Arlo Pro 2K (6th Gen) Review
On paper this is the most complete wire-free camera in its class: 2K HDR, a 160-degree view, a spotlight and siren built in, dual-band Wi-Fi, and support for Apple Home alongside Alexa, Google and SmartThings. The question this review exists to answer is what happens when the included trial ends — because Arlo's own documentation is unusually clear about it.
How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.
Our verdict — The premium subscription camera, if you accept the plan
Arlo Pro Security Camera 2K (6th Gen)
The most complete wire-free camera spec sheet at this price — 2K HDR, a 160-degree view, spotlight, siren, dual-band Wi-Fi and every major ecosystem including Apple Home. The catch is the one this site exists to flag: without an Arlo Secure plan it is a live-view camera, and Arlo's own documentation says local storage on a SmartHub is a backup to the cloud, not a substitute for it.
Strengths
- 2K HDR with a 160-degree diagonal field of view and 12x digital zoom
- Integrated spotlight, siren, color night vision and two-way audio
- Works with Apple Home as well as Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings
Trade-offs
- Without an Arlo Secure plan you get live streaming and two-way audio — recorded history needs the subscription
- Local storage requires a separate SmartHub and Arlo says it cannot replace cloud recording
- Person, vehicle, animal and package detection are plan features, not camera features
| Key spec | 2K HDR, 160° view, spotlight |
|---|---|
| Subscription | Yes — plan required for core features |
| Local storage | Backup only, via a separate SmartHub (USB or microSD) |
| Connectivity | Wi-Fi 2.4GHz and 5GHz, or via an optional Arlo SmartHub |
| Power | Removable rechargeable battery (USB-C); solar panel sold separately |
| Works with | Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home, SmartThings, IFTTT |
Specs read from the product listing, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.
Who the Arlo Pro (6th Gen) is for
The Arlo Pro is for the household that has already decided a monthly camera plan is acceptable and now wants the best wire-free hardware that plan can buy. That is a real and sizeable group. Plenty of people are perfectly comfortable paying for cloud history the same way they pay for a streaming service, and for them the question is not “how do I avoid the fee” but “what do I get for it.” On that question Arlo has a strong answer: a 2K HDR sensor, a 160-degree diagonal view, an integrated spotlight and siren, color night vision, dual-band Wi-Fi and, unusually for this category, published support for Apple Home.
It suits the Apple household especially well, because the field of battery cameras that Apple’s Home app can see is thin. It suits anyone who wants one camera to cover a wide area — a driveway and front path together, say — rather than two narrower ones. And it suits people who value a polished app with AI that distinguishes a person from a passing cat, provided they understand that the AI is a plan feature rather than a camera feature.
Who it is not for: anyone who came to this site because they resent camera subscriptions. We will spell out exactly why below, using Arlo’s own words rather than ours, but the short version is that a Pro 6 with no plan is a live-view camera. If that describes you, the eufyCam S330 or the Reolink Argus PT Ultra will make you happier for longer.
What it gets right
Start with the picture. Arlo’s spec sheet lists up to 2K (2560 x 1440) with HDR, in both H.264 and H.265, and a 160-degree diagonal field of view with 12x digital zoom. That combination matters more than either number alone: a very wide lens without HDR tends to blow out the bright sky and lose the shaded porch, and a wide lens without enough resolution turns a face at the far end of the frame into a smudge. Having both is what lets one camera plausibly cover a wide front yard.
Night is handled two ways. There are dual 850nm infrared LEDs rated to 25 feet for a conventional black-and-white image, and there is an integrated spotlight that enables color night vision when it is lit. The spotlight doubles as a deterrent, and it is joined by a built-in siren— two features that on many rival cameras are either absent or sold as a separate floodlight model. Audio is two-way with dual microphones and Arlo lists echo cancellation, wind reduction and noise reduction, which is the kind of detail a brand only publishes when it has put engineering into it.
Connectivity is the third strength. The camera joins 2.4GHz or 5GHz Wi-Fi directly, with a published line-of-sight range of 300 feet and a stated requirement of 2 Mbps upload per camera, or it can connect through an optional Arlo SmartHub instead. Most battery cameras are 2.4GHz-only, so the 5GHz option is a real advantage in a crowded apartment building or a home with a congested 2.4GHz band. The works-with list — Alexa, Apple Home, Google Home, IFTTT and SmartThings— is the broadest of any camera in our registry.
Finally, the practical stuff. The battery is removable and rechargeable over USB-C, so you can keep a spare charged and swap it rather than taking the camera down. A solar panel and an outdoor USB-C charging cable are sold separately for spots where you never want to touch it. The operating range is a published -4°F to 113°F, and Arlo rates it weather-resistant for indoor and outdoor use. The box contains the camera, a standard mount, the USB-C cable and a quick-start guide.
Where it falls short
The first shortfall is one of omission, and we would rather flag it than paper over it: Arlo does not publish a battery-life figure on the Pro 6 spec sheet. The only statement is “up to 15% longer battery life compared to previous generation,” with the usual caveat that actual life varies with settings, usage and temperature. Fifteen percent longer than an unstated number is not something we can turn into months for you, so we have not. Compare that with Blink, which puts a two-year figure on the Outdoor 4, and you can see why the omission is worth noting.
The second is that no IP rating appears in the documentation. “Weather-resistant” and a published temperature range are reassuring, but an IP65 or IP67 figure would tell you exactly how much rain and dust the housing is certified against. Arlo does not give one for this model, so our registry records it as not published.
The third, and by far the biggest, is the running cost. The AI detection that makes the notifications useful — person, vehicle, animal and package — is explicitly marked on Arlo’s spec sheet as requiring an Arlo Secure plan, as is the One Tap Emergency Response feature. A camera that alerts you to every leaf is a camera you mute within a week; the thing that stops that happening is the subscription. The camera ships with a trial of the Arlo Secure Early Warning System plan — Arlo does not state its length on the spec sheet — and the effect of any trial is the same: you get used to the features, and going without them afterwards feels like a downgrade.
What you get with and without a plan
We built this table from two Arlo documents: the Pro 6 spec sheet and Arlo’s United States subscription-plan article, both read on September 15, 2026. Where Arlo does not state something we have said so. Plan prices are deliberately absent — Arlo’s tiers and pricing change, and the only numbers on this page are the live product prices from our pipeline.
| No plan | With Arlo Secure | |
|---|---|---|
| Live streaming | Yes | Yes |
| Two-way audio | Yes | Yes |
| Video history (recorded clips) | Not without a plan | Yes — 60-day history on Smart Aware |
| Person / vehicle / animal / package detection | No — plan required | Yes |
| Activity zones | Not stated as free | Yes |
| Emergency response | No — plan required (US) | Yes |
| 24/7 professional monitoring | No | Smart Secure tier and up |
| Local recording to a SmartHub | Backup only — Arlo says not a substitute for cloud | Backup alongside the cloud |
The tier structure, per Arlo’s article, runs Smart Aware (single camera or unlimited cameras; 60-day video history, Arlo Summary, activity zones and advanced detection), then Smart Secure (unlimited cameras, adding 24/7 professional monitoring, emergency response, Arlo Safe and threat assessment), then Ultra Secure (adding 30-day continuous recording for up to three cameras). Arlo also states plainly that you can “choose not to have a service plan and still have access to live streaming and two-way audio.” That sentence is the whole story of this camera without a subscription.
The SmartHub question
Whenever we write about a cloud camera, the first reader question is whether a local-storage box gets around the fee. With Arlo the honest answer is not according to Arlo. The Pro 6 can connect through a SmartHub, and Arlo’s spec sheet says a SmartHub “supports local storage.” The Pro SmartHub (VMB4540) takes a USB Type-A flash drive or hard drive up to 2TB with at least 16GB free; the VMB5000 SmartHub takes a microSD card. Automatically triggered recordings are saved to that drive, and if your internet connection drops, the camera keeps recording to it.
But Arlo’s own local-storage support article, updated the day we read it, says two things that decide the matter. First: “All Arlo video recordings are stored to the cloud, but you can connect a USB device or microSD card… as a second location.” Second: “Local storage to a USB device or microSD card cannot be used on its own as a substitute for cloud recording.” Manual recordings go only to the cloud. You will find forum posts describing people using a hub to record without a plan; we have not tested that, Arlo does not endorse it, and we will not build a recommendation on it. Our registry therefore records the Pro 6’s local storage as “backup only.”
So why list the SmartHub at all? Because it is genuinely useful for the buyer who has accepted the plan. It gives you a second copy of every motion clip in your own house, it keeps recording through an internet outage, Arlo says it helps manage Wi-Fi traffic and may improve battery life, and it puts the cameras on their own private network. Buy it for resilience, not as an escape hatch.
The camera
Arlo Pro Security Camera 2K (6th Gen)
Price as of September 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded
Optional local backup
Arlo Pro SmartHub (VMB4540)
Price as of September 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded
Where it sits against eufy, Ring and Reolink
Three cameras frame the decision. The eufyCam S330 is the no-fee counterpart at a similar level of ambition: 4K, integrated solar, and footage that lives on a HomeBase in your home with no monthly cost. Its Apple Home support is limited and its kit price is higher up front, but over five years it never sends you a bill. The Ring Outdoor Cam is the other famous subscription camera; it is cheaper, its base model is 1080p and 2.4GHz-only, it is Alexa-only, and there is no local storage on the camera at all. The Reolink Argus PT Ultra is the value play: 4K pan-and-tilt to a microSD card with no fee, at the cost of a less polished app and narrower smart-home integration.
Put plainly: the Arlo has the best ecosystem reach and the most complete feature list of the four, and it is the only one that speaks to Apple Home. It is also the one whose usefulness depends most on a plan. If you would rank “never pay monthly” above “works with my iPhone’s Home app,” the eufy or Reolink wins. If you rank them the other way, the Arlo does. Our wireless camera roundup and the eufy vs Ring comparison lay the same trade-off out across the whole field.
The running-cost reality
This site ranks cameras on what they cost over five years, not on the sticker. The Arlo Pro 6 is a mid-priced camera up front, and then it is a plan. Arlo sells that plan for a single camera or unlimited cameras, across three tiers, and the tier you land on is the number that dominates the total. We are not going to print those prices here because they move; check Arlo’s current plan page before you buy and multiply by sixty months. Then compare that total with a local-storage camera whose five-year cost is its purchase price and a memory card.
None of this makes the Arlo a bad product. It makes it a product whose true price is not on the box, which is the single most common way people end up disappointed with a camera. Go in knowing that, budget for the plan as part of the purchase, and it is an excellent camera. Go in thinking the trial is the product, and the month it ends will feel like the camera got worse.
Whatever you decide, treat the account like the front-door key it is. A strong, unique password and two-factor authentication are the minimum for any camera that streams to the cloud, per the FTC’s guidance on home security cameras, and our device security guide walks through the rest.
The verdict
The Arlo Pro 2K (6th Gen) is the best-specified wire-free camera we list, and the one most dependent on a subscription. Both halves of that sentence are true and neither cancels the other. If you are an Apple household, or you want a wide 2K HDR view with a spotlight and siren in one unit and you are content to pay for cloud history and smart alerts, buy it with a clear conscience — and consider the SmartHub as a backup copy, not a loophole. If you came here to stop paying camera companies every month, Arlo has told you in its own documentation that this is not that camera, and we would rather you heard it before checkout. The eufyCam S330 review is the natural next read for that buyer, and our subscription-free cameras guide explains the storage distinction that separates the two camps.
General guidance, not professional security advice. Circuit & Chime is written by a smart-home enthusiast, not a licensed installer or security professional. For a home with specific risks, or for life-safety devices like smoke and CO alarms, follow the manufacturer’s instructions and, where it matters, a qualified installer.
Frequently asked questions
Does the Arlo Pro (6th Gen) work without a subscription?
Partly. Arlo's plan page says that without a service plan you still have access to live streaming and two-way audio. Video history — the recorded clips you scroll back through — and the AI detection (person, vehicle, animal, package) are Arlo Secure features. So the camera works as a live-view camera with no plan, but it does not keep a history you can review unless you subscribe.
Can I record Arlo Pro 6 footage locally instead of paying for Arlo Secure?
Only as a backup, according to Arlo. The camera can pair with a separate Arlo SmartHub, which takes a USB drive (or a microSD card on the VMB5000 model) and saves automatically triggered recordings to it. But Arlo's own support article states that local storage cannot be used on its own as a substitute for cloud recording, and that manual recordings save only to the cloud. We take Arlo at its word rather than promising a workaround.
How long does the Arlo Pro 6 battery last?
Arlo does not publish a month figure on the spec sheet. It states the battery lasts up to 15% longer than the previous generation and that actual life varies with settings, usage and temperature. The battery is removable and charges over USB-C; a solar panel and an outdoor charging cable are sold separately.
Does the Arlo Pro 6 work with Apple Home?
Yes. Arlo's spec sheet lists Amazon Alexa, Apple Home, Google Home, IFTTT and Samsung SmartThings. That Apple Home listing is rarer than it sounds in the wire-free camera field — Ring and Blink do not offer it, and eufy's support is limited — so it is a genuine reason to shortlist the Arlo if you run an Apple household.
Is the Arlo Pro 6 better than the eufyCam S330?
It depends entirely on how you feel about a monthly fee. The Arlo has the broader spec sheet — 2K HDR, spotlight, siren, five ecosystems — and a more polished, subscription-funded app experience. The eufyCam S330 records to its HomeBase with no plan, runs on solar, and shoots 4K. If you want the camera to do its whole job with nothing recurring, the eufy is the answer; if you are happy to pay for cloud history and AI alerts and want Apple Home, the Arlo is.
Sources
- Arlo Pro Security Camera 2K (6th Gen) Spec Sheet (VMC4070) — Arlo Support — Arlo's published specifications: 2K HDR, 160° FOV, night vision, battery, Wi-Fi bands, SmartHub compatibility, operating range, in-box contents (accessed September 15, 2026)
- What Arlo subscription plans and cloud recording options are available? (United States) — Arlo Support — Arlo's plan tiers (Smart Aware, Smart Secure, Ultra Secure) and the statement that without a plan you keep live streaming and two-way audio (accessed September 15, 2026)
- How do I enable or disable local storage for my Arlo SmartHub or Base Station? — Arlo Support — Arlo's statement that local storage is a second location for recordings and cannot be used on its own as a substitute for cloud recording; only automatically triggered recordings save locally (accessed September 15, 2026)
- Arlo Pro SmartHub VMB4540 Spec Sheet — Arlo Support — SmartHub compatibility list (includes the Pro 2K 6th Gen), USB Type-A local storage up to 2TB, Ethernet connection, current-product status (accessed September 15, 2026)
- How To Secure Your Home Security Cameras — FTC Consumer Advice — FTC consumer guidance on home security-camera privacy and account security (accessed July 20, 2026)
Keep reading
Best wireless & battery cameras
Where a battery camera like this lands against eufyCam, Reolink, Blink and Ring, ranked on power, storage and fee.
See all the picksNo-subscription cameras
If the plan is the dealbreaker, the cameras that record locally with no extra hardware and no monthly bill.
See the no-fee pickseufyCam S330 review
The no-fee alternative at a similar level of hardware: 4K, solar, and footage that lives on a HomeBase in your house.
Read the reviewRing Outdoor Cam review
The other well-known subscription camera, and how its plan structure compares to Arlo's.
Read the review