Circuit & Chime

Best Smart Home Devices for Energy Efficiency

A smart device saves nothing by being smart. It saves by changing how long a load runs — so we ranked these by the size of the load each one controls, starting with the one ENERGY STAR says is almost half your bill.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we test

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, storage and running cost. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We haven’t lab-tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forSubscriptionPrice
1
ecobee Smart Thermostat Premium

ecobee Smart Thermostat Premium

The most flexible pick: it works with every major ecosystem including Apple Home, ships with a room sensor, and includes an adapter for homes without a C-wire. The one to buy if you're not locked into Google.

Best overall: ENERGY STAR certified, with the sensor that makes a setback workNo fee needed
$239.91 · View on Amazon

$259.998% off

Price as of October 28, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Google Nest Learning Thermostat (4th gen)

Google Nest Learning Thermostat (4th gen)

The premium Nest: it learns your schedule automatically, looks the part, and this generation adds a temperature sensor in the box. Worth the step up for the fullest feature set and the nicest hardware.

Best automatic: builds the schedule itself and locks out expensive backup heatNo fee needed
$219.99 · View on Amazon

$279.9921% off

Price as of October 28, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
TP-Link Tapo P110M (4-pack)

TP-Link Tapo P110M (4-pack)

The plug that stops the ecosystem question mattering: it's Matter-certified, so it joins Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings without a brand bridge, and TP-Link publishes real-time and historical energy tracking on top. In a four-pack it's the quickest way to put a whole room's worth of appliances on a schedule.

Best for finding the waste: per-plug energy monitoring, Matter certifiedNo fee needed
$31.99 · View on Amazon

$35.9911% off

Price as of October 28, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Kasa Smart Plug Mini (EP25, 4-pack)

Kasa Smart Plug Mini (EP25, 4-pack)

The smart plug we'd hand a beginner: cheap in a four-pack, no hub needed, and — unusually at this price — it works with Apple Home as well as Alexa and Google.

Cheapest way to meter four things at onceNo fee needed
$35.99 · View on Amazon

$44.9920% off

Price as of October 28, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Light Bulb Multicolor (KL135)

Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Light Bulb Multicolor (KL135)

Usually the cheapest single color bulb worth buying, from a brand with a long Wi-Fi track record. The catch is the one that decides it: Kasa lists Alexa and Google Assistant only, with no Matter and no Apple Home, so it is a fine bulb in the wrong half of the ecosystem question.

Best lighting swap: 1,000 lumens at 60W-equivalent, 0.2W on standbyNo fee needed
$12.47 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 28, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall: ENERGY STAR certified, with the sensor that makes a setback work

ecobee Smart Thermostat Premium

The most flexible pick: it works with every major ecosystem including Apple Home, ships with a room sensor, and includes an adapter for homes without a C-wire. The one to buy if you're not locked into Google.

Strengths

  • Works with Apple Home, Alexa AND Google
  • Includes a room sensor and a no-C-wire adapter
  • Built-in voice plus an air-quality monitor

Trade-offs

  • Priciest of the mainstream three
  • Larger footprint on the wall
  • Some extras (radar presence) are model-dependent
Key specThermostat + room sensor, built-in voice
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityWi-Fi; Matter; Siri and Alexa built-in
Power24V HVAC (includes a PEK adapter for no-C-wire homes)
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home, Matter

Worth knowing. The included PEK adapter solves the C-wire problem for many older homes — a real edge over the base Nest.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best automatic: builds the schedule itself and locks out expensive backup heat

Google Nest Learning Thermostat (4th gen)

The premium Nest: it learns your schedule automatically, looks the part, and this generation adds a temperature sensor in the box. Worth the step up for the fullest feature set and the nicest hardware.

Strengths

  • Genuine auto-learning schedule
  • Includes a remote temperature sensor
  • Premium build and display

Trade-offs

  • Priciest thermostat here
  • Still may need a C-wire
  • Overkill for a simple single-zone home
Key specLearning thermostat + sensor
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityWi-Fi; Matter; Thread
Power24V HVAC (C-wire often needed)
Works withGoogle Home, Alexa, Matter

Worth knowing. The 4th-gen bundle's included sensor helps even out temperatures room-to-room.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best for finding the waste: per-plug energy monitoring, Matter certified

TP-Link Tapo P110M (4-pack)

The plug that stops the ecosystem question mattering: it's Matter-certified, so it joins Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home or SmartThings without a brand bridge, and TP-Link publishes real-time and historical energy tracking on top. In a four-pack it's the quickest way to put a whole room's worth of appliances on a schedule.

Strengths

  • Matter-certified — one plug that works in all four major ecosystems
  • Real-time and historical energy tracking published per plug
  • 66 x 38 x 40mm body designed not to cover the second socket

Trade-offs

  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only — it won't join a 5GHz network
  • A Tapo account is needed for setup and for the energy history
  • 15A / 1800W per plug — check the rating of anything that heats or has a motor first
Key specMatter plug, energy monitoring, 4-pack
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz; Matter
PowerWall outlet
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home, SmartThings, Matter

Worth knowing. TP-Link publishes a 15A / 1800W resistive maximum (1/6 HP motor) and a flame-retardant UL94-V0 housing. The energy figures are presented in the Tapo app.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Cheapest way to meter four things at once

Kasa Smart Plug Mini (EP25, 4-pack)

The smart plug we'd hand a beginner: cheap in a four-pack, no hub needed, and — unusually at this price — it works with Apple Home as well as Alexa and Google.

Strengths

  • Works with Apple Home, Alexa and Google
  • No hub required
  • Cheap in multipacks

Trade-offs

  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only
  • Fills the whole outlet on some models
  • A Kasa app account is required
Key specWi-Fi smart plug, HomeKit, 4-pack
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz; HomeKit
PowerWall outlet
Works withAlexa, Google Home, Apple Home

Worth knowing. A four-pack of these is the single best first upgrade for making 'dumb' lamps and appliances smart.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 20, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best lighting swap: 1,000 lumens at 60W-equivalent, 0.2W on standby

Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Light Bulb Multicolor (KL135)

Usually the cheapest single color bulb worth buying, from a brand with a long Wi-Fi track record. The catch is the one that decides it: Kasa lists Alexa and Google Assistant only, with no Matter and no Apple Home, so it is a fine bulb in the wrong half of the ecosystem question.

Strengths

  • 1000 lm published and dimmable down to 20 lm, a wider range than most cheap bulbs
  • No hub or bridge — it joins your Wi-Fi and it is done
  • Kasa has been shipping this line for years, which is more than most bargain bulbs can say

Trade-offs

  • No Matter and no Apple Home — TP-Link lists Alexa and Google Assistant only
  • 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only, and every bulb is another device on the router
  • Sold as a single bulb, so a whole room costs more than a Matter four-pack
Key spec1000 lm color bulb, no hub
SubscriptionNo — works without a plan
Local storageNot applicable
ConnectivityWi-Fi 2.4GHz
PowerStandard E26 socket
Works withAlexa, Google Home

Worth knowing. Kasa's product page states 1000 lumens (60W equivalent) with a 20 lm to 1000 lm dimming range and 16 million colors, and lists Amazon Alexa or Google Assistant for voice. No Matter or Apple Home support appears in TP-Link's published compatibility for this bulb.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 1, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Frequently asked questions

What smart home device saves the most energy?

A smart thermostat, and it is not close. ENERGY STAR publishes that almost half of the annual energy bill goes to heating and cooling — more than $900 a year for the average US household — so the thermostat is the only device on this page with access to that half. Everything else competes for a slice of the remainder. ENERGY STAR also certifies smart thermostats 'based on actual field data, to deliver energy savings', which is a stronger credential than any marketing claim on a plug or a bulb.

Do smart plugs actually save electricity?

Only in two situations: when they stop something running that nobody is using, and when they measure a load so you discover it was costing more than you assumed. A plug does not make the appliance behind it more efficient, and on anything that must run continuously — a fridge, a router, a freezer — it saves nothing and adds a failure point. That is why we ranked the two plugs that publish energy monitoring and left the switch-only ones off this page.

Which smart plug has energy monitoring?

Of the plugs we carry, TP-Link publishes real-time and historical energy monitoring for two: the Tapo P110M, which adds Matter certification and bill estimation in the app, and the Kasa Smart Plug Mini EP25, the cheaper four-pack route to the same visibility. TP-Link publishes no energy monitoring for the Kasa EP40M outdoor plug, and Wyze publishes none for the Wyze Plug — so neither is a pick here.

Is the ecobee or the Nest better for saving energy?

It depends on your heating. We put the ecobee Smart Thermostat Premium first on this page because it is ENERGY STAR certified across the line, ships an occupancy and temperature SmartSensor so a setback follows the room you are actually in, and includes a Power Extender Kit for homes with no C wire. The Nest Learning Thermostat is first on our heat pump page instead, because Google publishes that auxiliary heat can cost two to five times as much as the heat pump itself and ships an automatic lockout for it. Same two products, different criteria, different winner.

How much will a smart thermostat save me?

We will not publish a figure for your house, and you should be skeptical of anyone who does. ENERGY STAR certifies on field data without publishing a universal percentage, and the Department of Energy treats connected thermostats as a route to savings rather than a guaranteed number. ecobee publishes 'up to 26%*', footnoted as measured against a hold of 72F in its own 2021 analysis — a comparison against one of the least efficient ways to run a house. What is certain is the direction: the thermostat controls the largest load you have.

Do smart home devices use electricity themselves?

Yes, a small amount, continuously. The honest number we can cite from a manufacturer is TP-Link's published standby draw for the Kasa KL135 bulb: 'as low as 0.2 watts'. Multiply that kind of figure by every always-on device in the house and it is real but modest. We deliberately do not publish a national percentage for standby power, because we could not reach a current first-party federal source for one while writing this page.

Do I need a hub or a subscription for any of these?

No subscription for any of the five. On hubs: the Matter devices here — the Tapo P110M, and Matter and Thread support on the Nest — can use a Matter controller you may already own, such as an Echo, a Google display or a HomePod, but none of the picks requires a brand bridge to work. If you want the ecosystem question answered properly first, our smart home hub ranking covers what a controller does and when you genuinely need one.

Will these still work if my internet goes down?

TP-Link is the only maker here that publishes a clear answer: it states that devices on your local network remain accessible from the Tapo app even when the household is offline, and it makes the same local-network point for its Matter plugs. For the thermostats, the schedule runs on the device itself, but the app, remote control and weather-driven features need a connection. Where we did not verify it, the table says 'not read for this page' rather than guessing.

Sources

  • Smart Thermostats — ENERGY STAR — ENERGY STAR on certified smart thermostats. Re-read on this date for the energy-efficiency guide: the page states that "almost half of the annual energy bill goes to heating and cooling" — which it puts at more than $900 a year for the average U.S. household — and that certified models "have been independently certified, based on actual field data, to deliver energy savings". It publishes NO savings percentage or dollar figure for a certified smart thermostat, names no brand or model as certified (it links a Product Finder instead), notes that "Each product uses slightly different features", and does not separate heating savings from cooling savings (accessed October 27, 2026)
  • Learn About LED Lighting — ENERGY STAR — ENERGY STAR/EPA on LED efficiency versus incandescent and how LED lifetime is rated (accessed September 1, 2026)
  • Connected Thermostats Offer Gateway for Increasing Energy Savings — U.S. Department of Energy — DOE/EERE on smart/connected thermostats and HVAC energy savings (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • HVAC Programmable Thermostats — U.S. Department of Energy — DOE explainer on programmable thermostats and setback savings (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • Smart Thermostat Premium — ecobee — ecobee's product page: choice of Siri or Alexa built in, SmartSensor and indoor air quality monitor included on Premium, ENERGY STAR certified, works with Apple Home, Alexa, Google and SmartThings (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Heat Pump Balance — Google Nest Help — Google's own support article for the feature that governs auxiliary heat on a heat pump. The cost figure is Google's: "AUX heat can cost about 2 to 5 times as much as running your heat pump." The article directs readers to the Google Home app "if you have a Nest Learning Thermostat (4th gen) or a Nest Thermostat", and publishes four settings: Max Comfort (the default — reaches the target temperature even if that means expensive AUX heat, so AUX turns on sooner and more often), Balanced (a lockout temperature between the two extremes), Max Savings (a lower lockout temperature so AUX turns on later and less often) and Off (the thermostat uses AUX based on a lockout temperature you set by hand). With Heat Pump Balance on, "the thermostat sets the lockout temperature automatically based on how the heat pump is performing", using Wi-Fi weather data, so the installer does not set it. Google states the requirement plainly: the thermostat must be connected to Wi-Fi, and without Wi-Fi it suggests Early-On but "the thermostat won't take specific steps to avoid expensive AUX heating". Three limits are published: AUX use ultimately depends on the system, so some systems need AUX even on Max Savings; Heat Pump Balance does not work with dual fuel systems, where the lockout temperature is set by hand in the Equipment menu; and the Aux upstage timer, Droop and Minimum delay advanced settings exist only on the 4th-gen Nest Learning Thermostat with Heat Pump Balance off. The article also explains why the option can be missing — a missing O/B wire means no heat pump, a missing W2/AUX wire means no AUX heat, and wires in both W1 and W2 indicate dual fuel — and recommends a local professional for wiring problems (accessed October 20, 2026)
  • Learn about schedules on your Nest thermostat — Google Nest Help — Google's own support article on Nest thermostat scheduling, read for the energy-efficiency guide. Google describes a Basic Schedule as one that "saves energy and keeps you comfortable", says Home/Away "learns when you are home or away to save energy", and describes the learning period as the point where the thermostat "activates its energy saving features". The article publishes NO savings percentage, NO dollar figure and NO ENERGY STAR statement for any Nest model — checked on this date, which is why this site makes no ENERGY STAR claim for a Nest thermostat either way (accessed October 27, 2026)
  • Tapo P110M — Mini Smart Wi-Fi Plug, Energy Monitoring — TP-Link — TP-Link's US product page: Matter Certified, protocol IEEE 802.11b/g/n with Bluetooth for setup only, "2.4 GHz WiFi Only", 66 x 38 x 40 mm, UL94-V0 flame-retardant PC, rated 100-125V~ 50/60Hz with a maximum load of "15A, 1800W (General Use/Resistive Load), 1/6 HP Motor", third-party platforms listed as Matter-Certified, Apple Home, Alexa, Google Assistant and Samsung SmartThings, operating temperature 0-40 degrees C. The page documents real-time and historical energy statistics with bill estimation, a Smart Charge Guard that cuts power at a set low-power threshold, a Power Protection threshold cut-off, and Local Control: "Your connected devices in your local area network (LAN) remain accessible via the Tapo app, even when the household goes offline" (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Slim with Energy Monitoring (EP25) — TP-Link — TP-Link's US product page for the EP25, titled "Kasa Smart WiFi Plug Slim with Energy Monitoring | Homekit": voice control listed for "Siri, Alexa, Google Assistant, or Samsung SmartThings", real-time and historical energy monitoring in the Kasa Smart app, protocol IEEE 802.11b/g/n on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only, input 100-120 VAC 15 A with a maximum load of "15 A, 1.8 KW for 120 V, 1/6 HP Motor", 66.5 x 38 x 40 mm, UL94-V0 flame-retardant PC, RoHS/FCC/UL certified, operating temperature 0-40 degrees C, 2-year warranty. No Matter certification is claimed anywhere on the page (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Outdoor Plug (EP40M) — TP-Link — TP-Link's US product page for the EP40M: Matter Certified ("Matter devices work with any certified platform such as Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home & SmartThings" and "Even without an internet connection, Matter devices seamlessly operate within your local network"), two individually schedulable outlets, IP64 weatherproof rating, operating temperature -4 to 122 degrees F (-20 to 50 degrees C), input 125V~ 60Hz 15A with 15A total and maximum power "1,875 W, 1/2 HP Motor", dual antennas quoted at up to 300 ft, 110 x 39 x 81 mm, RoHS/FCC/IC/ETL certified, 2-year warranty. Requirements listed include a 2.4 GHz-only 802.11b/g/n network, "The Free Kasa Smart App And Account", and "Must Plug Into GFCI Receptacles If Used Outdoor Or In Wet Locations". Footnote: "Avoid water streams. Do not fully immerge. Place at least 8 inches from the ground" (accessed October 13, 2026)
  • Kasa Smart Light Bulb, Multicolor KL135 — Kasa Smart (TP-Link) — TP-Link's own Kasa product page for the KL135: 1000 lumens, published as a "dimming range between 20lm and 1000lm( 60W equivalent)", brightness adjustable "from 1% to 100% conveniently with the Kasa Smart app", an Auto White feature that will "match natural light patterns from dawn to dusk", roughly 16.77 million colors (256x256x256), a "High CRI Rating" with no CRI number given, standby power "as low as 0.2 watts", CEC Title 20 certification, grouping, and voice control with "any Amazon Alexa or Google Assistant device". The page publishes NO Kelvin range, no hub requirement, no Wi-Fi band, no rated lifetime hours and no schedule or wake-up-dimming feature — checked on this date (accessed October 20, 2026)

Keep reading