Circuit & Chime

Wyze vs Ring: Which Camera Should You Buy?

One records to a memory card for free and one records nothing at all without a monthly plan. That single published difference decides most of this comparison, and the rest of it is about what you get for the fee.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we test

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, storage and running cost. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We haven’t lab-tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forSubscriptionPrice
1
Wyze Cam v4 (2.5K)

Wyze Cam v4 (2.5K)

A camera that records continuously to a microSD card for free and looks far better than its price suggests. It's the honest starting point for anyone who resents monthly camera fees.

Best if you refuse a monthly feeNo fee needed
$80.96 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Ring Outdoor Cam (Stick Up Cam)

Ring Outdoor Cam (Stick Up Cam)

A flexible, well-supported camera that plugs neatly into the Ring and Alexa world — but it records nothing without a subscription, which is exactly the running cost this site exists to flag.

Best if you are all-in on AlexaPlan for full features
$39.99 · View on Amazon

$79.9950% off

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
TP-Link Tapo C120 (2K+)

TP-Link Tapo C120 (2K+)

A sub-$40 indoor/outdoor camera with a sharp 2K+ sensor and free local storage — the value pick for anyone who just wants a good camera without a plan.

Better than both on sealing and storageNo fee needed
$31.99 · View on Amazon

$39.9920% off

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best if you refuse a monthly fee

Wyze Cam v4 (2.5K)

A camera that records continuously to a microSD card for free and looks far better than its price suggests. It's the honest starting point for anyone who resents monthly camera fees.

Strengths

  • Records to a microSD card with no subscription
  • 2.5K is genuinely sharp for the money
  • Small and easy to place indoors or under an eave

Trade-offs

  • Wired USB power only — you'll be near an outlet
  • Cloud AI (person/package) nudges you toward paid Cam Plus
  • Wyze's track record on security incidents is mixed
Key spec2.5K, microSD recording
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storagemicroSD up to 256GB
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz
PowerWired (USB)
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. The v4 needs USB power, so it isn't a wire-free outdoor camera. For fully wireless, look at the battery picks.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best if you are all-in on Alexa

Ring Outdoor Cam (Stick Up Cam)

A flexible, well-supported camera that plugs neatly into the Ring and Alexa world — but it records nothing without a subscription, which is exactly the running cost this site exists to flag.

Strengths

  • Polished app and reliable notifications
  • Deep Ring + Alexa ecosystem
  • Flexible mounting, wired or battery depending on model

Trade-offs

  • No local storage at all — recorded clips require a Ring Protect plan
  • Ecosystem is Amazon/Alexa-centric
  • Value erodes once you add the monthly fee
Key spec1080p, indoor/outdoor
SubscriptionYes — plan required for core features
Local storageNone (cloud only)
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz (dual-band on the Outdoor Cam Plus)
PowerWired or battery (model-dependent)
Works withAlexa

Worth knowing. Owned by Amazon; footage lives in Amazon's cloud. If you want recordings without a monthly bill, this isn't the line to buy into.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 8, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Better than both on sealing and storage

TP-Link Tapo C120 (2K+)

A sub-$40 indoor/outdoor camera with a sharp 2K+ sensor and free local storage — the value pick for anyone who just wants a good camera without a plan.

Strengths

  • Very cheap for a 2K+ sensor
  • Free local microSD recording
  • IP66-rated, so the same camera works indoors or out

Trade-offs

  • Wired power
  • A TP-Link cloud account is needed for setup
  • No battery option
Key spec2K+ QHD, wired
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storagemicroSD up to 512GB
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz (TP-Link lists 802.11b/g/n only)
PowerWired
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. A strong first camera; add a microSD card and you'll never face a subscription prompt you have to act on.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

Is Wyze or Ring better?

For most buyers, Wyze — because the Wyze Cam v4 records 24/7 to a microSD card with no fee, publishes a sharper 2.5K sensor than Ring's 1080p, and costs less. Ring is the better buy in three specific cases: you need battery or solar power where the Wyze cannot reach an outlet, you are already deep in the Echo and Alexa ecosystem, or you want the professional monitoring that Ring's top plan includes and Wyze does not offer.

Does a Ring camera work without a subscription?

It works, but it does not record. Ring's own list of what you get with no plan covers Live View, motion alerts, two-way talk, motion zones and Alexa. Cloud video history, snapshots and person detection are what a plan adds, and the Outdoor Cam has no local storage option at all — so with no plan there is nothing to go back and watch.

Does a Wyze camera work without a subscription?

Yes, fully. Wyze states that every Wyze Cam has a microSD slot, that you can choose Continuous or Events Only recording, and that local storage is free. The Cam v4 takes a card up to 256GB. Cam Plus is a paid extra that adds cloud event clips and smarter person and package detection, but the camera records without it.

Which has better night vision, Wyze or Ring?

Wyze publishes more. The Cam v4 lists four 850nm infrared LEDs, two spotlight LEDs at 72 lumens and a starlight sensor for color low-light video. Ring publishes infrared night vision plus Color Night Vision, which its support pages describe as adding color 'in low light' rather than in darkness, but does not publish an LED count or an infrared range. On published specifications the Wyze is ahead; neither has been lab-tested by us.

Can a Wyze camera run on battery like a Ring?

Not the Cam v4 — Wyze lists it as wired USB only, so it needs an outlet. Ring publishes battery, plug-in and solar options for its Outdoor Cam, which is a genuine advantage for a spot with no power. If wire-free is the requirement, compare dedicated battery cameras instead: our wireless and battery camera ranking covers the ones built for it.

Is Ring worth the monthly fee?

It is if you want what the fee buys and you have priced it honestly over several years. Ring publishes up to 180 days of video history, person, package and vehicle alerts, and 24/7 professional monitoring on its top tier. That last one is a real service no card-based camera provides. What is not worth it is paying a monthly fee purely to keep clips, when a camera with a memory card does that for nothing.

Which is better for a renter, Wyze or Ring?

Usually Wyze indoors, because it is cheap, needs no drilling if there is a shelf and a socket, and keeps footage on a card rather than in an account you are renting. Ring's advantage — battery and solar mounting outdoors — matters less when you cannot drill into the building anyway. Our smart home for renters guide covers the no-drill options across every category.

Sources

Keep reading