Circuit & Chime

Best Smart Home Gifts Under $50

Stocking-stuffer smart home gifts that work in almost any household and never send the recipient a bill — plugs, bulbs and one very cheap camera, chosen so a first-timer can set them up alone.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we test

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, storage and running cost. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We haven’t lab-tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forSubscriptionPrice
1
TP-Link Tapo P110M (4-pack)

TP-Link Tapo P110M (4-pack)

The plug that stops the ecosystem question mattering: it's Matter-certified, so it joins Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings without a brand bridge, and TP-Link publishes real-time and historical energy tracking on top. In a four-pack it's the quickest way to put a whole room's worth of appliances on a schedule.

Best gift under $50 overallNo fee needed
$35.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
TP-Link Tapo L535E Multicolor Bulb (4-pack)

TP-Link Tapo L535E Multicolor Bulb (4-pack)

The most light for the money in a bulb you can put in any ecosystem: Matter-certified, so Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings can all carry it, and brighter on paper than anything else here at 1100 lumens. A four-pack does a whole room without a bridge in the loop.

Best color bulbs, no bridgeNo fee needed
$43.96 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
TP-Link Tapo C120 (2K+)

TP-Link Tapo C120 (2K+)

A sub-$40 indoor/outdoor camera with a sharp 2K+ sensor and free local storage — the value pick for anyone who just wants a good camera without a plan.

Best cheap camera giftNo fee needed
$31.99 · View on Amazon

$39.9920% off

Price as of September 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Kasa Smart Plug Mini (EP25, 4-pack)

Kasa Smart Plug Mini (EP25, 4-pack)

The smart plug we'd hand a beginner: cheap in a four-pack, no hub needed, and — unusually at this price — it works with Apple Home as well as Alexa and Google.

Best for an Apple householdNo fee needed
$35.99 · View on Amazon

$44.9920% off

Price as of September 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Kasa Matter Smart Outdoor Plug (EP40M)

Kasa Matter Smart Outdoor Plug (EP40M)

The one plug here that can live outside: IP64-rated, rated by TP-Link from -4°F to 122°F, with two outlets you schedule independently — so the holiday lights and the porch lamp can run on different timers from the same box. Matter-certified, so it isn't locked to the Kasa app.

Best for holiday lightsNo fee needed
$23.99 · View on Amazon

$29.9920% off

Price as of September 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Sengled Matter A19 Multicolor Bulb (single)

Sengled Matter A19 Multicolor Bulb (single)

The sane way to try smart lighting on exactly one lamp. It is sold as a single bulb rather than a multipack, it is Matter-enabled so it is not stranded in one app, and if you decide the whole idea is not for you, you have spent the price of a takeout coffee round.

Best true stocking stufferNo fee needed
$9.86 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best gift under $50 overall

TP-Link Tapo P110M (4-pack)

The plug that stops the ecosystem question mattering: it's Matter-certified, so it joins Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings without a brand bridge, and TP-Link publishes real-time and historical energy tracking on top. In a four-pack it's the quickest way to put a whole room's worth of appliances on a schedule.

Strengths

  • Matter-certified — one plug that works in all four major ecosystems
  • Real-time and historical energy tracking published per plug
  • 66 x 38 x 40mm body designed not to cover the second socket

Trade-offs

  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only — it won't join a 5GHz network
  • A Tapo account is needed for setup and for the energy history
  • 15A / 1800W per plug — check the rating of anything that heats or has a motor first
Key specMatter plug, energy monitoring, 4-pack
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz; Matter
PowerWall outlet
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home, SmartThings, Matter

Worth knowing. TP-Link publishes a 15A / 1800W resistive maximum (1/6 HP motor) and a flame-retardant UL94-V0 housing. The energy figures are presented in the Tapo app.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best color bulbs, no bridge

TP-Link Tapo L535E Multicolor Bulb (4-pack)

The most light for the money in a bulb you can put in any ecosystem: Matter-certified, so Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings can all carry it, and brighter on paper than anything else here at 1100 lumens. A four-pack does a whole room without a bridge in the loop.

Strengths

  • Matter-certified — one bulb that any of the four big ecosystems can add
  • 1100 lm published, the brightest bulb in this roundup
  • Four bulbs per box, so a room costs about what one premium bulb does

Trade-offs

  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only — it will not join a 5GHz network
  • Matter still needs a Matter controller in the house (an Echo, HomePod, Nest or SmartThings hub) before Apple Home or Google Home can add it
  • TP-Link says not to fit it behind a dimmer switch, and any bulb is dead when someone flips the wall switch off
Key specMatter color bulb, 1100 lm, 4-pack
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz; Matter
PowerStandard E26 socket
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home, SmartThings, Matter

Worth knowing. TP-Link's US listing states A19/E26, 1100 lm and Matter certification. TP-Link's own L535E specification adds 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only (Bluetooth for setup), a 2500-6500K tunable white range, a 220-degree beam, a 25,000-hour rated life, and an explicit instruction not to use it with a dimmer.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 1, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best cheap camera gift

TP-Link Tapo C120 (2K+)

A sub-$40 indoor/outdoor camera with a sharp 2K+ sensor and free local storage — the value pick for anyone who just wants a good camera without a plan.

Strengths

  • Very cheap for a 2K+ sensor
  • Free local microSD recording
  • Dual-band Wi-Fi

Trade-offs

  • Wired power
  • A TP-Link cloud account is needed for setup
  • No battery option
Key spec2K+ QHD, wired
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storagemicroSD up to 512GB
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4/5GHz
PowerWired
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. A strong first camera; add a microSD card and you'll never face a subscription prompt you have to act on.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best for an Apple household

Kasa Smart Plug Mini (EP25, 4-pack)

The smart plug we'd hand a beginner: cheap in a four-pack, no hub needed, and — unusually at this price — it works with Apple Home as well as Alexa and Google.

Strengths

  • Works with Apple Home, Alexa and Google
  • No hub required
  • Cheap in multipacks

Trade-offs

  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only
  • Fills the whole outlet on some models
  • A Kasa app account is required
Key specWi-Fi smart plug, HomeKit, 4-pack
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz; HomeKit
PowerWall outlet
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home

Worth knowing. A four-pack of these is the single best first upgrade for making 'dumb' lamps and appliances smart.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best for holiday lights

Kasa Matter Smart Outdoor Plug (EP40M)

The one plug here that can live outside: IP64-rated, rated by TP-Link from -4°F to 122°F, with two outlets you schedule independently — so the holiday lights and the porch lamp can run on different timers from the same box. Matter-certified, so it isn't locked to the Kasa app.

Strengths

  • IP64 weather resistance, rated -4°F to 122°F by TP-Link
  • Two outlets with independent schedules from one plug
  • Matter-certified — joins Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings

Trade-offs

  • No energy monitoring in TP-Link's published specs
  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only, and it has to hold that signal outdoors
  • TP-Link says not to immerse it or aim water pressure at it — weather-resistant, not waterproof
Key specMatter outdoor plug, 2 independent outlets, IP64
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz; Matter
PowerOutdoor wall outlet
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home, SmartThings, Matter

Worth knowing. TP-Link publishes 15A / 1875W resistive (1/2 HP motor) and an operating range of -20°C to 50°C. Matter devices keep working on the local network if the internet drops.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#6Best true stocking stuffer

Sengled Matter A19 Multicolor Bulb (single)

The sane way to try smart lighting on exactly one lamp. It is sold as a single bulb rather than a multipack, it is Matter-enabled so it is not stranded in one app, and if you decide the whole idea is not for you, you have spent the price of a takeout coffee round.

Strengths

  • Sold as one bulb — no four-pack commitment to find out whether you like it
  • Matter-enabled, so it is not locked to a single ecosystem the way a cheap brand-app bulb is
  • 800 lm published, a normal 60W-equivalent output for a lamp or bedside light

Trade-offs

  • Per bulb it costs more than a multipack, so it is the wrong way to do a whole room
  • Sengled's listing headlines Alexa rather than spelling out the other ecosystems — the Matter certification is what gets it into Apple Home or Google Home
  • Like every Matter bulb here, it needs a Matter controller already in the house before Apple Home or Google Home can add it
Key specMatter color bulb, 800 lm, single
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz; Matter
PowerStandard E26 socket
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home, SmartThings, Matter

Worth knowing. The listing states A19, multicolor, Matter, 800 lm and a 60W-equivalent output, sold as a 1-pack. Sengled's own product site did not load on the date we checked, so nothing beyond the listing is claimed here.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 1, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best smart home gift under $50?

A four-pack of Matter-certified smart plugs, such as the TP-Link Tapo P110M. It works with Alexa, Google Home, Apple Home and SmartThings, needs no hub, sets up from a phone in minutes and has no subscription, so it is the one cheap smart home gift that is safe to buy without knowing anything about the recipient's setup.

Do smart plugs and bulbs need a subscription?

No. Every plug and bulb in this guide does its whole job — schedules, voice control, app control — with no monthly fee. The only device on the page with an optional plan is the Tapo C120 camera, and it records to a microSD card for free without one.

Will a cheap smart home gift work with Apple Home?

Only if it says so. Look for Matter certification or an explicit Apple Home / HomeKit listing. The Tapo P110M plug, Tapo L535E and Sengled bulbs and the Kasa EP40M outdoor plug are all Matter-certified, and the Kasa EP25 plug lists Apple Home directly. A Matter device also needs an Apple home hub — a HomePod or Apple TV — already in the house before the Home app can add it.

Is a security camera under $50 any good as a gift?

The Tapo C120 is, with two caveats. It is wired, so it needs to sit near an outlet, and it saves footage to a microSD card that is not included — add one to the gift. It suits someone who has said they want a camera; for anyone else, a plug or bulb is the safer choice.

What should I check before buying a smart plug for someone?

Three things: that their router broadcasts a 2.4GHz Wi-Fi network (nearly all do), that the plug works with their voice assistant or is Matter-certified, and that whatever they will plug in is within the plug's published rating — the Tapo P110M is rated 15A / 1800W, fine for lamps, fans and small appliances, but check anything that heats or has a large motor first.

Sources

Keep reading