Circuit & Chime

Best Smart Light Bulbs for Home Assistant

Four bulbs, four different routes into Home Assistant — and Home Assistant publishes the IoT class of every one of them. Ranked on which bulbs answer instantly and locally, and which need a cloud password first.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we test

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, storage and running cost. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We haven’t lab-tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forSubscriptionPrice
1
Philips Hue Essential Starter Kit (Bridge + 4 bulbs)

Philips Hue Essential Starter Kit (Bridge + 4 bulbs)

The gold standard for smart lighting: rock-solid Zigbee bulbs on the Hue Bridge, which now speaks Matter so the whole system plugs into any ecosystem. Pricey, but nothing else is this reliable.

Best overall: Local Push, scenes and sensorsNo fee needed
$99.99 · View on Amazon

$119.9917% off

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
TP-Link Tapo L535E Multicolor Bulb (4-pack)

TP-Link Tapo L535E Multicolor Bulb (4-pack)

The most light for the money in a bulb you can put in any ecosystem: Matter-certified, so Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings can all carry it, and brighter on paper than anything else here at 1100 lumens. A four-pack does a whole room without a bridge in the loop.

Best value, and it joins over MatterNo fee needed
$44.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Light Bulb Multicolor (KL135)

Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Light Bulb Multicolor (KL135)

Usually the cheapest single color bulb worth buying, from a brand with a long Wi-Fi track record. The catch is the one that decides it: Kasa lists Alexa and Google Assistant only, with no Matter and no Apple Home, so it is a fine bulb in the wrong half of the ecosystem question.

The bulb on Home Assistant's own TP-Link listNo fee needed
$16.74 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Govee Smart Light Bulb A19 Multicolor (H6008, single)

Govee Smart Light Bulb A19 Multicolor (H6008, single)

The sane way to try smart lighting on exactly one lamp. It is sold as a single bulb rather than a multipack, the listing publishes Matter alongside Alexa and Google so it is not stranded in one app, and if you decide the whole idea is not for you, you have spent the price of a takeout coffee round.

Best single bulb with a local-API integrationNo fee needed
$13.99 · View on Amazon

$14.997% off

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall: Local Push, scenes and sensors

Philips Hue Essential Starter Kit (Bridge + 4 bulbs)

The gold standard for smart lighting: rock-solid Zigbee bulbs on the Hue Bridge, which now speaks Matter so the whole system plugs into any ecosystem. Pricey, but nothing else is this reliable.

Strengths

  • The most reliable smart bulbs, full stop
  • The Bridge adds Matter and works with every ecosystem
  • A huge range of bulbs and fixtures to expand into

Trade-offs

  • Expensive versus Wi-Fi bulbs
  • The Bridge is another box to power
  • Full color costs more than white-only
Key specBridge + 4 color bulbs (Zigbee)
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityZigbee (via Hue Bridge); Matter
PowerStandard bulb sockets
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home, SmartThings, Matter

Worth knowing. The Bridge (Zigbee) keeps your Wi-Fi uncluttered and is why Hue stays responsive at scale — see the compatibility matrix.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best value, and it joins over Matter

TP-Link Tapo L535E Multicolor Bulb (4-pack)

The most light for the money in a bulb you can put in any ecosystem: Matter-certified, so Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings can all carry it, and brighter on paper than anything else here at 1100 lumens. A four-pack does a whole room without a bridge in the loop.

Strengths

  • Matter-certified — one bulb that any of the four big ecosystems can add
  • 1100 lm published, the brightest bulb in this roundup
  • Four bulbs per box, so a room costs about what one premium bulb does

Trade-offs

  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only — it will not join a 5GHz network
  • Matter still needs a Matter controller in the house (an Echo, HomePod, Nest or SmartThings hub) before Apple Home or Google Home can add it
  • TP-Link says not to fit it behind a dimmer switch, and any bulb is dead when someone flips the wall switch off
Key specMatter color bulb, 1100 lm, 4-pack
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz; Matter
PowerStandard E26 socket
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home, SmartThings, Matter

Worth knowing. TP-Link's US listing states A19/E26, 1100 lm and Matter certification. TP-Link's own L535E specification adds 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only (Bluetooth for setup), a 2500-6500K tunable white range, a 220-degree beam, a 25,000-hour rated life, and an explicit instruction not to use it with a dimmer.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 1, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3The bulb on Home Assistant's own TP-Link list

Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Light Bulb Multicolor (KL135)

Usually the cheapest single color bulb worth buying, from a brand with a long Wi-Fi track record. The catch is the one that decides it: Kasa lists Alexa and Google Assistant only, with no Matter and no Apple Home, so it is a fine bulb in the wrong half of the ecosystem question.

Strengths

  • 1000 lm published and dimmable down to 20 lm, a wider range than most cheap bulbs
  • No hub or bridge — it joins your Wi-Fi and it is done
  • Kasa has been shipping this line for years, which is more than most bargain bulbs can say

Trade-offs

  • No Matter and no Apple Home — TP-Link lists Alexa and Google Assistant only
  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only, and every bulb is another device on the router
  • Sold as a single bulb, so a whole room costs more than a Matter four-pack
Key spec1000 lm color bulb, no hub
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz
PowerStandard E26 socket
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. Kasa's product page states 1000 lumens (60W equivalent) with a 20 lm to 1000 lm dimming range and 16 million colors, and lists Amazon Alexa or Google Assistant for voice. No Matter or Apple Home support appears in TP-Link's published compatibility for this bulb.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 1, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best single bulb with a local-API integration

Govee Smart Light Bulb A19 Multicolor (H6008, single)

The sane way to try smart lighting on exactly one lamp. It is sold as a single bulb rather than a multipack, the listing publishes Matter alongside Alexa and Google so it is not stranded in one app, and if you decide the whole idea is not for you, you have spent the price of a takeout coffee round.

Strengths

  • Sold as one bulb — no four-pack commitment to find out whether you like it
  • Publishes Matter support, so it is not locked to a single ecosystem the way a cheap brand-app bulb is
  • 800 lm and a published 2700-6500K white range, a normal 60W-equivalent lamp bulb

Trade-offs

  • Per bulb it costs more than a multipack, so it is the wrong way to do a whole room
  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only — Govee states on the listing that it does not support 5GHz
  • Like every Matter bulb here, it needs a Matter controller already in the house before Apple Home or Google Home can add it
Key specMatter color bulb, 800 lm, single
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz and Bluetooth; Matter
PowerStandard E26 socket
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home, SmartThings, Matter

Worth knowing. The listing states A19/E26, 800 lm, 9W, RGBWW with 16 million colors and 54 scene modes, a 2700-6500K white range, CRI 80, Wi-Fi plus Bluetooth, and "Works with Matter" alongside Alexa and Google Assistant, sold as a 1-pack (model H6008). Amazon's product-details table lists Apple HomeKit, Siri and SmartThings among its controllers. Govee's own notes on the listing add that it does not support 5GHz Wi-Fi and that it should not be used with smart switches.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 16, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best smart bulb for Home Assistant?

The Philips Hue Essential Starter Kit. Home Assistant documents the Hue integration as Local Push, auto-discovered, exposing the bulbs plus Hue motion, temperature and light-level sensors, and importing Hue app scenes automatically as scene entities. The bulbs run Zigbee to a Bridge on your own Ethernet, so nothing depends on the internet. The trade-off is price and the extra box; if neither suits, the Matter-certified Tapo L535E four-pack is the value answer.

Is the Tapo L535E supported in Home Assistant?

Not by the TP-Link integration — its supported Tapo bulbs are listed as L510B, L510E, L530E and L630. The L535E gets in over Matter instead, which Home Assistant classes as Local Push and describes as running locally with no internet or cloud services needed for device control. In practice that is the better route anyway: no vendor integration, no five-second poll.

Which Kasa bulbs does Home Assistant support?

Home Assistant's TP-Link integration page lists supported Kasa bulbs as KL110, KL120, KL125, KL130, KL135, KL50, KL60 and LB110, with light strips KL400L5, KL420L5 and KL430 listed separately. The integration's IoT class is Local Polling on a five-second cycle, and Home Assistant notes that newer Kasa devices require your TP-Link cloud username and password to authenticate for local access.

Do I need the Hue Bridge for Home Assistant?

Yes, for the integration described here — Home Assistant's Hue integration controls the lights and sensors connected to your Hue Bridge. Philips Hue's own FAQ sets out why the Bridge matters beyond Home Assistant: Bluetooth control is local-only, around ten metres and up to ten lights, while the Bridge adds out-of-home access, full automations and a 50-light capacity. If you want Hue bulbs without a Bridge, you are buying a Bluetooth lamp, not a smart lighting system.

Does Govee work locally with Home Assistant?

Yes, through the Govee lights local integration, which Home Assistant documents with an IoT class of Local Push and describes as integrating Govee lights 'using Local API control'. Its published supported-device list includes model H6008, the A19 multicolour bulb. The catch is a setting rather than a purchase: local control has to be enabled on the device first, following Govee's own instructions, or you end up on the cloud route instead.

Will these bulbs work if my internet is down?

Every pick here is local, so yes for control from Home Assistant. Hue bulbs run Zigbee to a Bridge on your LAN; Matter devices are local by design per Home Assistant's own Matter documentation; the TP-Link integration connects locally to the device rather than via the TP-Link cloud. The nuance is authentication: Home Assistant states that newer Kasa and all Tapo devices need your TP-Link cloud username and password to authenticate for local access, so set that up before you need it.

Why does Home Assistant recommend using Hue scenes instead of individual lights?

Because of how the commands are sent. Home Assistant's Hue page states that a Hue scene 'sends commands to all lights at once in an optimized way', while controlling several lights individually sends each command one by one — the cause of that staggered, domino-run switch-on people complain about. Build the scene in the Hue app, then call it from Home Assistant. You cannot create or edit Hue scenes from Home Assistant; that is explicitly unsupported.

Are smart bulbs or smart switches better for Home Assistant?

Bulbs are better for colour and for renting; switches are better for lights everybody in the house uses. The deciding fact is unglamorous: a bulb has no power when the wall switch is off, no matter how good your automations are. Most settled Home Assistant setups end up with bulbs in lamps and accent fittings, and a switch or plug controlling anything where someone will reach for the wall out of habit.

Sources

  • Philips Hue integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant documents the Philips Hue integration with an IoT class of Local Push. It controls and monitors "the lights and sensors connected to your Hue bridge", supports lights, motion sensors (including temperature and light-level sensors) and remotes/switches as device triggers plus battery sensors, is auto-discovered on the network, and automatically creates (but disables by default) grouped light entities for each Hue room and zone. Hue scenes created in the Hue app are imported automatically as scene entities, while creating or editing Hue scenes from Home Assistant is explicitly not supported; Home Assistant recommends using a Hue scene when controlling several lights at once because "a Hue scene sends commands to all lights at once in an optimized way" whereas controlling lights individually sends each command one by one. The page also documents separate handling for legacy V1 (round) and V2 (square) bridges, with a Scene select entity per room and zone on V2 bridges (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • Matter integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant documents the Matter integration's IoT class as Local Push and states that "Matter products run locally and always allow local control, with device control done without the need for any internet connection or cloud services", while noting that "some vendors may require you to set up an account before you can enable Matter support for some products". Home Assistant acts as a Matter controller and runs its own Matter Server app; Matter devices communicate over IPv6 on the existing LAN (Wi-Fi or Ethernet) or over Thread (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • TP-Link Smart Home integration — supported bulbs — Home Assistant — The supported-device lists on Home Assistant's TP-Link integration page, read on this date for bulbs specifically. Supported Kasa bulbs: "KL110, KL120, KL125, KL130, KL135, KL50, KL60, LB110", with Kasa light strips listed separately as KL400L5, KL420L5 and KL430. Supported Tapo bulbs: "L510B, L510E, L530E, L630", with Tapo light strips L900-5, L900-10, L920-5 and L930-5 — the Tapo L535E does NOT appear on the list, and the page notes that "Tapo devices require authentication". The integration's IoT class remains Local Polling (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • TP-Link Smart Home integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant documents ONE integration covering both TP-Link brands — "your TP-Link Kasa Smart Home Devices and TP-Link Tapo Devices such as cameras, doorbells, chimes, lights, plugs, wall switches, robot vacuums, hubs, and hub-attached devices" — with an IoT class of Local Polling. It states that it "connects locally to the devices without going via the TP-Link cloud. This is different from the native Tapo and Kasa apps which will connect to the devices via the TP-Link cloud if the device has access to the internet", and that devices are polled every 5 seconds with Home Assistant-initiated changes reflected immediately. Supported Kasa plugs include EP10, EP25, HS100, HS103, HS105, HS110, KP100, KP105, KP115, KP125, KP125M and KP401; EP40 and EP40M are listed under Power Strips. Supported Tapo plugs are P100, P105, P110, P110M, P115, P125M, P135 and TP15. Newer Kasa and all Tapo devices "require your TP-Link cloud username and password to authenticate for local access". Energy-monitoring devices create sensors that can feed the Home Assistant energy dashboard; Kasa power-strip child plugs update their energy state only every 60 seconds. Some firmware requires Third-Party Compatibility to be switched on in the vendor app first, and devices on a different subnet to Home Assistant are not auto-discovered (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • Govee lights local integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant documents a second, separate Govee integration — "Govee lights local" — with an IoT class of Local Push, which "integrates Govee lights into Home Assistant using Local API control" and requires local control to be enabled on the device first via Govee's own instructions. Its published list of supported devices includes model H6008, the Govee A19 multicolor bulb, alongside H6004, H6006, H600A and a long list of other Govee lights and strips (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • Hue Bridge buying guide — Philips Hue — Philips Hue's description of Zigbee as a dedicated low-power network rather than Wi-Fi, the Bridge's Ethernet connection to the router, and the 50-light capacity of the standard Bridge (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • How to connect Philips Hue without a Bridge? — Philips Hue — Philips Hue's comparison of Bluetooth control (local only, about 10 meters, up to 10 lights) with Bridge control (out-of-home access, full automations, up to 50 lights) (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Learn About LED Lighting — ENERGY STAR — ENERGY STAR/EPA on LED efficiency versus incandescent and how LED lifetime is rated (accessed September 1, 2026)

Keep reading