
  • Doubles as a Matter controller, Thread border router and Zigbee hub

Trade-offs

  • 24/7 continuous recording only in wired mode
  • Aqara publishes a 1200p maximum resolution when you record through HomeKit Secure Video, below the camera's own 2K
  • No IP rating published for this model
Key spec2K, 175° view, Matter/Thread/Zigbee hub in the chime
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storagemicroSD up to 512GB — slot is inside the indoor chime
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4/5GHz; Thread border router; Zigbee hub; Matter controller
PowerReplaceable batteries (up to 5 months) or wired 12-24V AC/DC
Works withApple Home, Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, Home Assistant

Worth knowing. Aqara publishes a built-in mmWave radar presence sensor alongside the 175° 4:3 lens, and a 95dB speaker in the chime-hub. Continuous recording needs the 12-24V wired supply; on the replaceable batteries it is event-based.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 6, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best video doorbell without a subscription?

The eufy Video Doorbell E340, for most people. It is the only pick here with storage built in — eufy publishes 8GB on the device, rated at around 90 days of video on average use — so there is no memory card to buy and no monthly fee at all. Its dual camera also covers the doorstep as well as the visitor. If you want to spend less, the Tapo D225 is the value answer; if you need Apple Home, the Aqara G410 is the only one here that supports it.

Do any video doorbells work without a monthly fee?

Yes — several, and the makers say so on their own pages. eufy records to 8GB of built-in storage with no fee. TP-Link publishes microSD support to 512GB on the Tapo D225 and lists person, pet, vehicle and package detection as free. Reolink states plainly that there are no monthly fees for local storage and supports a card, its Home Hub, an NVR or FTP. Aqara records to a card in the indoor chime. The doorbells that do need a plan are the cloud-only ones, where there is nowhere else for the clip to go.

Can a video doorbell record 24/7 without a subscription?

Yes, but it has to be wired. TP-Link publishes 24/7 continuous recording on the Tapo D225 when it is hardwired, and Aqara publishes continuous recording on the G410 in wired mode only. On battery, every doorbell in this category records events rather than a continuous stream — that is how the battery lasts months instead of days. If a rolling record matters to you, plan for the wiring before you choose the model.

Do you need a microSD card for a no-subscription doorbell?

For three of the four picks here, yes — TP-Link, Reolink and Aqara all publish microSD support up to 512GB with the card sold separately. The exception is the eufy E340, which has 8GB built in and needs nothing added; eufy also lists HomeBase 2 and HomeBase 3 compatibility if you want more than that. Factor a card into the budget for the others: it is a one-off cost, which is the whole point versus a plan.

Which no-subscription doorbell works with Apple Home?

The Aqara Doorbell Camera Hub G410 is the only one on this page. Aqara publishes full HomeKit Secure Video support plus Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings and Home Assistant. Two caveats worth knowing: Aqara states a 1200p maximum resolution over HomeKit Secure Video, below the camera's own 2K, and HomeKit Secure Video recording is Apple's service rather than Aqara's, so check what your iCloud plan covers. The free local path is the microSD card in the indoor chime.

Will a thief get my footage if they steal the doorbell?

On most doorbells, if the card is in the unit, yes. The Aqara G410 is the exception here by design: Aqara puts the microSD slot in the indoor chime-hub rather than in the doorbell, so the recordings stay inside the house. The eufy E340 keeps its 8GB on the device, but eufy supports pairing it with a HomeBase indoors to hold footage as well. Reolink's option to record to a Home Hub, an NVR or FTP achieves the same thing — get the clip off the doorstep.

Is the Ring doorbell no good without a subscription?

It works, but it does not keep anything. Ring's wired doorbell has no local storage, and Ring's own published specification footnotes that a subscription is required for some features — so with no plan you get live view and alerts but nothing to go back and watch. That is a legitimate product for someone who wants the ecosystem and has priced the plan honestly. It is simply not a no-subscription doorbell, which is why it is not ranked on this page.

Does a no-subscription doorbell still need wiring?

Not to work — all four picks here run on battery. Wiring buys you two things: continuous recording rather than event clips, which TP-Link and Aqara both publish as a wired-only feature, and never charging the battery again. Reolink publishes up to 300 days per charge and TP-Link up to eight months, so battery operation is genuinely practical. Our video doorbell installation guide covers what the existing chime wiring can and cannot do.

Sources

  • Dual Cam Solo Video Doorbell E340 — eufy — eufy's published specs for the E340: 2K, a front-facing camera on people and a downward-facing camera on "the floor in front of your door", 8GB on-device storage eufy rates at around 90 days of video on average use, no monthly fee with local storage, rechargeable removable battery (5-hour charge) or hardwired, 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only, 160° field of view, 16ft color night vision, and compatibility with HomeBase 2 and HomeBase 3 (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • Tapo D225 Video Doorbell — TP-Link — TP-Link's published specs for the D225: 2K 4MP QHD on a 1/2.7" progressive-scan CMOS, 170.6° horizontal and 140.1° vertical field of view, 850nm IR to 33ft plus full-color night vision from built-in spotlights, microSD up to 512GB (sold separately), 24/7 continuous recording when hardwired, a 10000 mAh built-in battery rated up to 8 months, 802.11b/g/n 2.4GHz only, IP66, an indoor chime in the box, and motion, person, pet, vehicle and package detection listed as free AI detection with Tapo Care cloud storage as the paid extra (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • How to view Tapo camera on PC/NAS/NVR via RTSP/ONVIF — TP-Link Support — TP-Link's own RTSP/ONVIF instructions: a separate camera account (6-32 characters) distinct from the Tapo login, the rtsp://username:password@IP/stream1 and /stream2 URL format on port 554, a list of supported models, the statement that RTSP streaming is generally NOT supported on battery- or solar-powered cameras except the hardwired D235, D225 and TD25 when continuously powered, and the warning that Tapo Care cloud storage, local card/hub storage and NAS/NVR/ONVIF recording cannot all be used simultaneously because of limited stream resources (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • Reolink Video Doorbell (2nd Gen) — Reolink — Reolink's published specs: 2048 x 2048 (4MP) at 15fps in a 1:1 head-to-toe view, 180° diagonal / 150° horizontal / 150° vertical field of view, infrared night vision, storage to microSD up to 512GB plus Reolink Home Hub, NVR and FTP with the explicit statement "No Monthly Fees for Local Storage", up to 300 days of battery life based on 5 minutes of recording per day, hardwiring at 8-24V AC / 24V DC in battery mode and 16-24V AC / 24V DC in wired mode, 2.4/5GHz dual-band Wi-Fi, IP65, person/vehicle/animal/package detection, and Alexa support listed as "Coming Soon" (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • Doorbell Camera Hub G410 — Aqara — Aqara's published specs: 2K on a 175° wide-angle 4:3 lens, infrared night vision, a built-in mmWave radar presence sensor, microSD up to 512GB bought separately with the slot in the indoor chime-hub, 24/7 continuous recording in wired mode only, full HomeKit Secure Video support with a stated 1200p maximum resolution over HSV, HomeGuardian cloud backup as a paid subscription, replaceable batteries rated up to 5 months or a 12-24V AC/DC supply for uninterrupted power, 2.4/5GHz dual-band Wi-Fi, a built-in Matter controller plus Aqara Zigbee hub and Thread border router, a 95dB chime speaker, and support for Apple Home, Google Home, Alexa, SmartThings and Home Assistant (RTSP and Matter bridging) (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • Wired Doorbell Pro — Ring Support — Ring's published tech specs for its wired doorbell: hardwired at 16-24 VAC / 24 VDC, 10-40 VA max, 50/60Hz with the explicit note "No halogen or garden-lighting transformers"; a minimum 1 Mbps upload speed with 2 Mbps recommended; 150 degrees horizontal and vertical field of view; 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac dual-band Wi-Fi; 5 to 120 degrees Fahrenheit operating range; package and person detection; and the footnote that a Ring subscription is required for some features (accessed October 5, 2026)
  • Wyze Video Doorbell Pro — Wyze — Wyze's published specs for the Video Doorbell Pro: wired or wire-free installation with screws or a screw-free adhesive plate, two non-removable 3250 mAh rechargeable cells rated at 3-6 months of battery life with normal use, 150 degrees horizontal and vertical field of view, an 80 dB waterproof speaker with simultaneous two-way talk, a dual-band Wi-Fi extender chime included in the box, and the ability to send live video to Echo Show and Google Home displays (accessed October 5, 2026)
  • FTC's Endorsement Guides: What People Are Asking — Federal Trade Commission — FTC guidance on disclosing material connections such as affiliate links (accessed July 20, 2026)

Keep reading