Circuit & Chime

Best Smart Home Devices for Apple Home

Apple sets two rules before you buy anything: a home hub is mandatory for Matter accessories, and Thread accessories need a Thread-capable hub. Get those right and the Home app is the calmest ecosystem there is.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we test

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, storage and running cost. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We haven’t lab-tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forSubscriptionPrice
1
Apple HomePod mini

Apple HomePod mini

The way into Apple Home: a good little speaker that doubles as a Home hub and a Thread border router. If your household is on iPhones and you value privacy, start here rather than with Alexa.

Buy first: the home hub Apple requiresNo fee needed
$141.77 · View on Amazon

$149.005% off

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Philips Hue Essential Starter Kit (Bridge + 4 bulbs)

Philips Hue Essential Starter Kit (Bridge + 4 bulbs)

The gold standard for smart lighting: rock-solid Zigbee bulbs on the Hue Bridge, which now speaks Matter so the whole system plugs into any ecosystem. Pricey, but nothing else is this reliable.

Best lighting for the Home appNo fee needed
$99.99 · View on Amazon

$119.9917% off

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Schlage Encode Plus (Wi-Fi + Home Key)

Schlage Encode Plus (Wi-Fi + Home Key)

The most solid-feeling lock here and one of the few with Apple Home Key — tap your iPhone or Watch to unlock. Built-in Wi-Fi and a real ANSI Grade 1 deadbolt underneath.

Best front door: Apple home keysNo fee needed
$278.00 · View on Amazon

$329.9916% off

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
TP-Link Tapo P110M (4-pack)

TP-Link Tapo P110M (4-pack)

The plug that stops the ecosystem question mattering: it's Matter-certified, so it joins Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings without a brand bridge, and TP-Link publishes real-time and historical energy tracking on top. In a four-pack it's the quickest way to put a whole room's worth of appliances on a schedule.

Best plug, with energy figures in the appNo fee needed
$31.99 · View on Amazon

$35.9911% off

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Aqara Doorbell Camera Hub G410

Aqara Doorbell Camera Hub G410

The only no-fee doorbell here that an Apple household can actually use, and the only one that doubles as a smart home hub — Aqara publishes a Matter controller, a Thread border router and a Zigbee hub inside the indoor chime, which is also where the memory card lives.

Best doorbell: HomeKit Secure Video, card storageNo fee needed
$133.99 · View on Amazon

$144.998% off

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Buy first: the home hub Apple requires

Apple HomePod mini

The way into Apple Home: a good little speaker that doubles as a Home hub and a Thread border router. If your household is on iPhones and you value privacy, start here rather than with Alexa.

Strengths

  • Acts as an Apple Home hub and a Thread router
  • Genuinely good sound for the size
  • Apple's stronger privacy stance

Trade-offs

  • Apple-only ecosystem
  • Pricier than an Echo Dot
  • Fewer compatible devices than Alexa or Google
Key specApple Home hub + speaker; Thread router
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityWi-Fi; Thread border router
PowerWired
Works withApple Home, Matter

Worth knowing. Needed for remote access and automations in Apple Home; read the ecosystems guide before committing. Stock note: Amazon currently lists no new-condition HomePod mini, so the listing we link is an Amazon Renewed (refurbished) unit sold by Amazon.com with a 90-day renewed warranty.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 15, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best lighting for the Home app

Philips Hue Essential Starter Kit (Bridge + 4 bulbs)

The gold standard for smart lighting: rock-solid Zigbee bulbs on the Hue Bridge, which now speaks Matter so the whole system plugs into any ecosystem. Pricey, but nothing else is this reliable.

Strengths

  • The most reliable smart bulbs, full stop
  • The Bridge adds Matter and works with every ecosystem
  • A huge range of bulbs and fixtures to expand into

Trade-offs

  • Expensive versus Wi-Fi bulbs
  • The Bridge is another box to power
  • Full color costs more than white-only
Key specBridge + 4 color bulbs (Zigbee)
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityZigbee (via Hue Bridge); Matter
PowerStandard bulb sockets
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home, SmartThings, Matter

Worth knowing. The Bridge (Zigbee) keeps your Wi-Fi uncluttered and is why Hue stays responsive at scale — see the compatibility matrix.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best front door: Apple home keys

Schlage Encode Plus (Wi-Fi + Home Key)

The most solid-feeling lock here and one of the few with Apple Home Key — tap your iPhone or Watch to unlock. Built-in Wi-Fi and a real ANSI Grade 1 deadbolt underneath.

Strengths

  • Apple Home Key tap-to-unlock
  • Sturdy ANSI Grade 1 build
  • Thread + Wi-Fi, no separate bridge

Trade-offs

  • Priciest lock here
  • Large exterior keypad
  • Battery drain with Wi-Fi always on
Key specWi-Fi + Thread deadbolt, Home Key
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable (lock)
ConnectivityWi-Fi + Thread + Bluetooth
PowerAA batteries
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home

Worth knowing. If you're an Apple household, Home Key support is the reason to pay the premium.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best plug, with energy figures in the app

TP-Link Tapo P110M (4-pack)

The plug that stops the ecosystem question mattering: it's Matter-certified, so it joins Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings without a brand bridge, and TP-Link publishes real-time and historical energy tracking on top. In a four-pack it's the quickest way to put a whole room's worth of appliances on a schedule.

Strengths

  • Matter-certified — one plug that works in all four major ecosystems
  • Real-time and historical energy tracking published per plug
  • 66 x 38 x 40mm body designed not to cover the second socket

Trade-offs

  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only — it won't join a 5GHz network
  • A Tapo account is needed for setup and for the energy history
  • 15A / 1800W per plug — check the rating of anything that heats or has a motor first
Key specMatter plug, energy monitoring, 4-pack
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz; Matter
PowerWall outlet
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home, SmartThings, Matter

Worth knowing. TP-Link publishes a 15A / 1800W resistive maximum (1/6 HP motor) and a flame-retardant UL94-V0 housing. The energy figures are presented in the Tapo app.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best doorbell: HomeKit Secure Video, card storage

Aqara Doorbell Camera Hub G410

The only no-fee doorbell here that an Apple household can actually use, and the only one that doubles as a smart home hub — Aqara publishes a Matter controller, a Thread border router and a Zigbee hub inside the indoor chime, which is also where the memory card lives.

Strengths

  • Full HomeKit Secure Video support, plus Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings and Home Assistant
  • The microSD slot is in the indoor chime, not in the doorbell a thief can unscrew
  • Doubles as a Matter controller, Thread border router and Zigbee hub

Trade-offs

  • 24/7 continuous recording only in wired mode
  • Aqara publishes a 1200p maximum resolution when you record through HomeKit Secure Video, below the camera's own 2K
  • No IP rating published for this model
Key spec2K, 175° view, Matter/Thread/Zigbee hub in the chime
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storagemicroSD up to 512GB — slot is inside the indoor chime
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4/5GHz; Thread border router; Zigbee hub; Matter controller
PowerReplaceable batteries (up to 5 months) or wired 12-24V AC/DC
Works withApple Home, Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, Home Assistant

Worth knowing. Aqara publishes a built-in mmWave radar presence sensor alongside the 175° 4:3 lens, and a 95dB speaker in the chime-hub. Continuous recording needs the 12-24V wired supply; on the replaceable batteries it is event-based.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 6, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a HomePod or Apple TV for Apple Home?

For Matter accessories, yes. Apple states plainly that 'you must set up a home hub to add Matter accessories to the Home app', and a home hub is also what provides away-from-home control, shared control and automations. A HomePod or HomePod mini becomes a hub automatically when you set it up; an Apple TV becomes one when you add it to a room in the Home app. Only the home owner can add a hub.

Which Apple devices support Thread?

Apple names them: 'Thread-enabled Matter accessories require a Thread-enabled home hub, such as HomePod mini or Apple TV 4K (3rd generation) Wi-Fi + Ethernet, or a supported third-party border router.' Note the specific Apple TV model — the Wi-Fi + Ethernet version. The Aqara G410 doorbell on this page also publishes a Thread border router inside its indoor chime, which is one way to add Thread coverage without buying another Apple device.

Is HomeKit Secure Video free?

No. Apple lists HomeKit Secure Video among its iCloud+ features, describing it as recording activity your cameras detect, analyzing it on your home hub device, uploading it to iCloud and end-to-end encrypting the footage. The analysis happening on your own hub rather than in the cloud is genuinely better than the category norm, but the storage is a paid Apple service — which is why we pick a doorbell that also records to its own microSD card with no maker fee.

What is the best smart lock for Apple Home?

The Schlage Encode Plus, because it lists Apple home keys and HomeKit tap-to-unlock alongside built-in Wi-Fi with no additional accessories, up to 100 scheduled access codes and ANSI/BHMA A156.40 Grade AAA. The Level Lock+ is the alternative if you want the lock to be invisible from outside, at the cost of having no Wi-Fi. Our Apple Home lock page compares the two in detail.

Why don't most security cameras work with Apple Home?

Because their makers do not list Apple support. Across our registry, eufy, Wyze, Blink, Ring, Reolink and Tapo publish Alexa and Google Home compatibility and not Apple Home, and there is no third-party skill route in Apple Home the way there is on Alexa. The Arlo line is the exception that does list Apple Home, and it is also the line whose own documentation says local storage cannot substitute for cloud recording. A HomeKit Secure Video doorbell plus a separate no-fee camera system is the honest workaround.

Does Apple Home work without the internet?

Local control of accessories on your own network keeps working, and Matter is local by design — Home Assistant's Matter documentation describes Matter devices as always allowing local control with no internet or cloud needed, and the same radios are in play here. What you lose without internet is away-from-home access, which Apple describes as the main job of a home hub, and anything cloud-dependent such as HomeKit Secure Video uploads.

Can I use Matter accessories without a HomePod?

Not in Apple Home. Apple's requirement is explicit: you must set up a home hub to add Matter accessories to the Home app. An Apple TV in a room satisfies it just as well as a HomePod mini, and if you want Thread it has to be the Apple TV 4K (3rd generation) Wi-Fi + Ethernet or a supported third-party border router. If you would rather not buy into any of that, Matter accessories work the same way on other platforms.

Which thermostat works with Apple Home?

The ecobee Smart Thermostat Premium is the one we rank first for an Apple household: our registry lists Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home and Matter support for it, which is the broadest compatibility of any thermostat we cover. Google's Nest thermostats do not list Apple Home, which catches out a lot of iPhone households — if heating control in the Home app matters, that rules them out before any other spec does.

Sources

  • Set up your HomePod, HomePod mini, or Apple TV as a home hub — Apple Support — Apple's own support article (published date on the page: September 15, 2025). A home hub is what lets you "control your smart home accessories while you're away from home, share control of your accessories with others, and automate your accessories". Apple states plainly: "You must set up a home hub to add Matter accessories to the Home app", and "Thread-enabled Matter accessories require a Thread-enabled home hub, such as HomePod mini or Apple TV 4K (3rd generation) Wi-Fi + Ethernet, or a supported third-party border router." A HomePod mini or HomePod "automatically become home hubs" when set up; an Apple TV becomes a home hub when it is added to a room. The active hub is shown in the Home app under Home Settings > Home Hubs & Bridges, where Automatic Selection can be disabled to pick a preferred hub. Only the home owner can add a HomePod or Apple TV as a hub, and Apple lists iCloud Keychain and two-factor authentication as requirements when a hub is not behaving (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • iCloud+ — Apple — Apple's own iCloud page lists HomeKit Secure Video among the iCloud+ features: "Any activity detected by your security cameras will be recorded, analyzed on your home hub device, and uploaded to iCloud so you can view it in the Home app from anywhere," and "Footage is end-to-end encrypted, so you can trust that only the people you choose can access it." The analysis happening on the home hub rather than in the cloud is Apple's stated architecture, and the page links out to its own list of compatible security cameras (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • Matter — Connectivity Standards Alliance — Official CSA overview of the Matter smart-home interoperability standard (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • What Is Thread? — Thread Group — Thread Group's definition of the low-power IPv6/802.15.4 mesh protocol (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • Hue Bridge buying guide — Philips Hue — Philips Hue's description of Zigbee as a dedicated low-power network rather than Wi-Fi, the Bridge's Ethernet connection to the router, and the 50-light capacity of the standard Bridge (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Schlage Encode Plus Smart WiFi Deadbolt (BE499WB) — Schlage — Schlage's product page: up to 100 scheduled access codes, built-in WiFi with no additional accessories, four AA batteries with up to six months of typical use, ANSI/BHMA A156.40 Grade AAA, built-in alarm, Apple home keys and HomeKit tap-to-unlock, works with the Airbnb app — plus, re-read on 2026-10-05, the low-battery indicator on the lock touchscreen and in the Schlage Home app, one (1) physical backup key included, the 5-pin tumbler C keyway with one key included, and auto-lock with a choice of time delays (accessed October 5, 2026)
  • Tapo P110M — Mini Smart Wi-Fi Plug, Energy Monitoring — TP-Link — TP-Link's US product page: Matter Certified, protocol IEEE 802.11b/g/n with Bluetooth for setup only, "2.4 GHz WiFi Only", 66 x 38 x 40 mm, UL94-V0 flame-retardant PC, rated 100-125V~ 50/60Hz with a maximum load of "15A, 1800W (General Use/Resistive Load), 1/6 HP Motor", third-party platforms listed as Matter-Certified, Apple Home, Alexa, Google Assistant and Samsung SmartThings, operating temperature 0-40 degrees C. The page documents real-time and historical energy statistics with bill estimation, a Smart Charge Guard that cuts power at a set low-power threshold, a Power Protection threshold cut-off, and Local Control: "Your connected devices in your local area network (LAN) remain accessible via the Tapo app, even when the household goes offline" (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • Doorbell Camera Hub G410 — Aqara — Aqara's published specs: 2K on a 175° wide-angle 4:3 lens, infrared night vision, a built-in mmWave radar presence sensor, microSD up to 512GB bought separately with the slot in the indoor chime-hub, 24/7 continuous recording in wired mode only, full HomeKit Secure Video support with a stated 1200p maximum resolution over HSV, HomeGuardian cloud backup as a paid subscription, replaceable batteries rated up to 5 months or a 12-24V AC/DC supply for uninterrupted power, 2.4/5GHz dual-band Wi-Fi, a built-in Matter controller plus Aqara Zigbee hub and Thread border router, a 95dB chime speaker, and support for Apple Home, Google Home, Alexa, SmartThings and Home Assistant (RTSP and Matter bridging) (accessed October 6, 2026)
  • Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug (EP40M) — TP-Link — TP-Link's US product page for the EP40M: Matter Certified ("Matter devices work with any certified platform such as Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home & SmartThings" and "Even without an internet connection, Matter devices seamlessly operate within your local network"), two individually schedulable outlets, IP64 weatherproof rating, operating temperature -4 to 122 degrees F (-20 to 50 degrees C), input 125V~ 60Hz 15A with 15A total and maximum power "1,875 W, 1/2 HP Motor", dual antennas quoted at up to 300 ft, 110 x 39 x 81 mm, RoHS/FCC/IC/ETL certified, 2-year warranty. Requirements listed include a 2.4 GHz-only 802.11b/g/n network, "The Free Kasa Smart App And Account", and "Must Plug Into GFCI Receptacles If Used Outdoor Or In Wet Locations". Footnote: "Avoid water streams. Do not fully immerge. Place at least 8 inches from the ground" (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • Smart Thermostat Premium — ecobee — ecobee's product page: choice of Siri or Alexa built in, SmartSensor and indoor air quality monitor included on Premium, ENERGY STAR certified, works with Apple Home, Alexa, Google and SmartThings (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Matter integration — Home Assistant — Home Assistant documents the Matter integration's IoT class as Local Push and states that "Matter products run locally and always allow local control, with device control done without the need for any internet connection or cloud services", while noting that "some vendors may require you to set up an account before you can enable Matter support for some products". Home Assistant acts as a Matter controller and runs its own Matter Server app; Matter devices communicate over IPv6 on the existing LAN (Wi-Fi or Ethernet) or over Thread (accessed October 13, 2026)

Keep reading